Zeds Threads

Zeds Threads, Hanoi: Hours, Address, Zeds Threads Reviews: 5/5

Speciality & Gift Shops
14:00 - 18:00
08:00 - 17:00
08:00 - 19:00
08:00 - 19:00
08:00 - 19:00
08:00 - 19:00
08:00 - 19:00
14:00 - 18:00
Zeds Threads is a traditional tailor. Each garment is made by a single skilled artisan. Tailoring is our most popular service. We also stock one of the largest collections (in terms of sizing and fit) of men’s clothing for clients who want to buy off the rack. For example, in shirts we have three heights and two fits within each height. Our clothing is predominantly made from 100% natural quality fabrics that are prewashed to minimize shrinkage. Each item is handmade and carefully inspected to make sure it meets our high quality standards. Zeds Threads is based on fair trade principles and a respect for the environment. Our employment policy favours workers from disadvantaged backgrounds. Our goal is to deliver personalised and high quality garments at a fair price, and made under fair working conditions. Prices are very affordable, and provide great value. Please come to our store and try out our clothing for yourself and see our range of quality fabrics. You won't be disappointed.
Suggested duration
< 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Tours and Tickets

The area
Best nearby
We rank these restaurants and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location.
1,535 within 5 kms
85 within 5 kms

113 reviews
Very good

JM Expat 702
Bali, Indonesia1 contribution
Bespoke shirts made . Bespoke Suits are next...
Feb 2019
Warm and personal experience during our last visit to Hanoi. Despite it being a holiday and a hectic time the team at Zeds Threads produced eight wonderfully crafted long-sleeve shirts for me in an expedient time and at a very reasonable price as well. Bonus, they keep my measurements on file so they can produce whatever I need made when I fly through on business. I highly recommend them!
Written 6 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Chris W
5 contributions
Personal service
Jun 2019 • Business
Can’t fault the level of service from Zed’s crew. They make every effort to get your shirts made during your trip and co-operate with postage etc. Clothes are good quality. Some of the shirts I have been wearing for 5 years and still in great condition. Will only buy shirts from Zed from now on.
Written 30 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

2 contributions
great service! great threads!
May 2019
I went in for one shirt and was so pleased with what I received I ended up buying two more.

The service was great and the shirts look great and fit perfectly. As I said after purchasing one I went back the next day and purchased 2 more.

When I go back to Hanoi I will stop again and buy some new pants as well.
Written 30 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

New York12 contributions
Fantastic and always Fantastic
Sep 2019
I first went to Zeds Threads nearly a decade ago... and just again recently to tailor two shirts from fabric I'd fallen in love with. The shirts are perfect. Very fairly priced and the quality of cutting and sewing was perfect. Literally perfect. Then i brought a pair of jeans so riddled with holes they might have laughed me out of the store for the idea to patch and sew, but they did so excellently and fairly. A perfect place to find and make clothes. Great hearts. Great work!
Written 30 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Nam Tran
2 contributions
Bad fabric quality and bad service
Jan 2019 • Solo
I happened to know Zeds Thread by reading a post in Facebook. Having a desire on mind to have a new suit to replace my old ones, I did a careful search for its reviews on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to find a tailor made store with very highly reviewed scores, mostly from foreigners. Although my wife recommended me to visit renowned stores in town like Duc Nhuan or Cao Minh where I had my suits made before, I decided to visit Zeds Thread to have a try hopping that I will have a new style suit. My first impression was a small store with not many selections of style catalogs and fabrics. However, the store lady was very hospitable and kind. After consideration, I decided to order a suit with the fabric sample on the shelf. After one trial and about 2 weeks, the suit was completed and I was happy to receive it. I started using it then and found it comfortable to wear it. After using for two days and having the trousers washed by hands I was going to iron it for the second use. I was surprised to find that the trousers was worn out in its back rise. I then checked with the jacket and found that both sleeves cuffs were also worn out. I contacted the store and was explained by the lady store that the surface of the fabric that I ordered often had such problem. (I was surprised as I was not explained about this fact when I selected the fabric). Still not pleased with such explanation, I took a photo of the problem and sent it to the store via Facebook Messenger. The store lady then asked me to bring the suit back to the store. I did it and she accepted to receive it and promised to report the problem to the store owner. I called the store a week later and received an explanation that the owner was surprised about the problem too and he decided to make a suit for himself by the same fabric to check for the problem. I was happy to hear such a careful solution by the store. After a month of waiting without receiving any contact from the store I called the store again. The store lady explained that the owner was busy and had not time to try the suit that he made for himself and asked me to wait again. It has been more than 3 months since then and I still did not receive any feedback from the store. I called the store again and received a question from the store lady: “Did the owner contact you?”. I was very upset and asked her to ship my suit back to me immediately. The problem is that the fabric quality was very bad and the store should take responsibility for it but they did not want to do so. I paid for about $350 for the suit but received the one that I can use it only one time. This is a truth and I would recommend you take a very careful consideration for the fabric quality and service offered by the store.
Written 15 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Mr Nam Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear you were not happy. You ordered your suit on the 29/12/2018. The cost of the suit was US$329 based on today’s (17/07/19) exchange rate (VND 7,660,000). You chose one of our house fabrics, which we guarantee and have already tested. We also have a wide range of suit fabrics from catalogues. You claim that after wearing the suit for 2 days, you hand washed the pants and then noticed a worn out area when you were about to iron them. Then you looked at your jacket and noticed two worn out areas on your jacket. The jacket had not been cleaned in any way. These appeared on the jacket after 2 days of wearing. At the end of your review you claim you only used your suit one time. In total we are talking about 1 or 2 days of wear and tear. You brought the suit to our store on the 2/3/2019 so that I could inspect it. I carefully inspected the three areas. These were severely damaged. The actual fibres were damaged like they had been scrubbed repeatedly. I have over 10 years experience in buying and testing fabrics. (Washing cannot cause this kind of damage regardless of the quality of the fabric.) You were adamant that this was not the case, and that there was some fault with the fabric. We offered to retest the fabric, which you agreed to. We could not offer a specific time limit because to test the wearing out of a fabric takes time. A few days are not enough! Yes there was a slight delay in beginning the testing process, as we were very busy with existing client orders and I wanted to wear the fabric to test it. I'm sorry for that but existing orders have to be met first. I tested the fabric for three months (what you refer to as bad service). Why did it take so long? The fabric was resilient. Nothing I threw at it through wearing changed the fabric. I spend a fair bit of time on the back of motorbikes. The fabric was drenched in torrential downpours, sprayed by mud from passing vehicles, and was repeatedly under stress from body sweat and body salts in the Hanoi heat. There was no change to the fabric. There were no worn out areas. For the duration of the testing the fabric in question was withdrawn from our store. This was a very popular fabric. We cannot take responsibility for damage caused after the purchase beyond fair use, and normal wear and tear. I hope you understand. If there was any problem with the fabric we would have made you a new suit. You said that we did not take responsibility and that the fabric is bad. From my perspective we have gone beyond the call of duty to test the fabric and I am happy to meet with you to explain in detail what we did and to address every point you bring up in greater detail. Kind Regards Zed Founder
Written 30 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 contributions
Great service, not the best suit
Mar 2019 • Solo
I'll start off by saying that Hien's service was great - thank you Hien. However, I was disappointed with my bespoke suits. I came to Zed's because it had the highest reviews in Hanoi. My two main problems:

1) Workmanship - I was disappointed with the make of the suit. I did opt for the best quality suit (AUD $2000 for 2 suits, extra pants), but the workmanship is average. I've gotten a better made suit for AUD$400 from a top rated tailor in Phuket (Mistique). I was trying to get more fittings but they kept insisting it was unnecessary and seemed bent on a quick turnaround.

2) Price - The two wool suits for $2000 (extra pants however) is quite pricey for Vietnam. They also charged me extra for silk lining! Their standard lining is a cheap plastic material which makes a lot of noise. Don't get me wrong, I am happy to pay top prices for a top quality suit in South East Asia. This just misses the mark.

I would have given them 4 stars if the suits had cost AUD$300. But nothing is absolute, it's all relative to the price!

Written 3 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Mr Mensa Thank you for your review. We remember you well and were very surprised by your review given how happy you were when you left our store. We are saddened. Zeds Threads has a 100% guarantee on the workmanship. You are welcome to make a claim if you believe there is any problem with the workmanship! PRICE All our garments are made at an artisan quality. The difference in price is the fabric. You chose our most expensive fabric (an Italian brand with wool) and the price multiplied because you ordered two suits and an extra pair of pants for each suit. This fabric is still in the US$500 range for a single suit. We are not known for expensive fabrics. Yes we can order them but our clients do not prefer them. Most customers spend in the US$200 to US$300 range for a suit. These are our house fabrics. We don't sell much of the catalogue fabrics because we don't publicise them. Every item you see in our store is made from our house fabrics. WORKMANSHIP People may come to our store because of the reviews but they order from us because they can see the workmanship for themselves in the hundreds of garments on display. To the best of my knowledge we are the only tailor with this vast a range of completed products for clients to examine. We make sure every completed item is perfect and we ask our clients to check each item. At the completion of your order you very carefully inspected the workmanship on all six garments. Then you asked your sister to check the workmanship as well on every garment. You both approved the workmanship. So we are very surprised now that you are disappointed with the workmanship. We know from thousands of our clients that our workmanship does not deteriorate over time if it is cared for according to the cleaning instruction label attached to each garment. I'm perplexed and need more information to understand what exactly is the issue. What are you disappointed about? FITTING Before we can start an order a fitting schedule has to be agreed to. This was a quick turnaround because we had little time to complete your order before your flight! Staff had to work overtime. You had three fittings! The fitting process is over 70% of the service we provide in terms of time. At the final fitting your sister also came. Both you and your sister approved the final fit. You did not ask for any more changes at the last fitting. If you did we would have made them and mailed the clothing to you. You said you would have given us 4 stars if the suits had cost about US$200 (AUD$300). Are you talking per suit or for the total order? Do you expect Italian wool at this price? Our prices are fair and are on display for all customers to see. It is up to you if you agree to them or not. The workmanship is on display for all to see. Again it is up to you to accept or decline. Some customers don't want to check their final order. This was not so in your case. A general comment for all customers. If there are any issues please contact us via the website and clearly explain the issue. Then we can address it. I get all queries via the website. The staff don't have access to this. Kind Regards Zed Founder
Written 1 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

New York City, NY1 contribution
Identical dress and shirts
Apr 2019 • Solo
It is the second year I travel to Vietnam and the second year I go to Zeds thread. I am very happy with the quality of the fabrics. I’ve had my favorite shirts, tops, blouses and dresses made in different colours and very happy with the work quality. Highly recommend this artisan tailor!
Written 20 April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Hanoi, Vietnam4 contributions
Great service
Mar 2019 • Business
I have used Zed's for minor alterations but just recently had them make 2 new shirts for me. The result was great! They are always friendly and nice to work with.
Written 18 March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

2 contributions
Great design and errors fixed
Dec 2018 • Business
Zeds was recommended to me as the best place to go for bespoke suits. With just a few days grace, they created two wonderful professional suits for me that fit very well and gave me a good deal.

Unfortunately, the shirts were too large in the neck. After some initially frustrating back and forth, Zed himself stepped in and made sure everything was fixed to my requirements, confirming and communicating every step. I had long since left Vietnam, and he shipped them out to me at no additional cost.

The final timeline was slower than I had hoped, but the end result was quality all around and a perfect fit.
Written 7 March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

3 contributions
Creative Designs Made to Order
Mar 2019 • Solo
I take my ideas and some samples, along with fabric I love, and the experts at Zed's craft unique, stylish and perfectly fitting shirts and pants! I will come to Hanoi just for Zed's Thread when my wardrobe gets tired and needs an update!
Written 4 March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 106
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Zeds Threads

Zeds Threads is open:
  • Sun - Sun 14:00 - 18:00
  • Mon - Mon 08:00 - 17:00
  • Tue - Sat 08:00 - 19:00