We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wisp Resort

296 Marsh Hill Rd, McHenry, MD 21541-1402
+1 301-859-3159
Website
Save
Review Highlights
The Lodge is seriously outdated and the "Ski Package" is a Hoax

I planned a spring trip to visit Wisp, after many many good experiences as a child. I wanted my... read more

Reviewed 12 April 2017
Greg W
A comfortable trip for a first timer!!

We are not skiers, and we do not particularly care for the cold weather (and all that it brings... read more

Reviewed 19 March 2017
moniquettaylor
,
Chesapeake, Virginia
Read all 234 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good40%
  • Average15%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“chair lift” (15 reviews)
“zip lining” (14 reviews)
LOCATION
296 Marsh Hill Rd, McHenry, MD 21541-1402
CONTACT
Website
+1 301-859-3159
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2017

I planned a spring trip to visit Wisp, after many many good experiences as a child. I wanted my Niece to experience the great times similarly in her youth. Upon checking into our room, the window heater was extremely loud and rumbling. I called the...More

Thank Greg W
Wisp_Resort, Manager at Wisp Resort, responded to this review

Dear Greg W, Thank you for your review of The Lodge at Wisp. We appreciate your comments. It is disappointing to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had with the heater in your room as...More

Reviewed 19 March 2017

We are not skiers, and we do not particularly care for the cold weather (and all that it brings). With that being said, we were more than a little anxious about visiting this ski resort. We were reassured that our inexperience wouldn't prevent us from...More

Thank moniquettaylor
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We went to Wisp for Presidents Day Weekend and although the weather was warm, we made the best of this unusual spring skiing during a winter month. My first gripe is the price - way overpriced for multi-day passes for those staying at the resort....More

Thank seano21401
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Sadly, Wisp's management has been performing poorly for several years. I have been a season pass holder for skiing for nearly ten years and spent much time at the hotel. This year, Wisp failed to blow snow in sufficient amounts, making it close before every...More

Thank TheB20850
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Great experience! We took a group of about 30 students (college) here for a snow tubing evening, and the entire experience was wonderful. They have ample amounts of parking, lots of bathrooms, and their staff is helpful and it's not difficult to find someone if...More

Thank Rest-and-Romance
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We have been to this resort twice now this year, first in Jan 2017 when I was over charged for lift tickets and rentals (which I took as a mistake) and spent 30+ mins attempting to get the overcharge returned. On the 2nd trip in...More

1  Thank diane y
Wisp_Resort, Manager at Wisp Resort, responded to this review

Diane, Thank you for your review of Wisp Resort. As we had previously discussed, neither our hours of operation or ticket prices changed during your visit. Both have been available and posted on our website as well as in our brochure since before the arrival...More

Reviewed 13 February 2017

Went snow tubing MLK weekend. Premium day, so I expected it to be very busy and it was! We had a blast. Had a two hour pass for tubing and then rode the mountain coaster. Notes: Even if you make reservations, you have to go...More

Thank Snidsl
Reviewed 9 February 2017

I highly recommend finding somewhere better because this was the worst customer service experience I've ever had. I paid for 2 days of lift tickets and equipment rental since I didn't want to waste time in line on the second day. However I came close...More

2  Thank Karen R
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

If you're coming from D.C. Drive the extra hour for the best resort by far! Great runs, lots of natural snow, and not as crowded

1  Thank MBKanner
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Pros: awesome parking, ticket lines quick, night skiing was fantastic and not crowded. Cons: overpriced lift tickets for "premium" weekend with average skiing. When all runs are NOT open, you have no business charging "premium rates!" Also, there was only one legitimate black diamond (The...More

2  Thank April A
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Archie's Barbeque
270 reviews
1.12 km away
Pine Lodge Steakhouse
385 reviews
1.21 km away
Canoe on the Run
122 reviews
.71 km away
The Greene Turtle
54 reviews
.60 km away
Nearby Attractions
Adventure Sports Center International
58 reviews
1.34 km away
Funland
40 reviews
.95 km away
Deep Creek Marina and Boat Rentals
14 reviews
.88 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
jackie d
are pet dogs welcomed in the summer?
5 April 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Wisp_Resort | Property representative |
Jackie d, Thank you for your question. The Lodge at Wisp does allow smaller dogs and there is a pet fee associated with the stay. The resort itself does allow leased dogs. We just ask that you please clean up after your... More
1
Vote
Marge C
I am coming with a group. What kind of rooms do you have? Do you have rooms with 2 double beds? Are there chairs in the rooms? Does each room have a private bath? For a group, are meals ordered from a menu or are they buffet style? Do people dress up for dinner? I am coming in November with the Knittreat. Are you providing a coffee break? Is there a coffee maker in the room? Is there a refrigerator in the room? Thanks.
13 February 2017|
Answer
Response from MBKanner | Reviewed this property |
Sounds like you're looking to stay at the hotel. I would check directly with them. However, there is also the option of renting a condo or house through Railey Mountain Lake Vacations, which I would recommend exploring
0
Votes
Graham J
How many ski runs and difficulty of double blacks ? Tree skiing ? Height of mountain and how many lifts ? Is there a train to mountain or alternately easiest way to get there. We are a group of 4 coming from Australia
16 December 2016|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from kmbsfc | Reviewed this property |
I'm sorry but I do not ski, so I am unable to help.
0
Votes