We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Old Holly Farm

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Old Holly Farm Cabus Nook Lane | Cabus, Garstang PR3 1AA, England
Phone Number:
+44 1524 791200
Today
09:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 17:00
Description:

Old Holly Farm is a working dairy farm, located just north of Garstang on...

Old Holly Farm is a working dairy farm, located just north of Garstang on the main A6. The farm also has a small visitor attraction on site, with an indoor soft Playbarn with café area, traditional stone courtyard Café, Farm Shop and an open farm. Coolcow Ice cream is made on site using the Old Holly farms cows own milk. Visitors are able to watch the cows being milked at 4.30pm daily from the dairy viewing gallery. The farm is open 9am - 5pm, all year round (closing Christmas Day, Boxing Day, 27th December and New Years Day only). Entry to the open farm and car parking is free (exc. December), there is an admission charge of £4 per child to the indoor soft play. Please note there is a small entrance fee to the farm during December when the Reindeers come to stay. Picnics are not allowed on site. Please don't forget that Old Holly Farm is a working farm so visitors are reminded to use the hand wash facilities to keep safe. If visitors have any concerns please speak to the team at Old Holly Farm directly. The farm also offers children's parties and school visits. Please visit the farms website for details on any special events, half term activities and for further information. .

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 184 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 102
    Excellent
  • 45
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Great place to take children/grandchildren

Last visited with grandchildren - interesting for them with the animals and also the play area is good. Snack food available and very nice.

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 days ago
dtgreenhalgh
,
SCORTON
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 182: English reviews
SCORTON
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Last visited with grandchildren - interesting for them with the animals and also the play area is good. Snack food available and very nice.

Helpful?
Thank dtgreenhalgh
oldhollyfarm, General Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Its great to hear you enjoyed visiting with the grandchildren, and especially your comments about our food and play area. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you all again soon. Kind regards, Alison More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been to the Old Holly Farm a few times now. Food is excellent, mainly home made. Delicious cakes, and nice coffee. Lovely atmosphere and helpfull cheerful staff. I good place to take children, as there are animals for them to look at. Good place.

Helpful?
Thank Linda694
oldhollyfarm, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review, its great to hear you enjoy visiting and also to read your comments about our food & cakes, our team and the atmosphere. I will certainly share your feedback with the team who will be pleased. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you all again soon, Kind regards, Alison More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were very disappointed with this place. There weren't many animals to see,just two sad looking donkeys,a pair of sickly reindeer a couple of goats and some chickens and a pig. In the cafe the cups were dirty ad the cake stale.

Helpful?
Thank barryleach1
oldhollyfarm, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I'm concerned to read your comments and I would like to apologise for the disappointment your visit has caused you. Our animals are very important to us, and their welfare is a priority. At this time of year the main dairy herd are inside and the alpacas have returned home (which... More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2016

I wanted somewhere near to home to celebrate my 60th birthday that woild be enjoyable for me, my son and my grandaughter. Old Holly Farm ticked all the boxes. I loved watching my grandaughter talking to all the animals and she loved playing in the indoor play area. I bought a fridge magnet with a lovely design of a farm... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie J
oldhollyfarm, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review, and a very happy 60th birthday! Its lovely to hear you decided to spend your day with us and that everyone enjoyed it, I will certainly share your comments with the team. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you all again soon. Kind regards, Alison More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Went for a day out with our 8 month old son and had a wonderful day. He loved the outdoor paddocks, the calf's, chickens, pigs etc and had a fantastic time in the soft play area & on the tractors. We had a lovely lunch of a sandwich and the quiche before watching the cows get milked which sent our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wiggy71
oldhollyfarm, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review and for the lovely comments. Its great to hear you enjoyed your visit and your little farmer enjoyed his day. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you all again soon. Alison More 

Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

I took my elderly mum there for lunch after looking on website. The food was average, I only had a ham sandwich but the bread was just white sliced with no alternative offered and ham was thick and fatty. Mum wanted a dinner that on menu was served rice - which she doesn't like -I asked could have other parties... More 

Helpful?
Thank fyldepcsec
oldhollyfarm, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review and comments. Its disappointing to hear your didn't enjoy your visit, so please accept my apologies. Our bread is delivered fresh daily from a local bakery in Longridge (Berry Lane) and we also have granary available - this is detailed on the menu. The ham is also sourced from a local... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

This farm is one of the loveliest places I've been with my son. He's only 2 but there is so much to keep him entertained. He can't stop talking about cow and milk as we watched the cows being milked. The farm is extremely looked after and the staff are lovely. We've had cake and custard in the cafe which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trav1235
oldhollyfarm, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Its great to hear you both enjoy visiting, and especially to hear he enjoys watching the working farm in action. All our cakes and puddings are homemade on site and we agree they are delicious! I will certainly pass your comments on about our team (they are lovely). I'm not sure... More 

lancaster
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

Both of our children have grown up with regular visits to Holly farm, it has everything you need, animals, a reasonable sized play area that you can have a good view of in case the children need you and the food is of a good standard compared to other establishments of this type. whether its the summer or a cold... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnsmLancaster
oldhollyfarm, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Its lovely to hear you enjoy visiting us whatever the weather, and that we've been a feature in your kids childhood. Thanks also for the lovely comments about our food, I will certainly share them with the team. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you all again soon. Kind regards,... More 

Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016

My wife and I have often popped in here for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the food. The menu is always varied with some items not seen elsewhere. Today the food was fine but the quantities very disappointing. I had goulash which comprised a small amount of meat and a small amount gnocchi, the meal certainly was not very substantial which... More 

Helpful?
Thank JungerSchwung
oldhollyfarm, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review, its lovely to hear you've enjoyed visiting our café and our food. I have had the opportunity to discuss your feedback with our chef, who was in on the day of your visit. The goulash is a brand new special, but its great to get some feedback and we can certainly... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

Bored hot animals, smallest play area in living memory - and I very rarely leave bad reviews. But it was hyped up to be amazing!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
oldhollyfarm, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Its really disappointing to read your comments, and it's a shame you didn't enjoy your time with us. I am especially disappointed to read your comments about our animals, and we would have been more than happy to listen to any concerns you had during your visit. We would certainly welcome... More 

Travellers who viewed Old Holly Farm also viewed

 

Been to Old Holly Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Old Holly Farm and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Lancaster, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Old Holly Farm staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?