We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Otsego Club

696 M-32 East Main Street, Gaylord, MI 49734
+1 989-732-5181
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
The Tribute

I golfed the Tribute with a couple friends over the weekend for the 1st time. I have to say it was... read more

Reviewed 26 September 2016
shejac1
,
Auburn, Michigan
Tribute Golf Course

Have played many golf courses in the area and my most recent round was at the Tribute. Eric, the... read more

Reviewed 22 September 2016
gross590
,
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Read all 53 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
A golf & ski resort located in Northern Michigan in operation since 1939. Award winning golf & dining and the best skiing and snowboarding anywhere!! Come check out our beautiful slopes and 36 holes of Championship Golf! Founded in 1939, Otsego Club & Resort has been a prominent fixture in northern Michigan and is the oldest continuously operating private ski club in America. The resort features meticulously groomed, family friendly ski hills, 36-holes of championship golf lead by the Tribute course, which meanders in and around the Sturgeon River Valley, and the parkland style Classic course. In addition, the resort offers a variety of lodging rooms, suites, and condominiums. There are more than 24,000 square feet of meeting space, romantic wedding spaces and the award-winning Duck Blind Grille, a multi-year winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good22%
  • Average15%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“ski resort” (6 reviews)
“pro shop” (6 reviews)
“downhill ski” (2 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
696 M-32 East Main Street, Gaylord, MI 49734
CONTACT
Website
+1 989-732-5181
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ski resort"
in 6 reviews
"pro shop"
in 6 reviews
"downhill ski"
in 2 reviews
"great golf"
in 4 reviews
"next year"
in 3 reviews
"elevation changes"
in 3 reviews
"in great shape"
in 3 reviews
"northern michigan"
in 2 reviews
"tribute"
in 25 reviews
"skiing"
in 7 reviews
"hole"
in 6 reviews
"courses"
in 12 reviews
"winter"
in 3 reviews
"slopes"
in 2 reviews
"accommodations"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 20 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2016

I golfed the Tribute with a couple friends over the weekend for the 1st time. I have to say it was an incredible experience for all of us. The views were spectacular, the course was amazing, with the exception of a couple greens that had...More

Thank shejac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liesel R, Manager at Otsego Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Thank you for reviewing the Tribute! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your round on the course. We are working on the mold issue and it will be taken care of by your next visit. Hope you can come back and visit us again...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Have played many golf courses in the area and my most recent round was at the Tribute. Eric, the golf pro was extremely friendly and accommodating. The course was in great shape and the views from many of the holes was spectacular. I recommend playing...More

Thank gross590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

I stayed at the resort for 5 days. I had dinner there twice and it was not very good. The food was not prepared very well and it was almost cold when I had it placed before me. I gave them a second chance because...More

Thank ReyDaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liesel R, Manager at Otsego Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duck Blind Grille. We are sorry for your disappointment, this is not our standard. We would like to invite you back for dinner on us. If you contact us at amarlatt@otsegoclub.com, we will issue you a...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We come up here and stay every year to golf Treetops and the Tribute course. We stopped staying at Treetops years ago the the lodging got so bad there. We stay at Otsego Club and book one of the excellent updated rooms in the Hilltop...More

Thank cascio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liesel R, Manager at Otsego Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Thank you for comprehensive review of the Otsego Club & Resort. With respect to the Tribute, the greens have design issues which in a normal year were evident, but not as bad. This year, the drought and extreme heat exacerbated these issues. We reached out...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Decided to play the Tribute course after reading online reviews in Northern Michigan golf sites. The course had some interest views and was OK but it was suffering badly from the hot, dry summer that part of the country has endured. We didn't know that,...More

Thank Golfnutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liesel R, Manager at Otsego Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review the Tribute golf course. With respect to the Tribute, the greens have design issues which in a normal year were evident, but not as bad. This year, the drought and extreme heat exacerbated these issues. We reached...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Every year we come with a group of guys to the Otsego Club. Started to notice some short comings last year with the courses. This year yikes. We are paying a high rate for not such good conditions. The Tribute views are still there but...More

Thank Duane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liesel R, Manager at Otsego Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Thank you for your review of the Tribute golf course. With respect to the Tribute, the greens have design issues which in a normal year were evident, but not as bad. This year, the drought and extreme heat exacerbated these issues. We reached out to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

My group always looks forward to playing The Tribute. The views, the quality of the course, one of our favorites. This time was different. I know it has been dry, but for the price they charge, our group expected more. Lots of burnt areas in...More

Thank JD1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liesel R, Social Media Coordinator at Otsego Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review the Tribute. We are sorry that the course did not meet your expectations. Yes, the extremely dry weather has brought to light some design issues which need correcting, fortunately these issues do not affect the play-ability of...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

This used to be one of our favorite stops on our annual trip to the area. We hadn't played there the last two years and we couldn't wait to get there. Started off with the old pro shop being closed and moved into a smaller...More

Thank BigStricky84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liesel R, Social Media Coordinator at Otsego Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review the Otsego Club & Resort/Tribute Golf Course. We are very sorry to hear that your experience with us was such a disappointment. This is not the standard of service that we strive to achieve. We apologize for...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Really looked forward to golfing at the Otsego Club and the Tribute course. First, I want to say that the course itself compares to some of the Treetops courses. So the course, views, and difficulty were great. The 5 hours it took to play 18...More

Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liesel R, Digital Media Manager at Otsego Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to to write a review of your say at our property. It is because of reviews like yours that we can maintain and in some cases improve the services and standards at our resort. We would like to apologize...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016

We had a wonderful weekend here with our children! We definitely plan on making this an annual trip! Great place!More

Thank ARUSSO1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liesel R, Social Media Coordinator at Otsego Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2016

Thank you for your review of Otsego Club & Resort! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you are already planning your next stay. If you are interested in joining us more often, contact us for membership information at...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 15 hotels in Gaylord
Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center
70 reviews
.82 km away
Royal Crest Motel Gaylord
84 reviews
1.61 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gaylord
49 reviews
1.98 km away
Baymont by Wyndham Gaylord
878 reviews
1.99 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Alpine Chocolate Haus
124 reviews
1.28 km away
Bearded Dogg Lounge
270 reviews
1.46 km away
Alpine Tavern and Eatery
317 reviews
1.39 km away
Diana's Delights
192 reviews
1.23 km away
Nearby Attractions
Otsego County Historical Museum
8 reviews
1.41 km away
Old Spud Warehouse
17 reviews
1.45 km away
Gaylord Golf Mecca
17 reviews
1.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Otsego Club staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;