We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mont Rochelle

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number: +27 21 876 3000
Website
Book In Advance
More Info
US$108.39*
and up
Full-Day Winelands Tour with Tastings from Cape Town
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 89 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 38
    Excellent
  • 19
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
The best wine farm of the tour

Definitely the best wine farm of the Tram Tour, good tourism infrastructure and great view. The wine tasting cost R 45 for 6 wines or R 25 for 3 wines.

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 October 2016
Alexandre J
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 76: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing time of wine tasting followed by a pre-ordered picnic lunch (highly recommended). Great location with brilliant views of the valley. Wine tasting was really enjoyable but the highlight was the picnic.

Helpful?
Thank N_A_8387
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear N_A_8387, Thank you very much for taking the time to share this lovely review of your visit to Mont Rochelle. We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the wine tasting, and our Head Chef was especially pleased to hear that you felt your picnic was a highlight! We hope you’ll be back someday soon! Kind Regards, James Basson... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited this winery on a wine tram tour for a tasting. When we finally got some attention from one of the waiters he came to pour a glass without asking what wines we did or didn't want to try. Disappointing start as you pay for the tastings and select either 3 or 5 wines to taste. When I questioned... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Amanda P, Whilst it was an absolute pleasure to hear that you thought the winery was beautiful, I was sorry to hear that your wine tasting experience was not what you were hoping for. It was also disappointing to hear that the service you received was not to the level we ordinarily pride ourselves in and I’d like to... More 

Limoges, France
Level Contributor
187 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

We just came here for a wine tasting and it was excellent on every level. The location is just lovely, the wines were good and our host was knowledgeable and helpful. One of the best that we went to in the area.

Helpful?
Thank alexandramachray
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear alexandramachray, We were absolutely delighted to read this amazing review of your recent visit to Mont Rochelle. You had our team beaming from ear to ear as we read your fantastic compliments about the wine tasting experience. We’d just love to share our whole wine menu with you, so we hope you’ll be back to see us again someday!... More 

Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
344 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

Located on the Mont Rochelle Wine Estate, the hotel has 20 or so rooms. Our room overlooked the Franschhoek Valley with the mountains as the back drop. Every interaction with the staff was outstanding. There is a small pool for getting some sun. There is also a small work out room to burn off calories. :-) Dined at Miko one... More 

Helpful?
Thank ogerkan
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear ogerkan, Thank you so much for taking the time to share this lovely review of your stay at Mont Rochelle. Our team just love to make new friends, so it was wonderful to hear that you found each interaction to be outstanding. Our Head Chef was overjoyed to hear that you thought your dinner at MIKO was excellent and... More 

Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Definitely the best wine farm of the Tram Tour, good tourism infrastructure and great view. The wine tasting cost R 45 for 6 wines or R 25 for 3 wines.

Helpful?
Thank Alexandre J
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Alexandre J, Wow with such strong competition, we were overjoyed to hear that you found Mont Rochelle to be the best wine farm on the tour! We hope this means you’ll be back again next time you find yourself in Franschhoek. Kind Regards, James Basson General Manager gm@montrochelle.virgin.com More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2016

We really enjoyed our stay/stop here. It's a stunning & peaceful location & very easy to find not far from the town. The staff were friendly & the service 1st class, nothing was any trouble & a very peaceful & relaxed vibe & energy to the whole place. We had a small suite which was very well appointed with everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank M M
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear M M, Thank you so much for coming to see us whilst you were passing through Franschhoek, it may have been a short stay but it really was sweet; we just loved having you with us. It was wonderful to read that you thought the staff were friendly and first class. Our Head Chef was beaming with joy to... More 

East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Had an amazing time here. We had a group of family and friends, who all enjoyed the food and the wines. We ate at the Country Kitchen. I would definitely go back there again.

Helpful?
Thank BuffaloQ
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear BuffaloQ, Thank you so much for taking the time to share these lovely words about your visit to Mont Rochelle. We think that nothing quite beats sharing food and wine with family and friends, and we are so pleased that you chose Mont Rochelle for the occasion. We hope to welcome you all back again soon. Kind Regards, Chris... More 

Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2016

Had the most wonderful evening at Mont Rochelle. Superbly friendly staff, great service, crackling fire, delicious food, best company ever - it was the stuff great memories are made of! Thank you for the special service and great attention to detail, guys! Your hospitality was top notch!

Helpful?
Thank Nunca_Nunca
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Nunca_Nunca, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this glowing review of your evening at Mont Rochelle. Whether you’re staying a few hours or a few days, we always love to spoil our guests with our service and food, especially by a cosy fireplace. Thank you for spending the evening with us, we hope that we... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2016

Lazy Saturday lunch over cheese platter and lovely wines in excellent surrounding. The service was a little bit slow but the vibe and atmosphere made up for it.

Helpful?
Thank ilovecappuccino
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear ilovecappuccino, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your lunch at Mont Rochelle. It was fabulous to hear that you enjoyed a lazy afternoon with us accompanied by a cheese platter and nice glass of wine. We love your style and couldn’t think of a better way to while away a Saturday... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

Had a very leisurely wine tasting and lunch in fantastic surroundings. Thoroughly recommend a visit. This was the highlight visit of our wine tour today

Helpful?
Thank StHug
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear StHug, We were delighted to hear that you joined us recently for a leisurely wine tasting and lunch. That certainly is our favourite way to while away an afternoon and we were thrilled to hear that your visit to Mont Rochelle was the highlight of your wine tour. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your... More 

Travellers who viewed Mont Rochelle also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Mont Rochelle and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Ithaca, New York

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mont Rochelle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?