We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
New owners New downgrades

Eldorado now owns this tugboat. Restaurants now each close 2 days a week. Some machine banks are... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Charles F
Be Very Careful at the bars

New owners machine downgrades etc. Lately they've had security sticking around the bar. I was... read more

Reviewed 5 October 2018
chuckf608
,
Chicago, Illinois
Read all 238 reviews
10
All photos (10)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good25%
  • Average31%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible16%
3 weeks ago
“New owners New downgrades”
5 Oct 2018
“Be Very Careful at the bars”
About
Measuring 400 feet long and 100 feet wide, this picturesque riverboat features 16-foot ceilings and more than 1,000 slots and a variety of table games.
Contact
250 S Grove Ave, Elgin, IL 60120-6447
Website
+1 847-468-7000
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
46
59
70
21
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
46
59
70
21
39
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 235 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Unless you enjoy losing large sums of money, go elsewhere. If you did not know, this casino was recently sold to a new company, and now everything is much, much worse. The drinks cost more, the food tastes terrible, the slots absolutely do not pay,...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank johnmuir47
GVCElgin, Manager at Grand Victoria Casino Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi johnmuir47. On the behalf of Grand Victoria Casino, we wish to apologize for failing to meet your exceptions with our recent changes and for not providing a great experience for you. We are also sorry to hear that you haven't had any luck with...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I was celebrating a birthday. The food was dry and looked old, they have cooks behind the food but they all seemed preoccupied with their own chores rather than their guest. We had our duty dishes on our tables for almost the entire time we...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Ben D
GVCElgin, Manager at Grand Victoria Casino Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ben. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with us. We are committed to achieving the highest total guest satisfaction and your comments and concerns are important to us. We are sorry to hear that you are very disappointed with...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been going to GVC for years... So Im pretty experienced in my slot play. Both here and at other casinos. Since the takeover by Eldorado it's been terrible. Zero nada zilch luck. Recently was lucky to get a bonus round on .25 machine...yay super excited...but...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank bobbicat
GVCElgin, Manager at Grand Victoria Casino Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi bobbicat. We are committed to achieving the highest total guest satisfaction and your comments and concerns are very important to us. We are sorry to hear that you haven't had any luck recently. In addition to our slot selection, we offer a wide variety...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been going to the grand Victoria casino for a long time (more than 20 years), but I have never won a small jackpot (e.g. $1500.00 or so). tonight was the icing on the cake, my girlfriend spend like $1200.00 and never got anything worth...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank billyvargas1
GVCElgin, Manager at Grand Victoria Casino Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi billyvargas1. We are committed to achieving the highest total guest satisfaction and your comments and concerns are very important to us. We are sorry to hear that you haven't had any luck recently. In addition to our slot selection, we offer a wide variety...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Save your money and play in Vegas. I was a frequent slot and table game player for many years at GVC. It was a fun place for gaming (win some, lose some), nice staff and fun promotions. Over the years they’ve cut out member perks...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank MTrue256
GVCElgin, Manager at Grand Victoria Casino Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi MTrue256. We are committed to achieving the highest total guest satisfaction and your comments and concerns are important to us. We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed and haven't had any luck with us recently. We would very much appreciate on how...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lost lots of money here. I should not have come. But my bad hbit brought me here. Tried not to drink too much

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Edwardo1938
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Eldorado now owns this tugboat. Restaurants now each close 2 days a week. Some machine banks are getting downgrades. Huge drink price increase. Comps being cut. Greed takes over. Not a fun atmosphere anymore.More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Charles F
GVCElgin, Manager at Grand Victoria Casino Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Charles. Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent visit with us. Your comments and concerns are very important to us. We are saddened to hear that you weren't happen with your most recent visit. We would very much appreciate your...More

Reviewed 18 October 2018

Before going to The Grand Victoria Casino I consulted the reviews on Trip Adviser. Undaunted; I went and paid the GVC a visit. At the player's club I was graciously greeted by an ever-smiling lady named Sherri. She signed me up and gave me information...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank louisv743
GVCElgin, Manager at Grand Victoria Casino Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Hi Louisv743. Wow! Awesome and very detailed review. We greatly appreciate your feedback. Your feedback will help us improve in the future. We are very thankful that you are going to give us a second chance. Thank you for your 4-star rating and we hope...More

Reviewed 5 October 2018

New owners machine downgrades etc. Lately they've had security sticking around the bar. I was playing the poker for a few hours and when I left was pulled over for DUI. One of the guards told me they've been hard on this. Bartender didn't seem...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank chuckf608
GVCElgin, Manager at Grand Victoria Casino Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Hi Chuckf608. Grand Victoria Casino's policy requires that the police be notified anytime an impaired guest drives off property.

Reviewed 30 September 2018

When Grand Victoria opened and for probably the first 10 years, it was a great place to go. Clean, good entertainment and promotions, decent customer service-- and you could actually win some good money from time to time. Then it started to slide downhill to...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Jeff L
GVCElgin, Manager at Grand Victoria Casino Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Hi Jeff. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with us. We greatly appreciate your honest feedback. Your feedback will help us improve. Thank you.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 nearby hotels
Lexington Inn & Suites
27 reviews
4.32 km away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin
455 reviews
4.34 km away
Super 8 by Wyndham Elgin
146 reviews
4.55 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
232 reviews
4.68 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 209 nearby restaurants
Al's Cafe & Creamery
188 reviews
.59 km away
Elgin Public House
261 reviews
.66 km away
The Walnut Speakeasy
99 reviews
.35 km away
Blue Box Cafe
41 reviews
.73 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 25 nearby attractions
Gail Borden Public Library
113 reviews
1.43 km away
Elgin Symphony Orchestra
22 reviews
.64 km away
Elgin History Museum
22 reviews
1.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Resort776189
2 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from wjr222 | Reviewed this property |
No they do not
0
Votes
lchicagolaw
16 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from James I | Reviewed this property |
As far as I know there are no age restrictions in the restaurants. I did read that anyone over 2 year sold is charged full price for the buffet.
2
Votes
kports11
16 January 2017|
Answer
Response from chuckf608 |
no
0
Votes