We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Pistoche Swimming Pool & Bar

Ban Phong Pheng Village | PO box 805, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
+856 71 260 943
Save
Review Highlights
One more tourist trap

One small swimming pool full of kids with no way to swim... Outside the city center. It will... read more

Reviewed 26 March 2016
A TripAdvisor Member
via mobile
goood

good space for swimming .not very big area but is fine, can drink good cocktail olso. raccomand it... read more

Reviewed 9 March 2016
POCKY S
,
Province of Cagliari, Italy
via mobile
Read all 151 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
La Pistoche Swimming Pools and Bars is the only private and public swimming pools in Luang Prabang. It is a complex of 4 swimming pools, 2 small one with water toys for kids and 2 bigger one for everybody. The 2 bigger swimming pools have 2 bars, one jaccuzzi and a small slide. If you are looking for a refreshing break from the heat, after sightseeing or an exhausting bicycle tour, jump into our pools and enjoy delicious cocktails. Away from the tourist traffic, you can find us nestled within a typical Lao Neighborhood in Ban Phong Pheng Village. We offer Happy Hours on Cocktails from noon to 7 pm. It cost 30,000 kips per persons (adults and kids) for entrance fee and you have to leave a deposit of 50,000 kips that will be refunded to you if you dont drink or eat anything, or will be substracted from your bill. Please be aware that in hot season, we do have a lots of locals, specially on Saturday and Sunday. Which means a lots of kids! We love the fact that foreigners and locals laotians can mix together. However, if you are looking for a very quiet place, we don t suggest our place. In hot season, there are some hotels that let visitors go. Also, be aware that week ends are very very busy. We suggest that you come early, we open at 10 am, if you wish to have some quiet time. Just a small note, we also have a lot of backpackers, some families have made some complains about this. Up to now, the backpackers that comes to the pool have been very kids friendly. My 7 years old daughter always end up making new friends that throw her up in the air. We also have a lots of Lao families. We do have free wi-fi, but we are not an internet cafe, so it is possible that our internet doesn t work... We priorize people having fun together and chatting together, than playing with their internet!!! Hope you enjoy!
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good35%
  • Average21%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“cool off” (11 reviews)
“tuk tuk” (18 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 22:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Ban Phong Pheng Village | PO box 805, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
CONTACT
+856 71 260 943
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 110 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
72
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

One small swimming pool full of kids with no way to swim... Outside the city center. It will cost 50,000 kip (30,000 pool + 20,000 tuk tuk or bike) + 50,000 deposit... for that !! One tourist trap to avoid!More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
spicyladymichigan, Owner at La Pistoche Swimming Pool & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Did you enter the complex ??? Because in March 2016, we were up to 4 swimming pools!!! At the entrance, we have one smaller pool to play water volley ball, than once you enter and go in the back, behind the house, there is a...More

Reviewed 9 March 2016

good space for swimming .not very big area but is fine, can drink good cocktail olso. raccomand it yes.

Thank POCKY S
Reviewed 4 January 2016

La Pistoche is the perfect escape from the heat and bussle of town. Whether you just want to relax, enjoy a nice lunch or simply play a game of petanque, it offers a nice alternative to cool off in a chilled environment.

Thank Laurent E
Reviewed 4 December 2015

The first hours we had the pool almost to ourselfs. The music was very modest lounge music, perfect for the occasion. Then some local kids came. Yes they made some noise while playing in the water, but hé, it's great for them to be able...More

Thank Sonja J
Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

We visited la pistoche hoping to have a cool off and escape the searing heat for a couple of hours. We were extremely appalled by the choice of music blaring over the loud speakers- whether or not the people running the place could not understand...More

Thank Walkie400
spicyladymichigan, Owner at La Pistoche Swimming Pool & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2015

I am so sorry! Unfortunately, I am not able to be at the pool at all time and I had my staff remove this stupid playlist a while ago.....I will chekc the whole computer again and remove it for sure.... I am very sorry, if...More

Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Good points: Looks like it does in picture Pool bar Two pools, a big one and smaller one Decent food. Including crinkle fries Good choice in a hot day Bad points: RIP OFF. By Laos standards this is expensive. You pay 30,000 kip entry, then...More

1  Thank Brow987b
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

Sadly, I wish it was like the pictures. The signs and location should be a pre warning to what to expect. Dirty pool you can't see through at all, packets, not many beds, little shade, charges for everything and poor service, this would even be...More

Thank Tony C
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

After walking around in sweltering heat for a few days the idea of a few hours sitting at a pool bar or lounging on a sun bed sounded amazing. We were a bit cautious after reading other bad reviews because of either too many children,...More

2  Thank Ashlee H
Reviewed 10 May 2015 via mobile

Beautiful swimming pool, nice to spend time on a hot day and there's a bar in the pool as well and happy hours.

Thank Tessie v
Reviewed 28 April 2015 via mobile

The placer is nice it tends to get crowded in the afternoon. There is not much shade. You can have some drinks and snacks by the swimming pool.

1  Thank Patricia M
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
525
254 reviews
.96 km away
Manda de Laos
493 reviews
.99 km away
Joys Restaurant
182 reviews
1.32 km away
Secret Pizza
89 reviews
.72 km away
Nearby Attractions
UXO Laos Visitor Center
490 reviews
.84 km away
Pha Tad Ke Botanical Garden
62 reviews
1.36 km away
Wat Aham
59 reviews
1.47 km away
Friends Visitor Center
26 reviews
1.37 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from La Pistoche Swimming Pool & Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit