We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tokara

R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
+27 21 808 5900
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Run!! [the other way]

Are you tired of being greeted and respected? Do you think the manager should ask your toddler... read more

Reviewed 6 July 2017
Joa_he
,
Brasilia, DF
Awesome venue,different,food........

Sometime I wonder how people can have so much arrogance in business,yet they survive,if they were... read more

Reviewed 4 July 2017
coen_12
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
via mobile
Read all 361 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
TOKARA is a picture perfect destination which offers visitors a unique combination of award-winning wines, brandy and olive oils, a gallery of fine art, a restaurant featuring one of South Africa’s leading chefs as well as a delicatessen.
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“olive oil” (19 reviews)
“great art” (7 reviews)
“wine tasting” (69 reviews)
Opens in 30 min
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 18:00
LOCATION
R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 808 5900
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Stellenbosch
from US$24.70
More Info
from US$24.70
More Info
from US$57.90
More Info
from US$63.70
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"olive oil"
in 19 reviews
"great art"
in 7 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 69 reviews
"modern winery"
in 5 reviews
"lovely tasting room"
in 4 reviews
"baked alaska"
in 4 reviews
"huge fireplace"
in 3 reviews
"stunning views"
in 11 reviews
"excellent food"
in 6 reviews
"sauvignon blanc"
in 8 reviews
"table mountain"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful estate"
in 7 reviews
"great setting"
in 3 reviews
"great wine"
in 7 reviews
"wine estate"
in 8 reviews
"different wines"
in 3 reviews
"bread"
in 3 reviews
Filter

41 - 50 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2017

Are you tired of being greeted and respected? Do you think the manager should ask your toddler to pipe down when she is talking to another toddler? Do you want to have something spoil the rest of your trip to Cape Town? Well, do they...More

Thank Joa_he
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2017

At TOKARA our aim is to make our visitors feel welcome and to create a lasting memorable experience, so we're naturally concerned to read your review. If you could provide information regarding which venue on our estate and the date you visited - this would...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Sometime I wonder how people can have so much arrogance in business,yet they survive,if they were the best in the World,maybe,but they don't have the best. Guys stay on the ground,stay humble,we will try you one more time,nice olive oil tough,food.......?

Thank coen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Arrogance and condescension at its worst. After five visits here over the last six or seven years - yes I keep hoping that thing will change because of its gorgeous location! - it becomes ever more unpleasant. The view of the management and staff in...More

Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 June 2017

Hi Robert, I'm so sorry to hear about your experience and certainly not the impression we would like to have created. Please accept my sincere apologies, I do hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you to our estate, ensure you have...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We showed up at Tokara for a wine tasting a little before sunset. The place itself is gorgeous; marvelous decoration/art, huge fireplace; truly is a 5 star establishment. As for the wines we tried; nothing kept our attention. Pretty average I would say. We also...More

Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Very much the most expensive tasting fee we've encountered in Stellenbosch/Franschhoek, by a factor of two or more. Directors Reserve Red is superior and the pours were generous.

Thank WildBillSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Visited with colleague. Wine tasting requirements were not confirmed by staff, and I ended up being billed double. R150 for sipping 3 wines ? Last time I visit Tokara or buy any of their produce; plenty of other good estates around that are intent on...More

Thank rossvdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 May 2017

I'm sorry to hear about your experience. If you could contact us directly so that we can arrange for a refund on your double billing (the cost should have been R75 for the three wines) and to get more details on the service you received....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

This was our 2nd vineyard stop and very different. A modern approach with space, artwork and views. Leroy was very friendly and did an excellent job of explaining each wine and it's processes. The experience was paced well and allowed us time to thoroughly enjoy...More

Thank Vicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 May 2017

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time taken to provide the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Tokara was a great contemporary wine stop. Their service was good, and they had a great art collection. We completed one of their wine tastings and enjoyed their wines a lot. The view over the vineyards added to the entire experience, worth a visit.

Thank DBMadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Myself and a large group visited here last Monday on a day ling wine tasting. We never did the tasting here as we had done that three years ago. We ate at a table outside the deli and its such a wonderful place to enjoy...More

Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Whenever we take our clients for wine tasting, even if we are on a tight schedule, Tokara always seem to to the list. With a high rating for their red wines, it is a must visit!

Thank Waheed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 hotels in Stellenbosch
The Hydro at Stellenbosch
108 reviews
2.08 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
645 reviews
3.34 km away
The Beautiful South Guest House
148 reviews
4.85 km away
River Manor Boutique Hotel
123 reviews
5.62 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Delaire Graff Restaurant
2,003 reviews
.41 km away
Tokara Restaurant
1,234 reviews
.14 km away
Indochine
454 reviews
.46 km away
Tokara Delicatessen
317 reviews
.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
Delaire Graff Estate
520 reviews
.42 km away
Thelema Mountain Vineyards
93 reviews
1.10 km away
Zorgvliet Wine Estate
71 reviews
1.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Evie P
16 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Culptivated | Reviewed this property |
No lunch that I am aware of but you can arrange a chocolate and tapenade sampler that is fantastic!
0
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor