We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ene'io Botanical Garden

Neiafu, Tonga
+676 71-048
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great owner

We went for the Tongan feast here. For 50TOP, the food isn't that great. And not worth it at all if... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
A TripAdvisor Member
via mobile
Authentic Tongan food in a beautiful beach setting

It is hard to get authentic Tongan food as there are no Tongan restaurants. The hosts, beach... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
KenH19562017
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 88 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
22-Acre botanical garden with 40 years of conservation and natural growth, Daily guided Eco tours and beach activities for the family; ocean-side restaurant and bar specializing in fresh fish and local fare; souvenir shop with gifts, many of which are made by local craftsmen and artists utilizing native materials, Local Tongan Family Owned and Operated
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good27%
  • Average1%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“tongan feast” (8 reviews)
“high tide” (6 reviews)
LOCATION
Neiafu, Tonga
CONTACT
Website
+676 71-048
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 85 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We went for the Tongan feast here. For 50TOP, the food isn't that great. And not worth it at all if you're vegetarian - but that goes for the whole of Tonga too. The owner is a very interesting guy who chats to everyone there....More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
EneioRepresentative, Owner at Ene'io Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your comments on your recent visit with us. I found it unfair that you did not taste much of our Tongan feast (since you are a vegetarian) and said it was not so great for T$50, unlike the many reviews we received....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

It is hard to get authentic Tongan food as there are no Tongan restaurants. The hosts, beach setting and food are just great. It's a magical little spot.More

Thank KenH19562017
EneioRepresentative, Owner at Ene'io Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your kind comments of your visit to 'Ene'io beach. We are happy that you found authentic Tongan food with us, as we aim to share part of our culture in the food we serve our guests. Great to know you found our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited the Botanic Gardens at Ene'io last Friday, and had a fantastic time. Lucy organised a car to come and pick me up and deliver me to the Gardens, which are about a 15 minute drive. Was met by Haniteli Fa'anunu, who created the...More

Thank robertmacaulay
EneioRepresentative, Owner at Ene'io Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your wonderful and well said comments on your experience when visiting Tonga’s only botanical garden while in Vava’u islands. It is very touching to know that you appreciate the knowledge and experience of the founder, Haniteli Fa’anunu. He loves to share the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to the "Tongan feast". This was the most disappointing thing on Vavauu. Grossly overpriced at $49 TOP -- you can get an excellent meal downtown for less. Worst part was flies flies flies flies flies flies everywhere. Do yourself a big favour and...More

Thank Ian K
EneioRepresentative, Owner at Ene'io Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comment Ian. Everyone has been raving about our Tonga feast but this has not been your experience. You gave me the exact amount of $70 for two people and advised you of our revised price, and you were disappointed. As I...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a tour in the Botanical garden guided by Haniteli Fa'anunu, the founder and former minister of Agriculture. The gardens hold more than 500 different species, distributed along 22 acres among the coast. As a biologist I really enjoyed the opportunity to see such...More

Thank Silvia M
EneioRepresentative, Owner at Ene'io Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your lovely feedback and sharing your pleasant experience on your tour of the garden guided by Haniteli Fa'anunu. The gardens is a result of Haniteli's lifetime commitment and is a real treasure to have you as a biologist to enjoy the opportunity...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked the Tongan feast on a Sunday here. It's the only option on a Sunday that we know of as mostly eveything is closed on this day in Tonga. The food was great and the staff very friendly and informative about local customs and...More

Thank Vanessa T
EneioRepresentative, Owner at Ene'io Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you good feedback and choosing to book on our Sunday feast. Great feedback on the food, staff and learning about the local customs and local food. Visit us again should you be returning to Vava'u.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the botanical garden on a Sunday so the gardens were closed. However, I had a fabulous time exploring the beach and tide pools around the lagoon and the owner, Hani, provided a wonderful buffet and conversation. The buffet was great and included pork,...More

Thank Hydrolagus
EneioRepresentative, Owner at Ene'io Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your good comments about your experience at ‘Ene’io Botanical Garden & Beach. The only day the garden is closed is Sunday, but we are very happy that even that you still explored the beach, tide pools and...More

Reviewed 10 July 2017

I contacted the Ene'io Botanical Garden a few days before our large group was arriving via boat and was so happy that they were able to arrange a feast and cultural performance for us on the evening of our arrival. The setting was beautiful and...More

Thank Carolyn K
EneioRepresentative, Owner at Ene'io Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for such lovely and wonderful feedback on your experience at 'Ene'io Botanical Garden with your large group visit for your feast and cultural performance arranged before you arrived to Vava'u. Truly appreciate your comments on how beautiful and cozy the setting was, and...More

Reviewed 13 May 2017

To see the garden you are required to take a guided tour, which lasts approximate 1 - 1.5 hours. The tour is wonderful, and is quided by the founder Haniteli Fa'anunu, former Minister of Agriculture for Tonga. He has incredible stories of how he developed...More

2  Thank reneev67
EneioRepresentative, Owner at Ene'io Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thank for your comment following your tour at ‘Ene’io Botanical Garden, and that you found the tour to be truly wonderful. We noted you wanted to stroll on your own to take photos, but we are very concern with safety of our visitors. Safety is...More

Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

These gardens were a great way to see the range and variety of vegetation typical of this area. The scenery was magnificent and everything appeared 'natural'. I believe it to be the only botanical garden in Tonga so it is unique. Is only a short...More

9  Thank paug178
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bellavista Cafe & Restaurant
133 reviews
7.35 km away
Mango Cafe
132 reviews
7.33 km away
Aquarium Cafe
154 reviews
7.30 km away
Cafe Tropicana
108 reviews
7.41 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tongan Expeditions Dive & Whale Watching
93 reviews
7.38 km away
Dolphin Pacific Diving and Whale Watching
105 reviews
7.38 km away
Beluga Diving Vava'u
32 reviews
8.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
KrispyPlymouth
10 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from EneioRepresentative | Property representative |
We normally advise cruisers to book our tour as provided on the cruise ship brochure to avoid disappointment. This is because our tour organised by the Travel Agent and P&O is our main focus on the day. We do not give... More
0
Votes
Robyn P
24 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from EneioRepresentative | Property representative |
Thank you Robyn for your enquiry. We can arrange a taxi to pick you and the others, or you can join our tour through booking in the brochure within P&O cruise ship. Let me know if you want us to arrange a taxi to pick you... More
0
Votes