We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African Dive Adventures

Features Animals
Margate 4275, South Africa
+27 82 456 7885
Website
Save
Review Highlights
not very reliable

We were diving in winter and if they don't have enough divers they tell you they don't go diving... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
NataliaRodriguezPar
,
Linares de Ribadesella, Spain
Amazing dives

Very friendly, divemasters were great, allowed freedom to explore whilst maintaining good dive... read more

Reviewed 13 March 2017
James L
via mobile
Read all 18 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
We offer a professional, safe service to experienced divers who want to dive with sharks on Protea Banks. This reef is for experienced divers only and not suited for beginners. We also offer our Sardine Run program from end June to end July on the Wild Coast. This is suitable for anyone, diver and non diver. We have perfected our Sardine Run over many years of experience and can offer an unforgettable, safe ans successful experience. 21 years in business
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good0%
  • Average5%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 06:00 - 18:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Margate 4275, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 82 456 7885
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were diving in winter and if they don't have enough divers they tell you they don't go diving the previous afternoon so you cannot change plans. We didn't book directly with them, another company did. They booked 5 reef dives and a baited and...More

Thank NataliaRodriguezPar
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Very friendly, divemasters were great, allowed freedom to explore whilst maintaining good dive safety and procedures. Also I can't describe how good diving with sharks is...every dive delivered! 100% going back.

Thank James L
Reviewed 9 January 2017

My husband and I wanted to spend a night in Margate and do a shark dive for his birthday. We stayed and dived with African Dive Adventures. Firstly, their accommodation is top class! They have a self catering flat in ramsgate, and a villa in...More

2  Thank Karen W
Reviewed 26 August 2016

My brother and I spent a week diving on Protea Banks with these guys, and they are a very good operation. Protea isn't easy diving, and the team at African Dive Adventures expect you to be a good diver, so they don't patronise or mollycoddle...More

Thank RossMackenzie
Reviewed 10 July 2016

My wife and I joined them for their Sardine Run 2016 as part of our honeymoon. They were the only dive operator operating at Coffee Bay. right from the moment we landed at the airport, they did all they could to make us feel at...More

Thank oystershred
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Diving with African Dive Adventures is a highlight of your diving education. It takes experience and serenity to master the challenges... rough sea, sharks and current. The main person responsible for your security is you! On the other hand you will have a phantastic experience...More

Thank Kondor-99
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Great Team offering the best diving at protea banks off shelly beach, the world renowned shark-diving reef safety first then great fun shark dives

Thank karen p
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Spent a few days diving with African Dive Adventures out of Shelly Beach. Had an awesome baited dive with black tips and bull sharks. Saw schooling hammerheads on another dive. We were a little unfortunate with the heavy winds and choppy seas, so that limited...More

Thank trip-chick-munich
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Unserviced equipment, bad manners (so bad in fact that they wouldn't allow me to use the bathroom!) unprofessional attitude. All of these things combined to give me a terrible experience, I would not suggest this dive centre to anyone, steer well clear!More

3  Thank wolf946
Siridive, Owner at African Dive Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Thank you for your comments. Every comment is important to us and hopefully we can learn from it and become a better dive centre. In this case however we can't agree with the writer. You simply do not walk out of an intensive dive briefing...More

Reviewed 29 November 2015

Still feeling quite misty eyed after without doubt the best dive of our lives..... Perfect visibility on the baited dive on South Protea presented us with hundreds and hundreds of hammerheads circling the entire 60 minute dive. Black Tips and Duskies swam in between us...More

1  Thank BoddersH
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Munchner Haus
83 reviews
.49 km away
C-Bali
146 reviews
.31 km away
Mojo'z
36 reviews
.91 km away
John Dory's
43 reviews
.97 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aqua Planet Dive Center and Charter
149 reviews
.27 km away
Riverbend Crocodile Farm
87 reviews
5.38 km away
Pure Venom
49 reviews
1.71 km away
Ster-Kinekor Shelly Centre
6 reviews
.46 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from African Dive Adventures staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit