We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Share
Review Highlights
Poor Dining Experience

We recently attended a party of 25 at the highly rated Henderson Castle. The venue was beautiful... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
lizard90
,
Shelby Township, Michigan
Beautiful place, but not comfortable

My husband and I recently stayed overnight in the Italian Room. The building is beautiful and the... read more

Reviewed 23 August 2018
Amy M
,
Canfield, Ohio
via mobile
Read all 144 reviews
173
All photos (173)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good24%
  • Average14%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“hot tub”(7 reviews)
“french room”(3 reviews)
About
Welcome to The Henderson Castle, the most popular inn in Kalamazoo. Whether you're local or coming from Grand Rapids, Detroit, Lansing, South Bend or Chicago, you'll find us to be the best destination for your anniversary, birthday, wedding...more
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
100 Monroe St, Kalamazoo, MI 49006-4433
Website
+1 269-344-1827
Call
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
52
35
20
17
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
52
35
20
17
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed and breakfast hot tub french room french chef historic house dining room no rush our room was spacious queens tower aunt and uncle beautiful vintage staff was friendly fresh fruit the kitchen eggs third floor unique experience
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently attended a party of 25 at the highly rated Henderson Castle. The venue was beautiful but the dining room we were seated in was too small for the size of the party. The service was very slow - more than an hour between...More

Thank lizard90
flmoyet, Manager at The Henderson Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, I apologize that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us at the Henderson Castle. I will be letting the Chef know of your concerns and addressing your comments to our waitstaff. Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was one of the last stops of a week long Fall break through Michigan with my fiance. We had visited about 7 wineries throughout the week, and this was the last one on the list. Originally found the deal on Groupon for ~$60, had...More

Thank Brad R
flmoyet, Manager at The Henderson Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Brad, we apologize for the issues your experienced during your visit with us at the Henderson Castle. Thank you for voicing your concerns, we have addressed these issues with our staff and will continue to improve based on your feedback. We hope that you...More

Reviewed 24 September 2018

Our visit started out bad and only got worse. We read before going that the mansion had a new bar so we got there early to enjoy a glass of wine before our scheduled wine tasting/ghost tour. We had to ask the not-friendly bartender twice...More

2  Thank Vicki R
flmoyet, Manager at The Henderson Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hello Vicki, I am glad that we were able to discuss this situation with you personally and gather all details regarding your frustration. We hope to have you back in the future for a fresh start!

Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

I was booked for a castle tour and wine tasting on today. I am not able to make my reservation due to a flight cancellation due to the weather. I called and left a message requesting to rebook and received a phone call back stating...More

1  Thank Monica L
flmoyet, Manager at The Henderson Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Hello Monica, I do apologize that our policy was not made clear upon booking, we are sorry that you were not able to join us however, day of cancelations can not be refunded. Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

$190 for one night. Room was dusty and dirty. The king bed was 2 twin beds pushed together and creaked every time you touched them. No blinds on the windows so I had do undo the dusty curtains to so we could try to sleep....More

3  Thank ShellyA738
flmoyet, Manager at The Henderson Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Hello Shelly, I apologize that you did not feel that this room was what you expected. We do wish that we had known sooner so that we could have addressed your concerns as they arose. We will be reaching out to you shortly regarding your...More

Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed overnight in the Italian Room. The building is beautiful and the interior is well-appointed with some gorgeous antiques. However, while our room was spacious and clean, the mattress was extremely uncomfortable. Additionally, as other reviews have stated, there is...More

1  Thank Amy M
flmoyet, Manager at The Henderson Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hello Amy, I apologize that you found your mattress uncomfortable. I will speak with our maintenance team about this issue. Thank you for your feedback, we hope that you choose to stay with us again another time.

Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

It is a cool place. The staff is AMAZING!!!! But....no internet access. Not 3-prong outlets to charge laptops/phones dry your hair etc. My room actually had no outlets at all to plug into. I had to crawl around room to look for something even Move...More

2  Thank Taresa S
flmoyet, Manager at The Henderson Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hello Taresa, I apologize for the miscommunication with your room. Thank you for your feedback as we will work to correct these issues.

Reviewed 12 August 2018

My husband and I chose to celebrate our anniversary at the Henderson Castle! The package we purchased included at 60-minute castle tour, wine tasting, cheese plate, and cemetery tour. When we walked inside there were 4 other couples waiting to go on the tour with...More

1  Thank Leah S
flmoyet, Manager at The Henderson Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hello Leah, I apologize for the confusion and miscommunications with your reservation. I will be addressing this with our tour staff and I will also speak with Jordan to let him know your comments. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon...More

Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Been there for the third time with my wife in. 2 years . We always do the tour no matter what !!that our tradition ! Well every time the owner blow us away as he improve the Castle Constantly with great feature , like a...More

Thank flm1566
flmoyet, Manager at The Henderson Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you for your feedback!

Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

I have to say that our meal was absolutely astounding. Everything was cooked to perfection and needed no additional seasoning at all. The service was excellent and Ivie was attentive to our needs during our meal. The room left much to be desired. The walls...More

Thank Critic73
flmoyet, Manager at The Henderson Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall experience, but do apologize for the inconvenience of the amenities in your room being out of order and for the unkind attitude of the front desk. I will make sure to...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 32 nearby hotels
Comfort Inn Near Kalamazoo Civic Theatre
127 reviews
.91 km away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
2,163 reviews
1.70 km away
Knights Inn Kalamazoo
39 reviews
1.87 km away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
237 reviews
3.90 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 370 nearby restaurants
Gonzo's Biggdogg Brewing
171 reviews
1.21 km away
Saffron
153 reviews
.49 km away
University Roadhouse
134 reviews
.60 km away
Zooroona
92 reviews
.47 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 72 nearby attractions
Kalamazoo Institute of Arts
157 reviews
1.38 km away
Kalamazoo River Valley Trail
23 reviews
.52 km away
Miller Auditorium
21 reviews
.98 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
maureenbf
21 July 2018|
Answer
Response from jplas4 | Reviewed this property |
The rate was about $150 dollars a night. As I mentioned on my review the restaurant was not open the night we stayed. I believe it is opened Thurs-Sat. We looked in and it was very elegant. Might want check the website for... More
0
Votes
j x
25 February 2017|
Answer
Response from LauriHoward |
You could not be more correct - the owner is arrogant and thinks he does no wrong. He never addresses actual complaints, he just brags about how the business is growing and how hard his staff tries. I stayed for one night... More
0
Votes
David_TheHeights
I have driven by the "Castle" and enjoy the looks of this building. Have considered staying here for a weekend trip, wife and I enjoy B & B stays. So today I am reading the reviews and most seem pretty positive, with a few negative reviews thrown in. After reading the first review I was pretty impressed that the owners responded to a negative review. So I thought they were interested in their image and cared for their customers. But after reading a few more reviews, I noticed that the personal response from the owners was the same as before. Matter of fact, all the responses are just one that has been copied and pasted to each posting. No personal attention to the reviews left by their customers. The one where they wouldn't take care of the mother who purchased the Guest House 7 months in advance blew my mind. How could a professional B&B cancel a reservation made that far in advance on such short notice. I find that after reading these reviews, I will not be staying there. Things will have to change before I try spending a weekend here. It's too bad, love the looks of the place and was looking forward to an enjoyable stay.
31 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Linda H | Reviewed this property |
I personally would not ever deal with them again.. Beautiful castle but daughter's stay there on her honeymoon was a nightmare - no compensation was offered and the reception service was Ridiculous to say the least......not... More
1
Vote