We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About Ruta del Golfo
The Ruta del Golfo is not only the fastest, but also the most scenic way to travel between El Salvador and Nicaragua. Up until now the only connection (other than by airplane) between El Salvador and Nicaragua was a 10 hour bus ride, crossing borders with Honduras. But now you can take the boat from El Salvador to Nicaragua, or the other way around. The trip takes 2 to 8 hours (depending on your itinerary) and you can enjoy the beautiful scenery of the Gulf of Fonseca, a hardly traveled yet stunning part of Central America.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 08:30 - 17:30
See all hours

Ruta del Golfo
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
15Reviews2Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 8
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
92120tiffany wrote a review Mar 2018
San Diego, California29 contributions12 helpful votes
A lot of hype in the advertising for this trip from Leon across the Gulfo de Fonseco to San Salvador. First the boat does not stop at any island and second the drivers do not help you through customs. The boat was covered on top but bring a cover up as the sun comes in from the side and is fierce. On the Nicaragua side you wade to your boat. In El Salvador the ponga pulls up to a pier. Our companions were 20 something backpackers and great with us older folks. We did appreciate the transport on either end which saved us lots of hours and bus rides.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2018
Helpful
Share
Dean T wrote a review May 2017
21 contributions10 helpful votes
I didn't actually get to take the trip that I had booked with RDG on the account of an engine failure on the boat. HOWEVER, Guille contacted me well in advance of the circumstances and provided a full refund via Paypal immediately thereafter without me even asking for it. That is all I really need to know about this operation! High class and professional. Although its unfortunate I didn't get to travel to El Salvador, I hope there will be another opportunity in the future and if so I would certainly do it via boat with RDG as opposed to busing through Honduras. Thanks Guille!
Read more
Date of experience: May 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Guille S, General Manager at Ruta del Golfo
Responded 8 May 2017
Thank you for your review Dean!. I am sorry that we could not offer you our services this weekend due to our engine service. However, we do hope you could comeback soon to the Golfo de Fonseca and enjoy the beautiful scenery and islands. Have a great time enjoying Central America!.
Read more
clatulip9 wrote a review Jul 2016
Galesburg, Illinois1 contribution1 helpful vote
The whole trip very well organized by the team. Roberto, the person who took us from San Salvador to the boat was friendly, happy to share his experiences and knowledge of the country. The trip to Nicaragua by boat was beautiful and very pleasant. The person who pick us up in Nicaragua took us through immigration and the whole process was easy in spite of the heat. The driver to Managua was very good in spite of the thunderstorm. Guillermo the contact person through email was friendly, efficient and quick to respond. My husband left his reading glasses behind in the van and Guillermo made sure we had them at our hotel the following day!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from Guille S, General Manager at Ruta del Golfo
Responded 18 Jul 2016
Hi Claudia! We're happy to know you had a pleasant trip with us. Also, that your husband got his glasses on time for both of you to continue on your journey throughout Nicaragua. Thanks for using Ruta del Golfo!. Take care and have a blast!
Read more
Lew2222 wrote a review Jun 2016
Paris, France6 contributions2 helpful votes
We used "La ruta del golfo" to go from San Salvador (El Salvador) to Leon (Nicaragua) and it was a nice experience but the price is really much to high and the service is not that good (especially for that price). The first driver arrived almost half an hour late (when you have to wake up at 4:50, that matters...) and did not say goodbye to us when he left at La Union (nor did the boat driver at Potosi who mostly did not talk to us anyway). There was absolutely no water or food available which - for the price and the fact that it was a 9 hour trip, was not ok, and nobody warned us about the border taxes that we had to pay (we got rid of all our money before crossing the border, and when we crossed from Guatemala to El Salvador with a bus - so not a private crew or anything - they took care of everything and the border taxes were included in the transport price, which should have been the case here too, and we had to really insist for the driver to lend us the money, no credit card allowed, of course). But the boat ride is really amazing and the boat driver knew how to handle his boat. If it was half the price, it would be an awesome experience.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from Guille S, Gerente at Ruta del Golfo
Responded 21 Jun 2016
Hi Ludivine, It's a shame to hear that our driver and captain didn't had the courtesy of saying good morning or good bye while providing our service. Also, that the driver didn't make a stop to have a coffee, snack or bathroom break. As for the border taxes, I must say that our website does states that they are not included in our price, (http://www.rutadelgolfo.com/6/terms-and-conditions). However, I do apologize once again for our employees not providing the service that we should be offering for the price that you are paying and we'll be taking actions for the inconvenience you went through. I hope everything goes well in Nicaragua. Have a nice trip!
Read more
Higzzy wrote a review Aug 2015
Dublin, Ireland25 contributions10 helpful votes
Collected a group of 3 of us outside our hostel in San Salvador. Greeted us with a drink and pastry which was a nice touch. Brought us straight to emigration office in La Union and the captain of our boat, 'Mario', helped us through. Boat trip was nice and relaxed. Some of the most amazing views we came across on our travels and that includes places like Semuc Champey and Tikal. While I'd highly recommend the service, make sure you know how you're getting from Potosi to your next destination, either through arranging with the company a shuttle bus, or by knowing the local bus routes as there is nothing in Potosi. Cost of $99 dollars is expensive and would recommend trying to organise a bigger group as they will offer discount.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from Guille S, Manager at Ruta del Golfo
Responded 6 Oct 2015
Thanks a lot David! We're happy you'd enjoyed the drink and pastry! It was a must because we woke you up very early. We're pleased to read that you loved the scenery and boat trip all the way to Nicaragua. Cheers.
Read more
Previous