We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Island Cruises - Day Tours

Puntarenas, Costa Rica
More
About Bay Island Cruises - Day Tours
Bay's Island Cruises Corporation begins when a young farmer, a worker of a maritime tourism agency, begins to dream about his own business. Today, more than 30 years later, Bay Island Cruises is a proudly 100% Costa Rican Capital Company, owned by Mr. Luis Fernando Sanchez Mora. At its beginnings, with the Bay's Princess yacht, the company was exclusively dedicated to sail to Tortuga Island, but, thanks to the demand, the idea of building a boat with greater capacity and comfort was born, to offer our customers exotic destinations within the Gulf of Nicoya. Today, we provide unforgettable experiences at impressive destinations by means of our high quality customer service and our highly trained personnel. During your journey with us, you will enjoy the lush natural attractions that our beautiful country offers.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 00:00 - 23:59
See all hours
Tours and Tickets by Bay Island Cruises - Day Tours

Full-Day Tortuga Island Cruise from San Jose

Leave behind the urban bustle of San Jose for the clear, aquamarine waters and unspoiled beauty of Tortuga Island on this full-day sailing adventure. Cruise on a yacht or catamaran through the Gulf of Nicoya to Tortuga and the surrounding archipelago, where protected forests, white-sand beaches, and pollution-free waters house an amazing array of plant and animal species. Enjoy a fresh lunch on board, sip tropical cocktails, and sway to live music as you sail through this picturesque island paradise.
Read more
14 hours
from US$135.00

Full Day Tour to Tortuga Island from Jaco

Discover the magic of a dream Island, Tortuga Island. It is located in the Gulf of Nicoya, 12 nautical miles from Puntarenas, Tortuga Island (called Tolinga by the indigenous people) has an area of 120 hectares and remains a protected forest; which, has enjoyed the Ecological Blue Flag for more than five years. This distinction is given to beaches in our country that have their waters free of contamination. Due to its geographical characteristics, its waters are turquoise in color and are optimal for swimming.
Our Catamaran has three different environments for your enjoyment: the main room with air conditioning, bar section and dressing rooms; Another area is the bow with a wonderful view of all the landscapes where we will sail; and, our upper deck, an area equipped for your rest; in which, you can enjoy a large jacuzzi.
Read more
12 hours 30 minutes
from US$125.00

Full Day Tour to Tortuga Island from San José

We are a pioneer company in the tours of the gulf islands, for which we have the highest quality standards, our boats being one of the largest in the country to mobilize tourists.

We have highly qualified personnel so that your experience is the best in the tours that the company offers you.

We have all the permits issued by the Costa Rican government authorities.

You and all the passengers will enjoy the best service you can find on a tour of our country.

Read more
10 to 12 hours
from US$108.00
215Reviews5Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 166
  • 28
  • 8
  • 4
  • 9
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Amparo B wrote a review 11 Jan
1 contribution
TERRIBLE. They told us to be there at 7:15 but the boat didn't leave until TWO HOURS LATER cause they were waiting for two tourist groups who showed up incredibly late. Two hours we could've spent at the island instead of being stranded on a boat. The boat was PACKED, no minimum distance between people in the middle of a pandemic. Really regret spending my money with them.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Dreamer25190865856, Supervisor de reservas y operaciones at Bay Island Cruises - Day Tours
Responded 1 week ago
Good afternoon, Ms Amparo. We regret the inconvenience but you did not travel with Comercializadora Bay Island Cruises, your trip was with the Isla Tortuga Fun Cruises tour operator. It is always a pleasure to serve you.
Read more
Kathia S wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
This was my first time visiting Costa Rica. This experience was amazing! The bus ride was spacious and comfortable. Seats reclined which is a plus! The boat was a blast. The food provided was delicious. The staff went above & beyond to accommodate everyone. DJ Will made sure he played music everyone enjoyed. He engaged with the dancers and took song requests. Fernando Arias was our guide and was very informative as we passed small islands. He was easygoing and such a pleasure to have a conversation with. I truly cannot express how much I enjoyed this tour of Isla Tortuga. The price was WELL worth it! Next time in Costa Rica, I will be booking with them again. PURA VIDA!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Monica S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bay Island Cruises - Day Tours
Responded 11 Mar 2020
On behalf of the Bay Island Cruises family, thank you very much for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your tour to Isla Tortuga in Bay style. We strive to offer unforgettable experiences in this tropical paradise. It will be a pleasure to serve you again!
Read more
Stephanie wrote a review Jan 2020
New York City, New York120 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
What a fun day! The boat was nice, clean, and big. You had room to move around, upstairs, downstairs inside, on the sides of the boat. They have food, snacks, and drinks that keeps going around. The staff is so accommodating and entertaining. They really make you have a good time aboard. The atmosphere, music, and comedy from the entertainers was well needed. Then you get to the island!! they have a walk out to the sand, you don't have to leave the boat in the water. They provide nice loungers. Lunch was also good, not mediocre. Then you get to enjoy the island. While on the island they really take care of you, checking on you. Providing activities, we did the snorkeling which was really good too. The equipment was really good, not old and dingy. We took a mini boat out to snorkel with shade, candy, and water. They also provide the banana boat which we did not do. Leaving the island, they wash your feet upon entering the boat. Then they have showers on the boat as well. It really can't get any better. Overall we enjoyed this tour and would recommend!! The best boat we ever been on! We departed from Jaco and this tour was recommended from our hotel.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Monica S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bay Island Cruises - Day Tours
Responded 7 Feb 2020
Hi Stephanie We are glad to read your comments and above all you will enjoy the trip to Isla Tortuga with Bay Island Cruises. We all strive to provide an unforgettable experience and spend an unforgettable day. Thanks again and we hope to assist you again. Best regards
Read more
jake wrote a review Dec 2019
2 contributions
Not a very professional service. They were trying to charge my credit card 95,000 US. It was supposed to be 95 dollars, no wonder why my credit card didn't work. 95,000 colones comes out to 167 US. Almost twice as much as what i was supposed to pay. The food was not good, both the booking company and the bay of island said it was excellent. They didn't have any cold water, not good for us gringos! Guess what our excellent breakfast was, a ham and cheese sandwich on cheap white bread. Wish i would have talked to more of my local friends, they say all of the excursions are rip offs and are way over imbelished. They even told us to bring warm clothes for the way back. It was 30 degrees celious on the way back. Because of their incompentance i had to spend a lot more money to get it out of the atm. I was assured i could pay with a credit card.... Not going to do anymore excursions becasue of this awful experience. Just the whole trip was bad not including the heat. I couldn't even use my drink tickets becasue they ran out of diet coke. Im a diabetic stop asking me after i tell you that if regular soft drinks are ok... or say no comprendo, no entinendo. I know what that means... probably not spelling them correctly but i dont care too look it up just for a review. So if you want an extremely over priced tour, incompentant staff, bad food, go ahead and book with them. I also missed my date that night because they weren't on time with arriving and leaving....
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Dreamer25190865856, Front Office Manager at Bay Island Cruises - Day Tours
Responded 16 Dec 2019
Good afternoon.   We appreciate your comments and respect your point of view regarding the service received. We apologize for the inconvenience with your card, we never tried to charge you that amount of money because obviously it goes out of any parameter, it was an error when typing the amount and it was corrected at the time. Thanks again for your comments, we are at your service with pleasure.
Read more
Diana C wrote a review Nov 2019
14 contributions
The day before the trip, they contacted us at 9 pm to tell us that they cancelled our trip and that they will re-schedule for the 02 of NOv 2019... They contacted us today to tell us that they need to cancelled again the trip for tomorrow as they decided to give the service to a Company at their employee... Now am asking for my money back and they said I need to wait at least 1 or 2 weeks to get it.....
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Dreamer25190865856, Director of Sales at Bay Island Cruises - Day Tours
Responded 5 Nov 2019
Good afternoon. My name is Marianella Fernández, Commercial Director. I´m sorry to inform you that you were cheated by a person who sold you the tour and left the money. This person is giving false information about my company; we have not canceled any tour. We are going to legally sue this person because is dirtying the name of Bay Island Cruises. We have already identified her... she cheated you and other people to
Read more
Previous