We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden

Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
+27 21 808 3054
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely surroundings

Walk to Botanical Gardens right in the middle of Stellenbosch. Lovely food. Friendly staff... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Renette F
,
Sandton, South Africa
Beautiful Gardens

Lovely place! My first time there and it lived up to expectations. I will definitely be coming back... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
pamochungo
Read all 630 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden, located in the historical center of Stellenbosch, is the oldest university botanical garden in South Africa. This compact Garden houses an enormous diversity of plants, both indigenous to South Africa and exotic. The Garden is open to the public and a R10 admission applies. Although the Garden does not have a visitor parking area, a parking lot is located adjacent to the garden in Van Riebeeck Street.
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good40%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bonsai trees” (33 reviews)
“water lilies” (17 reviews)
“tea garden” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 808 3054
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Walk to Botanical Gardens right in the middle of Stellenbosch. Lovely food. Friendly staff. Lovely gardens and lots of birds. Definitely a place to visit.

Thank Renette F
Reviewed 5 days ago

Lovely place! My first time there and it lived up to expectations. I will definitely be coming back again soon

Thank pamochungo
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Although a small botanical gardens it is well worth a visit it's an easy walk round even for disabled people like myself. There is a wide variety of plants from the area with some lovely blooms. We spent about an hour walking around there is...More

Thank Bobbishton
Reviewed 1 week ago

Right in the middle of the town Stellnbosch there is a hidden heaven under the name of botanical garden.Since it is part of the university all the work has been done in scientific way.There is a cafe house as well with a quite setting .

Thank ruhetg
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been coming here for years, and always enjoy it. The restaurant /terrace under the bamboo trees is the right place to chill if you need to get away from it all.

Thank Leobrew
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It only costs SAR10 to get in. For students and staff of the university free. There are benches to quietly sit and look at the plants. The cafe Katjepiering offers afternoon tea and interesting lunches. Great place to take photos too.

Thank Anne B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A nice place even during the winter. Interesting and pleasant at the same time the garden offers an occasion to stay in a wonderful location surrounded by flowers in any season.

Thank valerio c
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The trees are amazing redwood, cedar, etc. The bonsai were the best I've seen. Really enjoyed my time there.

Thank Kim R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had already visited Kirstenbosch in Cape Town and been disappointed that there wasn't much in flower (being winter) so had no great expectation for this one. But with the cheap admission we thought it worth a look, even though it was pouring with rain....More

Thank banstead
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It was our first time in the Botanical Gardens for our family photoshoot. We had an amazing time, the kids loved seeing all the different plants and trees and loved being able to walk on the different pathways and playing hide and seek. We will...More

Thank Aehrintyler13
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Helena's
783 reviews
.33 km away
Fat Butcher
363 reviews
.13 km away
Basic Bistro
640 reviews
.34 km away
De Warenmarkt
80 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Stellenbosch Village Museum
269 reviews
.20 km away
Stellenbosch University
119 reviews
.55 km away
Stellenbosch Wine Route Visitor Information Centre
23 reviews
.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chelsea D
12 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Unfortunately wedding photography is not allowed. Other shoots are allowed with prior arrangement.
0
Votes
Twinkle-Eyez1
24 February 2016|
Answer
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Good day. Unfortunately we do not allow picnics in the garden. Photography is allowed but prior permission is required for any commercial photo shoots.
0
Votes
JABDover
30 December 2015|
Answer
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Apologies for the very late response. Probably to late for you but hopefully it might still help someone else. There are trains from Cape Town directly to Stellenbosch. The station is however a few blocks away from the... More
0
Votes