We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain Sanctuary Park

Features Animals
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Magaliesburg 0300, South Africa
Phone Number:
+27 14 534 0114
Website
Book In Advance
More Info
US$268.50*
and up
Private Magaliesberg Day Tour from Johannesburg including Hartbeespoort Dam
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 78 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 26
    Excellent
  • 30
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
R and R on your doorstep

Just one and a half hours from the hustle and bustle of JHB you will find the wonderful park with camping and chalet facilities. A stunning and unusual landscape greets you on the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
chriskS3887SJ
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 77: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Easter is a special time for families especially our group with very young children aged 1-8. The scenery is beautiful however due to the following factors I will never return to Mountain Sanctuary and advise other fellow travelers to heed this advise. Security leaves a lot to be desired and safety is a concern. From a facility perspective: - bathrooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chantal M
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just one and a half hours from the hustle and bustle of JHB you will find the wonderful park with camping and chalet facilities. A stunning and unusual landscape greets you on the numerous routes you can hike on. Rock pools with sparkling clean water will sooth those aching legs after a long walk. Low noise pollution levels are stressed... More 

Helpful?
Thank chriskS3887SJ
Vanderbijlpark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The area has a lot of attraction places for tourists. Lot of places to sit and eat also lunch of the boat. A lunch boat must pre-booked. My kids were happy to be on peak of Magaliesberg mountain. Having the opportunity to read history on the stones about various areas in South Africa as well as Botswana. This was educational... More 

Helpful?
Thank cmC1236LB
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

this is a very nice hiking place, be sure to take your swimming trunks as at the end of you destination awaits beautiful freshwater pools. this place is very.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Loved this place we discovered through our purchase of a book 'Moer and gone'. We found a perfect spot close to some rock pools and only on taking a walk did we realize we were not even at the West Pools. Further to that we followed a trail to find the Leopard gully but got lost and would suggest a... More 

Helpful?
Thank tripreviewTC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review

Hi There, thanks for the wonderful comments. I understand the frustration with regards to signage on the hikes. The reason we don't have painted footprints and signs every where is because of the sensitivity of the area, the Magaliesberg is very prone to erosion with marked trails everyone follows the exact route and the result is a eroded path that... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Went to mountain sanctuary for a day hike with my partner. The place is very beautiful but has little signage. We spent more time getting lost than having a fun hike. Management need to do something about the signage as everyone we met that day complained about the same problem

Helpful?
Thank vellocia
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review

Hi There, thanks for the feedback. I understand the frustration with regards to signage on the hikes. The reason we don't have painted footprints and signs every where is because of the sensitivity of the area, the Magaliesberg is very prone to erosion with marked trails everyone follows the exact route and the result is a eroded path that cant... More 

Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2017

This reserve is a 2hr drive from Sandton, and be sure to take the N4 toll road route as the country road has not been maintained at all through the informal settlement - it is positively dangerous with waterfilled potholes, crumbling tar, and unmarked speed humps. Let alone the profusion of garbage and filth. The dirt road leading to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank talia301
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. It makes us so happy to know that MSP is a haven to people like you and family and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Our Sanctuary is precious to us and people like you make what we do an absolute pleasure and joy. Stacy and Owen sutton. More 

Brits, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We went there with a school trip when I was about 11yrs ....I cant remember that it was open to the public, I think it was privately owned because we met the owner the next day and I mentioned that if you can't relax here, you need medical attention. :) That is really how I felt! We took a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank dieldamienie
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, its for conservation and people like yourselves that we do what we do. We look forward to your next visit. kind regards owen More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Entrance fee for day visitors was R275 for a cpl and a car (??). The view is beautiful but the paths are unmarked and the pools were almost empty. Would not visit there again.

Helpful?
Thank AstroZD
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review

Good Day thank you for your review. I would like to address your issues, firstly as I am sure you know the country has been in the grip of one of the worst droughts ever so yes naturally the natural mountain pools have been low. With regards to the hiking trails, we encourage our guests to make full use of... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

This was a day visit, during the mid week, although I have camped here many years ago. It is tucked away on a long dust road, which can be fairly bumpy - corrugations caused by rain water and traffic - but well worth a visit. Very tranquil with a a good wide range of walking trails available. The day we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review

Thank you so much we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. kind regards Owen More 

Travellers who viewed Mountain Sanctuary Park also viewed

Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Mountain Sanctuary Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Sanctuary Park staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?