We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: | Walvis Bay Waterfront, Walvis Bay 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
+264 81 147 3933
Website
Today
08:00 - 16:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 16:30
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

Sandwich Harbour is a part of the Namib Naukluft Park (Namibia) many have...

Sandwich Harbour is a part of the Namib Naukluft Park (Namibia) many have heard of but very few have ever visited. Giant sand dunes run straight into the ocean, creating breathtaking sceneries and a unique off road driving experience. Our vehicles take you to beautiful lookouts where you can feel the isolation Namibia and the Skeleton Coast are so famous for! We offer full and have day trips to Sandwich Harbour, as well as combination tours with Boat trips and Kayaking.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 253 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 122
    Excellent
  • 19
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Great experience

We had a great time while going the dunes next to the ocean up and down. Thanks to our driver and his long experience we felt safe all the time. We wouldn't have needed the buffet... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Leonietyra
,
Berlin, Germany

Similar Things to Do in Walvis Bay

Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 150: English reviews
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great time while going the dunes next to the ocean up and down. Thanks to our driver and his long experience we felt safe all the time. We wouldn't have needed the buffet with sparkling wine, besides this everything was perfect.

Helpful?
Thank Leonietyra
Theunis K, Owner at Sandwich Harbour 4x4, responded to this review

Thank you, Leonietyra, for your kind comments. More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We did the 1/2 day excursion with my girlfriend. What a disappointment for what have been one of the highlights of my earliest trip to Namibia in 2012. Where do I start... late, like sandwich harbour 4*4, 45 minutes late on the excursion because we needed to wait the morning boat tour to end and bring back tourists to come... More 

Helpful?
Thank Buzz128
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked an excursion with Sandwich Harbour 4x4 and sadly had to cancel. They responded immediately, refunded my booking completely and were incredibly professional. I regret not being able to experience their adventure, but based on this exchange I will DEFINITELY book with them on my next trip. Thanks very much.

Helpful?
Thank ljrjung
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this trip while on a cruise which docked at Namibia. It was most definitely on of the highlights of our 2 month vacation. The team Sandwich Harbour 4 x 4 are all excellent, nothing is too much trouble for them, they even came to pick us up from the "wrong gate" when we got off the ship!! Thanks... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacqui I
Theunis K, Owner at Sandwich Harbour 4x4, responded to this review

Dear Jacqui, thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to welcome you again for one of our activities sometime. More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Real off-reading in, for us, a traditional LandRover. No air-conditioning, soft suspension, no power steering, no electric Windows. So exciting. Driving up and down the most humungus mountains of sand and racing along the beach. The waves non-stop, rolling crests crashing in on the shore like galloping horses. Flamingoes, springboks, ostriches, jackals, one inquisitive seal and one small gecko made... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel A
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
404 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Nissan Ranger 4.8 with deflated tyres was our chariot. The driver guide was a true addict of dune driving and encouraged by a Swiss front seat girl passenger showed us all the tricks to make a voyage at a fairground switch-back utterly tame. But he knew where to find the wild life too. Lizards hidden under the sand, the Dune... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chrisbeeoxford
Walvis Bay, Namibia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Great fishing area for Kabeljou fish. Open fishing in the month of April to catch the big kabeljou and enjoy 4x4 trips alonng the beach.

Helpful?
Thank dean0i
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Took a 4x4 from the port along the waterfront to view the thousands of flamingos then headed to the desert dunes. We climbed up and down the dunes and witnessed quite a lot of wildlife, including: Ostrich, jackals, springbok and oryx. We also enjoyed a food and drink stop in the desert which was much appreciated. All in all a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor M
Theunis K, Owner at Sandwich Harbour 4x4, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to take you on one of our excursions again soon. More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

We did the full day tour to sandwich harbor with Herman and loved every second of it! We were lucky and were the only guests on that day. The guide was very funny and knew everything about the area! We stopped at different viewpoints, saw different animals and had the most perfect lunch right at the beach! Also vegetarian options... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeanine S
Theunis K, Owner at Sandwich Harbour 4x4, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2017

For bird and wildlife enthusiasts the Walvis Bay Waterfront, promenade and trip to the Salt Pans is absolutely beautiful with thousands of waders, flamingoes and pelicans to be viewed in the tidal flats between the desert and sea. Truly beautiful part of the world and a must to be included ina tour of Namibia.

Helpful?
1 Thank SueWinkler
Theunis K, Owner at Sandwich Harbour 4x4, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed our excursion!! More 

Travellers who viewed Sandwich Harbour 4x4 also viewed

Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 

Been to Sandwich Harbour 4x4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sandwich Harbour 4x4 and other visitors
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Sandwich Harbour 4x4 staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?