We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 46 Towngate, Heptonstall HX7 7NB, England
Phone Number: +44 1422 843833
Today
16:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 16:00 - 16:15
Tue - Thu 16:00 - 23:00
Fri 16:00 - 00:00
Sat - Sun 12:00 - 00:00
Description:

Set in the heart of the village of Heptonstall, overlooking the bustling...

Set in the heart of the village of Heptonstall, overlooking the bustling market town of Hebden Bridge sits The Cross Inn. Now under new management and refurbished throughout the ground floor. A warm friendly public house offering a range of cask ales, and home made food. We now also offer an extensive range of Gin. We have three rooms, a double and two twins, with a shared bathroom although plans are ongoing to make all rooms en suite. We have outdoor seating to the front and an enclosed beer garden to the rear. The village car park is 2 minutes walk away.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 32 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 23
    Excellent
  • 4
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Absolutely fabulous

Was supposed to be going further afield for bday lunch with friends, unfortunately the snow came down thick and fast so we all came to The Cross. The pub has recently been taken... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
Feezysunshine
,
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Heptonstall

Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was supposed to be going further afield for bday lunch with friends, unfortunately the snow came down thick and fast so we all came to The Cross. The pub has recently been taken over by a lovely lady called Debbie, we had a laugh about the weather and I explained it was my birthday, well she couldn't of been more... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Feezysunshine
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately this Pub B&B needs some TLC. A fantastic location, set in a tiny village, on a steep narrow cobble stone road. It was like going back in time. Had we not booked this B&B we would have missed Heptonstall. On arrival the hostess Lesley greeted us warmly and told us when and where breakfast would be served and where... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley O
Augsburg
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this B&B and hadn't expected nothing. The first impression if you enter the pub was that they did a good job with the renovation. The second was, they forgot the rooms... The most worst thing is an emergency light on the ceiling witch can't switch off. This light is so bright that you can read... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kasanita
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Well where do I even begin! After a day of walking around the beautiful surrounding countryside we arrived and the owners were clearly doing some renovation which was not a problem at all, as we were only staying for the evening. We were then shown to our room which was fine, apart from the absence of any bulbs in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha M
Lesley D, Manager at The Cross Inn, responded to this review

Hi Samantha I am saddened to read your review as it is not really a very fair one. The light bulb has long since been replaced and you didnt mentjon it at the time. You were staying in a b and b not a hotel tandherefore there is no reception although not once did you ask for any assistance. The... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2016

Very warm welcoming, fantastic food and I would highly recommend. The service is amazing and Lesley is wonderful. This place is well worth a visit. Beautiful setting.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night and can't fault it, warm welcome, nice pint and good nights sleep with a tasty breakfast in the morning!

Helpful?
Thank steviebuck
Lesley D, Manager at The Cross Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Love to see you again sometime. More 

halifax
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2016

Great spot, very welcoming hostess and locals. Just the job for 3 weary travellers staying over for one night after doing half of the Calderdale way. They weren't doing evening meals so can't comment on that although the full English breakfast was just the job Rooms were basic, great for a night with the lads but wouldn't bring my wife... More 

Helpful?
Thank rob_hat
Lesley D, Manager at The Cross Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Rob and hope your feeling better. Just for future reference, the rooms are going to be updated to ensure suite rooms with TV and facilities, plus we are converting the end of the building into a holiday cottage. The outdoor barn will become a bunk barn for cyclists and walkers so maybe we will see you next time your... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

Have stayed a number of times, I grew up in this village and have always been made to feel at home despite having not lived here for 21 years x

Helpful?
Thank Lynneharte
Lesley D, Manager at The Cross Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comment Lynne. Hope to see you again soon. More 

North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2016

Called at The Cross this morning after our dog walk around Heptonstall to ask whether breakfast was a possibility. The landlord and his staff were just brilliant. Although we were a little early, nothing was too much trouble, and the freshly cooked breakfast which appeared very swiftly was absolutely delicious. Ten out of ten to you all, I really hope... More 

Helpful?
Thank Millmen
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

Popped in for a quick pint while out dog walking with friends in the area. Good selection of ales and friendly staff. In a beautiful spot too.

Helpful?
Thank Jim B

Travellers who viewed The Cross Inn also viewed

Heptonstall, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Cross Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?