We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Na'alapa Stables - Waipio Valley

Features Animals
Old Highway 240, Kukuihaele, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
+1 808-775-0419
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Poor Communication

I'm sure this would have been a beautiful experience. We booked online and paid the deposit and... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
495naomim
Not sure...

I'm not sure what happened here. I think I expected something else maybe. Tail to nose riding is... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Krystal D
Read all 248 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Horseback riding tours in Waipio Valley
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good13%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“wild horses” (36 reviews)
“van ride” (16 reviews)
“taro fields” (11 reviews)
LOCATION
Old Highway 240, Kukuihaele, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
CONTACT
Website
+1 808-775-0419
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

I'm sure this would have been a beautiful experience. We booked online and paid the deposit and cleared our schedule. We made plans and arranged our affairs so as to arrive on time. We did some research to learn about the valley and were stoked...More

Thank 495naomim
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm not sure what happened here. I think I expected something else maybe. Tail to nose riding is okay. I knew that. The horses were for the most part well behaved. The guides were excellent. The ride was ehh, which is weird to type but...More

2  Thank Krystal D
Lottie T, Guest Relations Manager at Na'alapa Stables - Waipio Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Perhaps open range riding at Kahua Ranch would be more your style. Mahalo for posting!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The guides were personable and genuinely made the entire experience special with their deep knowledge about the valley! Completely worth every penny spent!

Thank Hayley T
Lottie T, Guest Relations Manager at Na'alapa Stables - Waipio Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Mahalo for sharing your thoughts.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would echo what so many others have said. The entire experience and the people who took our tour (Jamie and Grace) are caring and passionate; the horses are beautiful. If you are feeling apprehensive because you haven't ridden before or for a while, I...More

Thank Shelleylikestotravel
Lottie T, Guest Relations Manager at Na'alapa Stables - Waipio Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Mahalo for allowing us to share Waipio with you. We appreciate your kind words.

Reviewed 17 September 2017

Ride the steepest road in the US, Awesome scenery from horseback! We went on the Waipi'o Valley ride for two and a half hours with Jackie. The setting is beautiful, beyond photos, the ride was exactly what I wanted - cover a lot of area,...More

Thank DaveHom1796
Lottie T, Guest Relations Manager at Na'alapa Stables - Waipio Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your Waipio vist! Mahalo for sharing :)

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Na'alapa Stables gave us an amazing tour of the Waipio valley floor. Our guide Jaime's family owns lands in the valley and so he was able to give us a lot of it's history and a lot more. He was extremely knowledgeable and super nice....More

Thank Martin M
Lottie T, Guest Relations Manager at Na'alapa Stables - Waipio Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We pride ourselves in being real. Glad you enjoyed the tour. Mahalo Martin!

Reviewed 5 September 2017

My wife and I did this ride seven days ago (my wife's observation as I sit at home writing this review) on a return leg to Kona along the NE Coast from Volcano - just a few days after hiking down to Polulu Beach, which...More

Thank bldvl89
Lottie T, Guest Relations Manager at Na'alapa Stables - Waipio Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Great insight! Mahalo for posting :)

Reviewed 1 September 2017

Took this tour which included horse ride. The shop (starting point) is decent with lots of stuff to peruse and some amount of food to buy. Try their fruitbread, it is delicious. The drive from Kona is about 2 hours and across the island (south...More

Thank gsmrvb
HNLhulagirl, Guest Relations Manager at Na'alapa Stables - Waipio Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thanks for sharing!

Reviewed 13 August 2017

unfortunately the views were hindered due to a deluge of rain....the trip out was much better cause views were great and then the rain started and you could hardly see the horse in front of you...but they made it fun and did the best they...More

Thank Hibby922
Lottie T, Guest Relations Manager at Na'alapa Stables - Waipio Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Appreciate your kind words! wouldn't be real without that occasional water festival!

Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

The sites were so amazing on this tour. The guides were very friendly and the horses were very compliant. My fiance and I had a wonderful time and we really enjoyed the conversations throughout the tour with the guides. This was an amazing experience and...More

1  Thank Anthony N
Lottie T, Guest Relations Manager at Na'alapa Stables - Waipio Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Love to hear that you enjoyed it! Mahalo nui for sharing :)

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Hawaiian Style Cafe
995 reviews
12.20 km away
Waipio Cookhouse
102 reviews
3.16 km away
Village Burger
660 reviews
11.91 km away
Big Island Brewhaus
619 reviews
11.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Waipi'o On Horseback
338 reviews
.01 km away
Ride the Rim
581 reviews
2.92 km away
Waipio Valley Lookout
613 reviews
2.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ShariC1839
4 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from drsimony | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, beautiful waterfalls in the distance but no swimming. Ride the rim does an ATV tour above the valley where you stop for lunch and swim at a waterfall. Either one is great.
0
Votes
1poorguy
10 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lottie T | Property representative |
Cancellations are allowed at least 24 hours prior to tour. We are typically full so rescheduling can be a challenge. Na'alapa Stables
0
Votes
Carrie S
10 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HNLhulagirl | Property representative |
Mahalo for your inquiry. Hope the following helps: 2.5 hour tour! $10 per rider discount when booked online Price: $93.75 price includes tax Tour Times: Morning Ride: 9:00am Check-in; 9:30-12:00pm Tour Afternoon Ride... More
0
Votes