We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
romance, art and palladian splendour

Our guide Wilma brought to life the romantic beginnings of this house and its' family history... read more

Reviewed 14 September 2018
kmrb1
,
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
via mobile
Lovely Palladian house

Externally this house gives the impression of a grand country mansion beingpicture perfect in its... read more

Reviewed 13 September 2018
AlanSchofield
,
UK
Read all 624 reviews
154
All photos (154)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good24%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
About
One of the finest examples of an 18th-century Palladian Country house in all of Britain. There are many activities at Paxton House to keep you busy for a whole day, including house tours, boat trips and net fishing on the River Tweed, tearoom and...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1SZ, England
Website
+44 1289 386291
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (624)
There are newer reviews for Paxton House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveller rating
437
154
17
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
437
154
17
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chippendale furniture guided tour adventure playground lovely grounds picture gallery tea room zip wire the river old stables boat trip stables cafe teddy bear stately home extensive grounds well worth a visit walled garden knowledgeable guide
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 30 of 618 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Our guide Wilma brought to life the romantic beginnings of this house and its' family history thereafter. The large art gallery at the end of the tour furnished by the National Gallery of Scotland was a lovely suprise, shame we were too late in the...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank kmrb1
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Externally this house gives the impression of a grand country mansion beingpicture perfect in its symmetry. Once inside, however, it is less grand, having been built, as our excellent guide Jim explained, more as a house for a bachelor. Lots of beautiful Chippendale furniture and...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank AlanSchofield
Reviewed 10 September 2018

On the day we visited there was a craft fair on site for which we had to pay an entry fee on the gate but this was offset as the tour of the main house was at a discount. The guided tour around the house...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Peter R
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Loved our visit here and spent most of the day walking around the grounds. We haven’t been before and thought that £5 for garden entry was very reasonable (and if we were local we’d definitely have an annual pass for £10! Bargain!). We enjoyed following...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Midgetgem77
Molly S, Public Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thank you for your lovely review and feedback, we are so glad you enjoyed your day out at Paxton House and felt it was value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy our tearoom and grounds again!

Reviewed 4 September 2018

Very well maintained historic house. When we visited there was an exhibition of Chippendale furniture some of which was part of the original furnishings in this house.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Kim A
Molly S, Public Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thanks Kim for your review and feedback!

Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Our first visit here for lunch and a quick look round and was very impressed with what we saw We are planning a further visit in the spring next year when the house is open We have a motor home so viewed the camp site...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank JillThompson02
Molly S, Public Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thanks Jill for your comments and feedback, I have passed your review onto our catering team. We are glad you enjoyed your lunch and the selection on offer and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 30 August 2018

Only 2 staff to cope with serving, taking orders and taking payments during mid afternoon. Unacceptable half hour wait for pot of tea. Coffee in latte was very weak. Small pot of clotted cream between three persons having scones. Tables uncleared. Apologies made. Unimpressed as...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank James C
Molly S, Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Hi James, thank you for your comments and feedback. Unfortunately we had a few staffing issues which were completely outwith our control on Tuesday and therefore we were short of assistance as you have pointed out, this combined with a very busy day meant our...More

Reviewed 29 August 2018

We recently visited and enjoyed the tour of the house which was interesting and informative. Had a wander round the beautiful grounds and saw the water wheel. Had a drink in the tea rooms which was originally the stable block which had been converted.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank lorayne_hagan
Molly S, Public Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 26 August 2018

I visited here during my short break to Berwick. I travelled by bus right to the door. I enjoyed the tour and the Chippendale exhibition. The tour guides make the experience. There was a pop up market there the day I was here but a...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank glasgowgirl69
Molly S, Public Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thanks for your review and apologies the weather wasn't up to much during your time with us! Hopefully you will have the chance to return and experience the grounds in their full glory.

Reviewed 20 August 2018

Visited this beautiful georgian home last week with a couple of friends. Had a guiuded tour of the house, lasting about one and a half hours. the guide was fun and friendly and could answer any questiions for you. It's a gorgeous home with some...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank susann2157
Molly S, Public Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thanks Susan for your lovely review, we are so pleased you were impressed by Paxton House and look forward to you visiting again.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 nearby hotels
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
404 reviews
6.42 km away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
577 reviews
6.62 km away
Chirnside Hall Hotel
45 reviews
6.68 km away
Queens Head Hotel
473 reviews
6.75 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 106 nearby restaurants
The Cross Inn Pub & Kitchen
267 reviews
1.06 km away
Berwick Garden Centre
158 reviews
4.50 km away
The Riverside Cafe
77 reviews
6.30 km away
Roberts Takeaways Ltd
27 reviews
6.25 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 49 nearby attractions
Norham Castle
96 reviews
5.09 km away
The Elizabethan Walls
697 reviews
6.95 km away
Chain Bridge Honey Farm
675 reviews
1.31 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Aimee G
27 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Iain S | Reviewed this property |
fee for house and gardens but you can just go into cafe. if going twice or more in the year buy a season ticket. cheaper.
0
Votes
Keri19830
13 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from onebrawlad | Reviewed this property |
There is plenty space for them to run around and there is also a cafe etc
1
Vote
bakedbean73
10 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Molly S | Property representative |
Dogs are allowed in the gardens if kept on leads and any refuse is removed. We have a dog friendly room attached to the tearoom for you to take shelter and enjoy a meal. Guide dogs are allowed in all areas of the house.
0
Votes