We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 50 Monarch Beach Resort N, Dana Point, CA 92629-4084
Phone Number: 19492483001
Website
Today
06:00 - 20:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 06:00 - 20:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

Established in 1993.

Designed by legendary architect Robert Trent Jones Jr....

Established in 1993.

Designed by legendary architect Robert Trent Jones Jr. Monarch Beach Golf Links offers challenging layout with undulating greens, links style fairways and a array of Augusta white sand bunkers. In 2012, OB Sports added MBGL to their impressive list of Golf Courses around the United States under which they manage and operate. MBGL is available virtually every day of the year for your golf outings; whether for pleasure, celebratory, corporate or charity, the MBGL Team is there to assist you. True to the SoCal Beach Vibe, you'll enjoy music upon arrival, 'Beach Cruiser' refreshment vehicles & can even Surf the Earth on a GolfBoard. We hope you visit us soon!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 69 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 34
    Excellent
  • 19
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Fun Course...

Enjoy a fun relaxing Course by the Ocean. Breezes, views, maybe a cigar and a great day. Stay at the Hotel or near by. Go to Stellas Serious Italian or Salt Creek Grille in the... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 September 2016
robert j
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 68: English reviews
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

Monarch Beach Golf Links is an expensive course to play, and one would expect the course to well kept. But it is not. The first 4 holes are very nice, with nice ocean views, good greens and fairways. However, from hole #6 onward, the conditions of the fairways deteriorates rather quickly, with lots of bare areas, and some muddy areas.... More 

Helpful?
Thank amarcopolo
Manhattan Beach
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

Connected to the St Regis Hotel Monarch Beach Golf Links is an excellent course to play. Good spacing between teetimes allows for fast play without waiting for the group ahead. They keep you on track for a 4 hours round or less for early teetimes which is fantastic. Did I mention the spectacular ocean views. This course is a real... More 

Helpful?
Thank RL18
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2016

Don't waste your time or money on what should be a wonderful course but is in horrible shape. If you like divots, swamps and bogs, desert dry rocky patches, and a course that is not easy to navigate then this is the course for you.The GPS is like having Big Brother tracking your every move and advertising, and warning, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank FinickyTravelAgent
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Enjoy a fun relaxing Course by the Ocean. Breezes, views, maybe a cigar and a great day. Stay at the Hotel or near by. Go to Stellas Serious Italian or Salt Creek Grille in the Monarch Bay Plaza to unwind. Both have good Happy Hours. Enjoy ! 1980Ironman

Helpful?
Thank robert j
Jackie K, Manager at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review

Greetings Robert, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience! Sounds like you had a wonderful day - we hope you have a chance to visit us again in the near future! More 

California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016

The team at the Monarch Beach Golf Links go above and beyond for their customers. We hosted a company golf event there and everyone was very impressed.

Helpful?
Thank DebrainIrvine
Jackie K, Manager at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review

Greetings! Thank you very much for taking the time to review your company golf outing at Monarch Beach Golf Links. We work hard to provide an exceptional experience and hope you have a chance to host future events with us! Happy Golfing!! More 

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed the layout of the Course, but it was in poor condition (whether that is from water restrictions, I'm unsure, so I'll give the benefit of the doubt.). The Greens were pretty good, the Tee Boxes rough and a lot of the fairways were burned out a bit. The biggest issue I had was the blaring music from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe H
Jackie K, Manager at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review

Greetings Joe, Thank you for your constructive feedback. I have taken your suggestions to our team and will work on the music, hitting bays & signage. As you saw, we are in the middle of a transition period with our turf - on top of the drought and our use of reclaimed water. Our superintendent is working quite literally around... More 

Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2016

Monarch is a convenient vacation venue in south Orange County which offers few choices. The stunning location is reflected in both the ocean and the fees. It is a fun test for the mid handicap player but single digit players will not be challenged. Course conditions tend to suffer in the summer when play is at its highest.

Helpful?
Thank Robert T
Jackie K, Manager at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review

Greetings Robert, Thank you for taking the time to review Monarch Beach Golf Links! We are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful experience here. We work every day to make it a memorable one for our guests. We hope you visit us again soon! More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2016

This was my second trip to golf in SoCal and I really enjoyed the course - amazing views and in great condition. Although somewhat expensive for mid week golfing, the friendliness, flexibility and high quality of service from everyone we met at the course made it worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Kristine B
Jackie K, Manager at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review

Thank you Kristine for your review of Monarch Beach Golf Links. We strive to provide an exceptional experience and are glad you enjoyed your experience. We hope you come visit us again soon! More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

It's a nice course, with a pleasant layout, but unfortunately it's under some course renovations so the conditions aren't the best. People in and around the pro shop at very nice though, hope to come back when the course is cleaned up!

Helpful?
Thank Bryan N
Jackie K, Manager at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review

Greetings Bryan! Thank you for your review of Monarch Beach Golf Links. This spring we went through some much needed fairway turf renovation. We completely rebuilt some of our troubled fairways delivering a more consistent turf product for our guests. We have completed our renovations and hope you can come visit in the near future to see the finished product! More 

Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
731 reviews
283 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

The location and climate of this golf course is perfect. It is naturally beautiful and a bit breezy. The greens are in perfect condition. Yes tripees, it was slow. The staff did its best to keep things moving. I played solo in the afternoon and was able to get around a slooooow group of 4 with the starter's permission. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reasonable50
Jackie K, Manager at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review

Greetings! Thank you for your review of Monarch Beach Golf Links! We do sincerely appreciate reviewing your experience for other trip advisor users. We hope you have a chance to visit us again soon! More 

Travellers who viewed Monarch Beach Golf Links also viewed

 
Newport Beach, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to Monarch Beach Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Monarch Beach Golf Links and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Monarch Beach Golf Links staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?