We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 7210 Fremont St, Duluth, MN 55807-1854
Phone Number: +1 218-730-4500
Website
Today
10:00 - 16:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 16:00
Description:

Located 10 minutes from Downtown Duluth, the zoo offers year-round...

Located 10 minutes from Downtown Duluth, the zoo offers year-round recreational opportunities for animal lovers of all ages. This zoo features animals from around the world. You'll find Amur Tigers, Snow Leopards, African Lions, Brown Bears, Kangaroos, Gray Wolves, plus a variety of birds, reptiles, primates and barnyard animals.

The Lake Superior Zoo is situated on 16 acres of rocky hills, majestic pines and beautiful Kingsbury Creek. Visit our website for information on our educational camps and programs, upcoming events and how you can host an event at the zoo.

 

Open Daily All Year Long.

June - September 9am - 5pm and October - May 10am - 4pm

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 150 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 40
    Excellent
  • 58
    Very good
  • 27
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Small Zoo

We enjoy going to zoos and try to see them all. This zoo is indeed small and some of the exhibits were closed. The petting zoo had no one working there and the kids were... read more

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 September 2016
ella z
,
Curtice, Ohio
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 149: English reviews
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Even though it was late in the season the zoo was tons of fun. My friend and I brought her special needs son and we had a wonderful time. We especially enjoyed the lions. the only thing that could have made it better would have been penguins.

Helpful?
Thank elenacolmenero2
GSJulie, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society, responded to this review

We're glad to hear that you had a great visit - thank you for making time to post your review! Late season, and winter, is the best time of the year for many of our northern species - they really come alive when the temperatures drop. We're still waiting for that turn this year, but our lions are LOVING this... More 

Curtice, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2016

We enjoy going to zoos and try to see them all. This zoo is indeed small and some of the exhibits were closed. The petting zoo had no one working there and the kids were disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank ella z
GSJulie, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review! We are so excited for the time when all of our exhibits are completed, and everything can be fully open! Construction season is both exciting and painful at times. ;-) Our barnyard is primarily staffed by volunteers, and we strive to have it open as much as we possibly can during... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2016

Before this area flooded a few years back I thought it was better but overall I would say I was impressed with this zoo when I have attended. For the size of the city and the size of the zoo it is pretty decent. Price to get in wasn't too bad either. Don't forget if you are a member of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dane4033
GSJulie, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We've had a long road back from 2012, but we are really excited about our plans for the future. Our staff has worked tirelessly to grow our animal collection, even during this time of transition, and has done a great job of adding animals and experiences wherever possible. We take pride in being the lowest-priced attraction... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

We visited recently during a stay in Duluth with our two young adult daughters. Everyone enjoyed the day; the weather was perfect and the grounds beautiful. Although the polar bear exhibit is closed due to flooding every other exhibit was open and we were able to enjoy all of the animals. One of our favorites was the exhibit with nocturnal... More 

Helpful?
Thank tlloveshim
GSJulie, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We sure appreciate the support of folks like you as we start the process of renovating our zoo for the future. The polar shores complex will be repurposed and revitalized into a gorgeous habitat for Brown Bears - it'll be a long construction project, but will be SO GREAT when it's complete! Our nocturnal... More 

Thunder Bay, Ontario
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2016

If you kids want to see animals and learn about animals and if your family is a zoo person. Great attraction for kids to see and hear about animals.

Helpful?
Thank miadcc
GSJulie, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society, responded to this review

Thanks for making time to post a review! We appreciate your comments, and love to hear that families are spending quality time together at our zoo. Our keepers are dedicated to sharing animals, conservation and good experiences with children - those kids are going to be the keepers of our planet someday! If we can foster in them a love... More 

Danville, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2016

We noticed that is a pretty small zoo with not a great variety of animals. However, the park was fairly clean and not crowded. We enjoyed the monkey area the most. We were disappointed that so many areas were closed (due to a flood were told).

Helpful?
Thank Janis N
GSJulie, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Our Primate Center and Nocturnal Buildings are some of our favorite places here! We do have a newly approved master plan for the zoo, and have started the (sometimes painful) process of moving forward with that - preparing areas for renovation has included moving animals away while their new habitat... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2016

It didn't have much to see. Depending how fast you walk your done within 30 minutes. Not many animals to see. Not really worth it. I went once it was ok than I came back about a year later and there was less animals and had a part closed down. So not really fun. Would rather go to apple valley... More 

Helpful?
Thank Minnesota218
GSJulie, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm sorry you were disappointed in your visit - we don't ever compare ourselves to the big zoos in the metro area... they've got far more resources at their disposal. We like to joke that we have 'tax-base-envy'! Instead, we strive to be a fine small zoo. Our collection contains... More 

minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2016

We used to have a family pass and would go here at least every couple weeks. It was great for young kids. Now it is completely boring and not worth the price of admission since the polar bear and seals are gone. It is probably fine for younger kids, but if you are an adult you will be bored.

Helpful?
Thank scottsnew1
GSJulie, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are in a great time of transition, with a newly approved master plan, a redesigned creek to reduce the chance of flooding, and the green light to start working on our new plan!! In preparation, we've had to relocate some of our larger animals, but with a collection of... More 

Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Best zoo we've been too. Low cost to to get in and free parking. Located before downtown so it's easy to get too. The only downside is they are still recovering from the flood a few years back so some exhibits are closed (polar bear, otters). Hands on section for kids as well as a petting zoo. Make sure to... More 

Helpful?
Thank kad025
GSJulie, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society, responded to this review

Thanks for making time to post your review! We are proud of our little zoo - our collection of over 300 animals of over 100 species is a great representation of the animals of the world, and our participation in several SSP (species survival program) is something that we take great pride in. We've got an exciting newly approved master... More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2016

Quite a bit to see here for such a little zoo. Anyone from MN familiar with the St. Paul Como zoo, it's probably similar in the amount of animals you can see, but there is a cost to get into this zoo. There was a devastating flood in this zoo a few years ago (a small creek runs through the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicki69072
GSJulie, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society, responded to this review

Thank you for making the time to post a review. We are in a great time of transition, with a newly approved master plan, a redesigned creek to significantly reduce the chance of flooding, and the green light to start working on our new plan!! It won't be a fast process, but we are really excited to get started. Thanks... More 

Travellers who viewed Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society also viewed

 

Been to Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Minneapolis, Minnesota
11 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?