We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mont Rochelle

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
+27 21 876 3000
Book In Advance
More Info
US$112.03*
and up
Full-Day Winelands Tour with Tastings from Cape Town
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 95 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 38
    Excellent
  • 20
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Nice and Tasty Picnic

The picnic basket is nicely filled with good food in separate boxes. The food is tasty but the salads are to warm as the boxes were taken out of the fridge to early. You get a per... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Katrijn_Jeroen
,
Botswana
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 80: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
183 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This estate is owned by Richard Branson so you would expect the best, but it is not. We went here both for wine tasting as well as New Years Eve celebrations. It is situated on a hill just outside Franschhoek and on the wine tram (can strongly recommend) route. The food offered for the wine pairing was mediocre at best.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tor_Malmros
Botswana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The picnic basket is nicely filled with good food in separate boxes. The food is tasty but the salads are to warm as the boxes were taken out of the fridge to early. You get a per box a blanket. There is a small dam where you can enjoy the picnic with a nice view.

Helpful?
Thank Katrijn_Jeroen
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Katrijn_Jeroen, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us following your picnic at Mont Rochelle. It was a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the food, and I would like to thank you very much for sharing your valued feedback about the salads. Please rest assured that your comments have been passed on to our... More 

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
214 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Nice wine flight, reasonably priced too. Slightly soulless tasting room but nice location. Worth a visit but there are better.

Helpful?
Thank YorkshireTwig
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear YorkshireTwig, Whilst it was great to hear that you enjoyed your wine flight with us, I was sorry to hear that some elements of your visit did not quite live up to your expectations. We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mont Rochelle one day and if you would like to visit us... More 

Strand, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016

We hosted our friends from Canada and ordered picnic baskets in advance. We arrived early and had a drink in the mean time. We were first in line and waited the longest for our baskets. When we opened the baskets most of the cutlery was dirty and the salads didn't look fresh any more. Very disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Rynie Z
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Rynie Z, Following our recent correspondence I would like to once again express my sincere apologies that you left us feeling disappointed and reassure you that your comments have been shared with the team to help us as we continually strive to offer the best service and experience to our guests. I very much hope that we have the... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Amazing time of wine tasting followed by a pre-ordered picnic lunch (highly recommended). Great location with brilliant views of the valley. Wine tasting was really enjoyable but the highlight was the picnic.

Helpful?
Thank N_A_8387
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear N_A_8387, Thank you very much for taking the time to share this lovely review of your visit to Mont Rochelle. We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the wine tasting, and our Head Chef was especially pleased to hear that you felt your picnic was a highlight! We hope you’ll be back someday soon! Kind Regards, James Basson... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2016

We visited this winery on a wine tram tour for a tasting. When we finally got some attention from one of the waiters he came to pour a glass without asking what wines we did or didn't want to try. Disappointing start as you pay for the tastings and select either 3 or 5 wines to taste. When I questioned... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Amanda P, Whilst it was an absolute pleasure to hear that you thought the winery was beautiful, I was sorry to hear that your wine tasting experience was not what you were hoping for. It was also disappointing to hear that the service you received was not to the level we ordinarily pride ourselves in and I’d like to... More 

Limoges, France
Level Contributor
188 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

We just came here for a wine tasting and it was excellent on every level. The location is just lovely, the wines were good and our host was knowledgeable and helpful. One of the best that we went to in the area.

Helpful?
Thank alexandramachray
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear alexandramachray, We were absolutely delighted to read this amazing review of your recent visit to Mont Rochelle. You had our team beaming from ear to ear as we read your fantastic compliments about the wine tasting experience. We’d just love to share our whole wine menu with you, so we hope you’ll be back to see us again someday!... More 

Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
385 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

Located on the Mont Rochelle Wine Estate, the hotel has 20 or so rooms. Our room overlooked the Franschhoek Valley with the mountains as the back drop. Every interaction with the staff was outstanding. There is a small pool for getting some sun. There is also a small work out room to burn off calories. :-) Dined at Miko one... More 

Helpful?
Thank ogerkan
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear ogerkan, Thank you so much for taking the time to share this lovely review of your stay at Mont Rochelle. Our team just love to make new friends, so it was wonderful to hear that you found each interaction to be outstanding. Our Head Chef was overjoyed to hear that you thought your dinner at MIKO was excellent and... More 

Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Definitely the best wine farm of the Tram Tour, good tourism infrastructure and great view. The wine tasting cost R 45 for 6 wines or R 25 for 3 wines.

Helpful?
Thank Alexandre J
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Alexandre J, Wow with such strong competition, we were overjoyed to hear that you found Mont Rochelle to be the best wine farm on the tour! We hope this means you’ll be back again next time you find yourself in Franschhoek. Kind Regards, James Basson General Manager gm@montrochelle.virgin.com More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2016

We really enjoyed our stay/stop here. It's a stunning & peaceful location & very easy to find not far from the town. The staff were friendly & the service 1st class, nothing was any trouble & a very peaceful & relaxed vibe & energy to the whole place. We had a small suite which was very well appointed with everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank M M
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear M M, Thank you so much for coming to see us whilst you were passing through Franschhoek, it may have been a short stay but it really was sweet; we just loved having you with us. It was wonderful to read that you thought the staff were friendly and first class. Our Head Chef was beaming with joy to... More 

Travellers who viewed Mont Rochelle also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Mont Rochelle and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Ithaca, New York

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mont Rochelle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?