We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Ranweli Spice Garden

No 31 Gannoruwa-Muruthalawa Rd | Opposite The Suspension Bridge Of Peradeniya Botanical Garden. 800m Towards North, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
+94 81 2 387613
Call
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$143.00*
and up
Private Kandy Tour
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
New Ranweli Spice Garden is located in close proximity to Peradeniya Royal Botanical Garden ( Walking distance from the suspension bridge of peradeniya botanical garden)
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good25%
  • Average26%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“herbal tea” (11 reviews)
“free massage” (7 reviews)
Opens in 11 min
All hours
Hours Today: 08:30 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
No 31 Gannoruwa-Muruthalawa Rd | Opposite The Suspension Bridge Of Peradeniya Botanical Garden. 800m Towards North, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
CONTACT
Website
Call
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were shown around by an Ayurvedic doctor who was very knowledgeable and the tour was free. We would happily have paid for it. Walking in the garden, smelling all the oils and samples, and drinking our free delicious spice tea at the end -...More

Thank Rachel M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went there couple of days ago together with my girlfriend.. All i can say very bad experience with very bed storyline. Do you know “that” feel when you feel under pressure, when someone owns and spreads a very bad energy.. Looking you only as a...More

Thank Mateo L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The tour of the garden was good and informative. We were then taken upstairs and handed a piece of paper with all the natural potions they made for different 'conditions' along with a pen to mark the things that may interest you. We then were...More

1  Thank sandim203
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We got there at opening and the medicinal herbologist wasn't there yet so we missed out on some educational points of interest. However it is a nice garden where you learn about medicinal properties of plants and some ancient recipes for teas, infusions, creams, and...More

1  Thank SEVENSEAS_Media
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the review. To arrange a pick up from the town and book this tour please do send us an email on spicegardencli@gmail.com Don't hesitate to contact us

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our driver took us here and I was wary of overpriced nonsense. Turned out to be a highlight. Who knew turmeric was a natural hair remover? I spent far too much money here willingly and with no pressure. Tipped the masseuse as was needing a...More

Thank CFTphonehome
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the review. To arrange a pick up from the town and book this tour please do send us an email on spicegardencli@gmail.com Don't hesitate to contact us

Reviewed 16 December 2017

As suggested multiple times in the forum by the management of this garden, please do take their tuk tuk pick up service. It is indeed very affectionate and kind of them to arrange this especially when it comes to tuk tuk scams. We emailed them...More

Thank Ayan_Sarbadhikari
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear sir Thank you for your lovely review. Yes you can send us an email and arrange a pick up from Kandy town. Our email address is spicegardencli@gmail.com Thank you

Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

First thing to say is that you should definitely email and arrange free pick up from kandy Town. Email spicegardencli@gmail.com. We arranged this the evening before and as promised pradeep picked us up from the arranged location. After a short walk up a dirt track...More

Thank Rosie W
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear madam Thank you for your lovely review. Yes you can send us an email and arrange a pick up from Kandy town. Our email address is spicegardencli@gmail.com Thank you

Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

I hired a tuk tuk to visit this place and once I got there I payed the driver and asked him to leave. but the tuk tuk guy pretended like he didn't understand anything came behind me to the spice garden. I didn't mind it...More

2  Thank Lola F
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear Lola Thank you for sharing your experience with us. You can use google maps or the offline map ( maps.me) to locate us. Otherwise you can always send us an email to ask for a pick up from the town. Our email address is...More

Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Basically a classical tuk tuk driver forced stop rip off. I found the same products (different brand, same containers) at the Kandy market for a 10th of the price. I totally discourage to buy.More

Thank longobard
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear sir We believe you have visited some other spice garden not new Ranweli spice garden. This is the reason we ask our guests to send us an email and arrange a pick up from the town .that way you know you visit the right...More

Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Perhaps the highlight of our time in Kandy was learning about spices with Asanka. He’ll make you laugh pretty much the whole time. Also found out that I’ve been lied to my whole life and I’ve never had real cinnamon before coming here!

Thank Travis S
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you for the review. For a pick up from the town please do send us an email on spicegardencli@gmail.com Don't hesitate to contact us

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 57 hotels in Kandy
Earl's Regent Hotel
857 reviews
1.92 km away
Royal Kandyan Hotel
29 reviews
2.57 km away
The Change Hotel
423 reviews
3.15 km away
Randholee Resort & Spa
434 reviews
3.33 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Fire Plate Restaurant
79 reviews
2.89 km away
Peradeniya Rest House
68 reviews
1.88 km away
Barista - Peradeniya
20 reviews
1.64 km away
Kapila Bakers and Sweet House
5 reviews
2.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
Royal Botanical Gardens
2,875 reviews
1.54 km away
Oak Ray Creations Batik
11 reviews
2.26 km away
Commonwealth War Cemetery
386 reviews
1.68 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Joshua J
10 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from newranweli | Property representative |
New ranweli spice garden is walking distance from the botanical gardens. You can first visit the botanical garden and make a small detour to New ranweli spice garden. Suspension bridge is the second entrance or the exit of... More
1
Vote
jerum
1 March 2017|
Answer
Response from rbs02 | Reviewed this property |
Yes I agree that they don't sell hair remover , please go through my review , I have mentioned exactly what is there..
1
Vote
newranweli
2 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from jerum | Property representative |
Dear sir No problem. We trying to educate the tourists that there are a lot of spice gardens and most of them are not listed on trip advisor. So they post their reviews on ours. We can solve it if the tourists can remember... More
1
Vote