Graune Pet Farm & Play Centre

Graune Pet Farm & Play Centre, Ballyhaunis: Hours, Address, Graune Pet Farm & Play Centre Reviews: 4/5

Graune Pet Farm & Play Centre

Graune Pet Farm & Play Centre
4
12:00 - 18:00
Monday
12:00 - 18:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 18:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 18:00
Thursday
12:00 - 18:00
Friday
12:00 - 18:00
Saturday
13:00 - 17:00
Sunday
13:00 - 17:00
About
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
The area
Best nearby
We rank these restaurants and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location.
Attractions
2 within 10 kms
Popular mentions

4.0
89 reviews
Excellent
52
Very good
15
Average
6
Poor
4
Terrible
12

Neil T
Westport, Ireland97 contributions
Aug 2021
We had an enjoyable family visit to Graune Pet Farm (our first time since the venue reopened following lockdown). All the attractions were open (including the indoor softplay - a real hit with our young girls!) The only restriction was their indoor cafe was takeaway only, but that was no problem as their are plenty of picnic areas around the site (covered and uncovered). The animals all looked very healthy. happy, and well-cared for. There was a great buzz and feeling around the place. Lots of families having fun and enjoying the attractions. So a big thank you to the staff team there!

Just two minor points:

1. Indoor slide: a lady in an orange t-shirt sidled up to me when my girls were going down the big indoor slide and gave them some guidance/correction on how to use it properly. i thought this lady was a Mum! I was initially a bit taken aback, but I soon twigged that she was a staff member. Some identification/branded workwear with Graune Pet Farm printed on it or something would be very helpful to avoid the wrong impression given to customers!

2. There was a plethora of signage around the site which was confusing, un-coordinated and looked very unprofessional. A lot of handwritten signs posted up around the place. These could be tided up and improved with a little bit of help. I have advice in event management, marketing and organisation, so I'm very welcome to offer my input! (Sorry for being cheeky there!)

Above all it is a great place for a day out, and so glad you've re-opened as Graune is the only type of this facility in the Galway/Mayo areas.

We'll definitely visit again! Thank you :)
Written 17 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Shauna27
1 contribution
Aug 2021
Had a fabulous day at Graune pet farm recently. Great opportunity to meet up with family and friends. The children had a super time with so many activities for them to do from the little ones to the older ones. They loved the animals and enjoyed feeding them. The outdoor dining facilities were great and the staff couldn't do enough for us.
Thanks a million to all involved and we will definitely be back.
Written 17 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rachel C
1 contribution
Aug 2021 • Family
Back from a wonderful day at Graune Pet farm. We were over for a visit from England and it’s the first thing my kids wanted to do and once again the place didn’t let us down. My children throughly enjoyed the day, plenty to see and do and the staff are top class, so friendly. We had some food in the cafe and it was amazing, so fresh and so reasonably priced. My Daughter lost her bracelet and the staff couldn’t be more helpful and within 10 minutes the bracelet was found. As we went to make our way home we had a flat tyre and Michael came out and happily changed the tyre for us. We couldn’t have asked for more. Brilliant day out for the family, the kids are already asking to go back 😊
Written 12 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

eva P
1 contribution
Aug 2021 • Family
Visited here with my family while on holidays in Westport. Having looked at tripadvisor before visiting i was unsure if we were going to enjoy the day so we went with an open mind. however we all had the best day out. There was so much to do here. They had a massive variety of animals all of which were in a great condition in my opinion so i don’t understand what the people in the previous reviews were referring to. There was a staff member who let us hold the puppies and rabbits and was very helpful. We were given a bag of food to feed the animals which my children loved. The play facilities are great. Staff were all friendly and helpful. My youngest cried when we were leaving and asked if we could go back again before the end of our holidays. We just wish we arrived sooner.
Written 12 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Claire K
5 contributions
Aug 2021 • Family
I have gone to loads of pet farms around Ireland and this is by far the worst!! The welfare of the animals is terrible. Puppies in a pen who looked beyond bored. Goats whose spines were jutting out and were completely underweight. A mastiff type dog chained up with no kennel for shelter. The raccoon and ferret enclosures looked like they were made by a novice. Most of the hand sanitisers were empty. The Indoor slide/play area with sand As a floor is a health hazard. We left after 5 minutes and all 8 of us were coughing from the dust from the sand. The bathroom next door to it had no soap. The kids did enjoy the indoor play area. My 7 year old went in before us therefore before we got to see the sign regarding wearing socks which he hadn’t on - As I went in I saw an older lady speaking to him in a way you don’t speak to kids about the sock situation, very unprofessional. On a positive the girl selling the drinks and ice cream was very pleasant. Overall avoid this place, my heart breaks for the animals!!
Written 5 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Carol G
Claremorris, Ireland2 contributions
Jun 2021
Reading the reviews I can only think, were we in the same place?? I had a bad feeling when I saw the filthy dirty fish tank in reception, there was food laying on the bottom and the water hadn't been changed in I don't know how long. I actually thought we had gone the wrong way as all the enclosures were empty. There were goats and chickens running around. A few rabbits in a cage. A pig badly housed with no water or mud on a seriously hot day., Two Llamas, 3 emus. Really depressed parrot in a filthy cage and a Guinea Fowl who just walked round in circles in his feeding dish poor thing. There was 1 racoon whose sleeping area looked like something a child would make at playschool . There were chickens that were badly pecked and partly bald.The notices on the enclosures if there were any were faded and unreadable. There was a dirty paddling pool that little ones could ride a trike on and go-carts no one older than 4 would go on. There were plenty of staff serving drinks/food and taking money but no one watching the animals, I personally saw a man reach in and take an animal out. It bears no resemblance to the website. You might enjoy it if you have little ones in the play parks and don't really care about animals. For anyone that does or has visited a well run one where the animals are clean, healthy and happy, you would seriously be wasting your money.
BTW this was at the beginning of the day. Wasn't enough to see, do for longer than an hour and a half unless you sit spending money on food/drinks while little ones are in park. The young lady serving drinks/food was extremely friendly and older lady was pleasant.
I
Written 27 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Carol firstly I would like to start off by thanking you for your repot in which you sent into the department. You will be happy to know we had them out to us and they found that all animals were in good condition, the only thing was that there was a little straw in the chickens water. We have been having problems with our fish not eating all their food but don’t worry we have had a word with them and they have ensured us that they will eat all they get from now on. Most of our animals are outside and not housed indoors to limit the number of people that would be gathering around to view them in a more enclosed space. I’m sure you can understand this in these current times. You can be assured our animals always have water, it may not always be visible to customers but there are a number of water areas in every enclosure. I presume you were not inside the pigs hut to see this ? You can be assured our parrot Jimmy is not depressed and gets all the care and attention he requires. Our ‘paddling pool’ which is used for our paddle boats may have some sand in it from time to time but this is not dirt, is cleaned out regularly and is a big hit with our visitors. The age range to use this is 3-10. We always have at least one staff member on the farm watching over the animals. As you can imagine there can’t be one at every place around the farm, that’s why they do be floating around all through the out the day. We do have signs up stating not to hold animals without a member of staff but unfortunately not everyone obeys this. In relation to the amount of time spent on our farm we find everyone makes of it in their own way. When families are there to enjoy a day out they may spend 4 - 6 hours with us. However if you are there to try and find fault in everything you will not enjoy your day. It’s unfortunate that you did not raise your concerns on the day of your visit as if the concerns about the welfare of our animals were true they would be in a far worse condition by the time we would see your report. However we do know that people who like to portray a false image of a family business usually like to do it from behind a screen with fake accounts such as the ‘joebloggs’ email address you used to also email us. 99.9% of our customers have nothing but good things to say about our business and this is easy to see but we always welcome customers feedback when it is genuine. Thank you for the nice comment about our friendly employees who work in our shop. Us selling these drinks and food is what pays her wages and we are happy to employ young people in our local area. Families are also welcome to bring their own food and picnics and eat them at our picnic benches so you can sit watch your children without spending a cent in our shop.
Written 12 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

vwgolf17
41 contributions
Aug 2020 • Family
We went here lately with our young kids...such an out dated place..our 6 year old actually called it a chicken farm!! It's not really a pet farm at all...few animals in cages..then some in fields...which is not unusual for Ireland! But there was not even a cow!!. Most of the cages had nothing in them. They give you food to feed the animals and don't say which ones!
There was a girl outside cleaning the numerous swings and slides they have. The "go karts" or ride on's are old and don't really work. The sand pit looked filthy so I would not let them go in it..
They wanted extra 3euro for kids to go on the water boats so I wasn't going to pay that so didn't mention it to them.
The only thing that the kids enjoyed was the play zone inside. Although there was an awful smell of bleach...there was a girl spraying areas of the play zone with it! I even seen other people make remarks about the bleach...could they not use a sanitizer spray like most places. It badly needs to be refurbished and not even a MAP or Signs to show people where things are in the farm...
We were at leahys farm in cork two months ago and there is a massive difference...they could take a lead out of their book!
Written 24 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi  We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent trip to us. We have a wide range of animals on our farm such as Emus, Llamas, Alpacas , Owls, Pigs, Goats, Sheep, Rabbits, Parrot, Geese, Ducks, Peacocks, Kittens, Snakes, Deer, Raccoons, Horses and Donkeys to name a few.  Sorry to hear you were disappointed that you could not see a cow, but as you stated these can be seen in fields all around Ireland. Some of our enclosures are empty from time to time as we rotate the animals around.   All of our animals eat the food which is given on arrival. There are always staff on the farm (such as the one you mention cleaning the swings/ slides) which would have been happy to have answered this question for you if you had asked.     As I am sure you are aware, we are currently in the middle of a global pandemic. Due to this we are required to clean all our facilities constantly throughout the day to protect both our staff and customers.  The spray we use is a sanitiser and not bleach (bleach would stain people's clothes).  There may be a little smell from this but I am sure most people would prefer this than contraction the Virus.     We have been receiving nothing but good reviews since we reopened in regards to the cleaning of our facilities making our customers feel safe, and also the standard of our outdoor facilities.    Once again, I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit, but it is a pity you did not raise these concerns with management when you were visiting.     Kind Regards  
Written 26 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Aoife029
Westport, Ireland6 contributions
Aug 2020 • Family
Great day out with the kids. Go early and you’ll be there for the day. Loads of spots to picnic. Staff lovely and very helpful. We’ll definitely be back again
Written 8 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

May0320142014
Galway, Ireland6 contributions
Nov 2019 • Family
My husband and I visited this pet farm with our 10 month old baby and two and a half year old toddler and we can't rate it highly enough.
It was such a pleasant experience from the moment we arrived until the moment we left.

The layout of the farm is great with loads of animals to see and feed. Its lovely to stroll through the different areas, always a surprise around the next corner.

The family run nature of the farm is very evident with very friendly and committed staff in all areas.

The food in the canteen was excellent, soft play area a big hit and the added bonus of Peppa Pig making an appearance on the day was the cherry on top.

All in all, a fabulous pet farm and great way to spend a day with the kids.

Thank you for a lovely experience.
Written 2 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rachel C
Castlebar, Ireland12 contributions
Sep 2019
The play centre is great, kids loved it. super slide.
Toilets do need a little more care. they are pretty dark but they are outdoor toilets.
Lovely size park for a stroll with kids. not too long and well laid out.

Most animals were in good condition and seemed happy enough but there were a few kittens that seemed to have eye infections. Some couldn't even open their eyes. And it didn't look like they were been treated. they were roaming about mingling with other animals. This concerned me about their care and also my kids handling them. There was no one about the pet farm to ask about this.

Some indoor enclosures are quite small. I could hear dogs barking in doors from locked sheds but couldn't see didn't them. We didn't see any dogs or pups on the farm. They're may have been a reason for this, I don't know. but made me suspicious.

Generally it was a good day out. but would like to see a little more care to some animals.
Written 7 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi thank you for your review, I am glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your visit to us. The kittens in question had been dropped into us like this, we had them to the vet who treated them and they are now gone to their new homes. The dogs barking were dogs that were in for boarding while their owners were away and get walked numerous times throughout the day. We don’t have dogs of our own on the farm. Thanks again for your review and We hope to see you again soon.
Written 20 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 89
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Graune Pet Farm & Play Centre

Graune Pet Farm & Play Centre is open:
  • Mon - Fri 12:00 - 18:00
  • Sat - Sun 13:00 - 17:00


Restaurants near Graune Pet Farm & Play Centre: View all restaurants near Graune Pet Farm & Play Centre on Tripadvisor