We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tortuga Island

Closed Now: 08:00 - 17:00
Open today: 08:00 - 17:00
Save
Share
Book In Advance
960
All photos (960)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good21%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“beautiful beach”(37 reviews)
“boat ride”(60 reviews)
“day trip”(47 reviews)
About
Closed Now
Hours Today: 08:00 - 17:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Puntarenas 00000, Costa Rica
Ways to Experience Tortuga Island
from US$120.00
More Info
from US$135.00
More Info
from US$125.00
More Info
Reviews (880)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
291
120
87
30
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
291
120
87
30
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful beach boat ride day trip zuma tours banana boat white sand costa rica clear water palm trees beach chairs gift shop wild boar sea life an umbrella saw dolphins nice lunch fruit
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 540 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

island was great the tour was prolly a 3 though. had we been with another tour prolly wouldve been a 5 the views are amazing at the beach

Thank Huapanguero
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved it! loved the island. the beaches super beautiful . lunch was provided. it was delicius. the captain and the rest of the crew super nice.

Thank PattyB1070
Reviewed 4 September 2018

We visited this island with Arenas Travel CR. They picked us up at the hotel and drove us to the port. There, we took a boat and we chased dolphins. On the way back we chased whales. While on the water, the guide explained to...More

Thank Valentin M
Reviewed 2 September 2018

This was about a 15 ride to the port in Puntaranus. Then we embarked on a 1 hour venture to the Isle of Tortuga.We saw dolphins, a whale and a sea turtle! Upon arriving a gentleman was making coconut drinks for a very reasonable price....More

Thank befrazr
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We did not know what to expect and we were pleasantly surprised. We went snorkeling and fell off the banana boat tube. We did a short hike about 25 minutes and took photos at the top of the look out point. We pet the pig,...More

1  Thank Eric F
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Great place for snorkeling and diving. Tour guide Daniel was fantastic at pointing out the great sites. Saw turtle, whales and crocodiles from the boat. Daniel is also a great historian and has lots of information to share!

Thank Patrick S
MCubero, General Manager at Tortuga Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Hi, We are glad you enjoyed so much your tour to Isla Tortuga. Tortuga island is surrounded by nature not only in land but marine life as well. Thanks, Mario C.

Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Beautiful beach..many activities...the staff is very friendly..great food ..fantastic trip..highly recommended...thanks Lucia Badilla for recommended this trip ..

Thank LeoSanchez22
MCubero, General Manager at Tortuga Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Hi, We are happy that not only you liked the island but also the service that you received. Thanks, Mario C.

Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

What did i pay 70usd for? Having a trip on a overcrowded boat? Snorkeling around a rock seeing some small fish in a dirty water? Being bullied by the guide because he has his schedule? Being on a island where half of it is prohibited...More

1  Thank Oli S
MCubero, General Manager at Tortuga Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Hi, We are sorry that you chose to buy your tour with an overcrowded boat. There are many different companies that offer different level of tours that match their economic possibilty and needs. It seems that your wants did not match what you bought. Food...More

Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

The boat that took us to the island was great and provided great entertainment. They had a fully stocked bar and a DJ playing great music. The issue is the actual beach. The sand is full of rocks (huge rocks) and the water is extremely...More

Thank JHK3078
MCubero, Manager at Tortuga Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Hi, We are sorry to hear that you had a tough day dealing with the ocean. Nature is unpredictable. Isla Tortuga is known for its calm turquoise waters. We are sorry you had to have one of those very few days with rough waters. Thanks,...More

Reviewed 1 August 2018

Think South Pacific Views. Wonderful food. Beautiful beach, not crowded so you are not running into people.

2  Thank reifam4
MCubero, Gerente at Tortuga Island, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Hi, We are proud that you put Isla Tortuga next to South Pacific Views. It is strange that a lot of people say the same thing, it must be true. Thanks for your comments. Mario C.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 22 nearby hotels
Vista Las Islas Hotel
259 reviews
5.74 km away
Los Delfines Golf & Country Club
21 reviews
13.02 km away
Barcelo Tambor
2,248 reviews
14.14 km away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
174 reviews
14.87 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 81 nearby restaurants
Restaurant Liz Seafood MACHO
56 reviews
6.74 km away
Vista Hermosa B&B Restaurant
60 reviews
15.92 km away
Marisqueria Las Vegas
29 reviews
7.17 km away
Mar y Sol
42 reviews
15.12 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 47 nearby attractions
Parque Nacional Curu
170 reviews
3.74 km away
Pura Vida Expeditions
83 reviews
14.91 km away
Montezuma Falls
1,210 reviews
23.75 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
koral2016
18 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from MCubero | Property representative |
Sorry for our delay. Water temperature is great, warm but cool enough to feel refreshing once you are in the water. Thanks, Mario C.
0
Votes