We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens

Jermyns House Jermyns Lane, Romsey SO51 0QA, England
+44 1794 369318
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Loverly Gardens.

Interesting all year round garden.Worth being a Member.Often includes Art and Sculpures throughout... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
BJ1354
,
Romsey, United Kingdom
Beautiful gardens

This place is beautiful especially in the Autumn when all the trees are stunning colours. We always... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
DevonAngel45
,
Romsey, United Kingdom
Read all 478 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good28%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“jermyns house” (21 reviews)
“garden centre” (29 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 18:00
LOCATION
Jermyns House Jermyns Lane, Romsey SO51 0QA, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1794 369318
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Interesting all year round garden.Worth being a Member.Often includes Art and Sculpures throughout the gardens.

Thank BJ1354
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review - we’re delighted that you are enjoying your membership and the various exhibitions.

Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is beautiful especially in the Autumn when all the trees are stunning colours. We always walk to Jeromes cafe in the middle and stop for a drink. It's a great day out for adults and children.

Thank DevonAngel45
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We’re really pleased that you have enjoyed the gardens and the autumn colours. Thank you for your support.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this site has a great variety of trees shrubbery and well worth a days visit. The attached garden centre is full of many interesting plants with helpful staff

Thank aceofbase70
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments - we’re pleased that you enjoyed your day. We have 180 acres to enjoy so we hope you will return for another visit some time.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying locally and looking for something to do. It was a beautiful sunny day and we had a great time. The colours and variety of plants were just fabulous. The gardens are a joy to walk around; even our teenage daughter enjoyed it....More

Thank CaPaMaNia
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks, we’re very glad that you all had a good time visiting the gardens and that you enjoyed the wide variety of planting. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A beautifully presented and extensive gardens. Well worth repeated visits. Has a cafe which is OK but we went there towards the end of the day and felt maybe staff were too focused on finishing (e g. only filter coffee available as machine was on...More

1  Thank Nigel S
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you, we’re glad you had a good time in the gardens. We’re sorry that you weren’t able to choose from the full range of coffees though - the catering staff do work very hard so we hope you will try the restaurant again on...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are members and therefore regular visitors. There is always something of interest and colour whatever time of year. Unfortunately there is also always something wrong with the catering. This time it was the hot milk to go with our coffees. We were told it...More

Thank robertspet8
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We’re glad you enjoy and make good use of your membership throughout the year. In the restaurant, the ten pence charge for hot milk applies to an Americano which, as it is traditionally served black, does not have hot milk factored into the cost. This...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

At the suggestion of my eldest daughter, we visited the gardens with my youngest daughter, age 11. Luckily for us, there was a Halloween trail set up for the school holiday, and we spent an enjoyable few hours involved in solving clues and taking part...More

3  Thank Georgina H
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We’re really glad that you all had fun on the Halloween trail and enjoyed the autumn colours too. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit - there are lots of things to see during the winter as well - our website has...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a lovely day,although the weather was overcast the colours were still beautiful,the gardens are well maintained and there was so much to see. All the staff were so friendly and really helpful, We had a great lunch,the food was lovely and not overpriced (...More

1  Thank rosepuddings
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. It's great that you had a good time in the gardens and enjoyed your meal too. We hope you will visit us again as there is always something new to see.

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Free parking Shop Cafe Id recommend this and will go back in a different season to see the plants and trees in differnt colours!! If your into nature and plants and flowers and sculputures and walking this is the place for you. Loved it

Thank Nathan C
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

We're so pleased that you really enjoyed the garden and that you intend to return - the staff work hard to ensure the gardens are interesting and worth visiting all year round.

Reviewed 11 October 2017

Went to hilliers today but was a bit disappointed with the colours. Not enough acres. Wasn't signposted very well although we had map with us.the flowers were lovely.More

Thank Lesley R
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

We're sorry you were disappointed with the amount of colour you found. Nature has decided to spread the arrival of the various autumn leaves this year but there are still lots of beautiful trees to be found across the 180 acres - the pond area...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Wheatsheaf
258 reviews
1.24 km away
The Kitchen Cafe
39 reviews
1.46 km away
Dog & Crook
100 reviews
.95 km away
The Mandarin Chef
187 reviews
1.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
For Life Experiences (FLE)
10 reviews
1.81 km away
Mottisfont Abbey
1,027 reviews
6.34 km away
Chandler's Ford Library
10 reviews
7.00 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
johncoulthurst
4 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ConcordeSST | Reviewed this property |
Hello. A number 66 bus runs from Winchester to Romsey. There is a bus stop near the Jermyns Lane junction on this route. The walk is around 15 minutes to Hilliers.
0
Votes
Krisztina G
22 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Helen C | Reviewed this property |
I visit throughout the year and couldn't choose a season. each season (and month) has something different to offer. autumn is beautiful, spring is great too, (they have a beautiful rhodedendron and Camilla walks. Summer is... More
1
Vote
26 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from reece h | Reviewed this property |
I agree with the previous answers. This is a place for children to roam freely and safely and to discover things. If you are looking for a structured experience like an adventure park this is not for your children !
0
Votes