We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Destination Morocco

#1,691 of 2,408 Tours in Marrakech
Marrakech, Morocco
More
About Destination Morocco
Destination Morocco was born to solve the classic problem of tour planning. As travelers ourselves, we realized that planning a trip and making an itinerary is often a complicated process and involves countless hours of researching and shortlisting. This is what inspired us to hand craft some of the most enthralling and exciting tour packages especially for you to the land of the sub-Saharan – Mo
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 00:00 - 23:59
See all hours

Destination Morocco
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
2Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Crofton M wrote a review May 2019
Airlie Beach, Australia1941 contributions463 helpful votes
We started by researching our destination and then selected a short list of tour operators. From this, Destination Morocco (DM) was the stand-out best, so we then concentrated on them to fine tune the tour for our two couples group - leaving out the bits we weren't interested with, and making other changes such as adding another day to venture into the High Atlas Mountains. They were good, the price reasonable and attention to detail had been excellent. The tour included an English speaking driver, supplemented by local guides in Fes and Marrakech (essential for local knowledge and practicality - parking in these cities is a nightmare, so we needed a guide and a driver). Accommodation was specified in 4 or 4.5 star Riads (traditional Arabic hostels within the Medina). We researched and checked the places suggested by DM and were very pleased with their choices. In the weeks before arrival we received a reminder that our payment was overdue, which they quickly admitted that we had paid in full. All good, but then we received another reminder a week later (internal communication wasn't happening). Then came the surprise - when our driver/guide Rachid arrived we loaded up and I started wondering why we had driven past the magnificent Hussain II mosque which was first on our itinerary so I he pulled over and checked his instructions to our itinerary. They were different!! His instructions were a combination of the original Best of Morocco tour but days 1 and 2 had been amended to recognise that we would have an early start in Casablanca and a full day in Fez on day 2 (agreed by DM and included in our final itinerary). Strangely, another later change to extend the duration from 7 to 8 days was included, but the error on day 2 still had the driver's instructions as a 7 day tour. This meant that our first night's accommodation had been booked as one night instead of 2 and the rest of the tour was one day out from the itinerary. Our driver Rachid was in a terrible spot for him as being the DM representative and had to move quickly, to adjust his program where head office had let him down, and placate our displeased group. I should quickly add that Rachid handled this very well and was excellent in his new role as driver/guide, now extended to be a patient diplomat and reorganiser. Over the 8 days we all got on very well - with his careful driving, excellent English and local knowledge - he even understood our Aussie humour! What a great guy! Then at the start of day 2, we were diplomatically told by Riad el Amine (which we have given a 5 star rating in a separate review) that our booking was still only for one night - we had not been told by DM. Rachid was again put in an embarrassing situation by his head office. I called DM and they confirmed that we had to go to another Riad called Chaq Chaq which was not to the same standard. Thus we had been ready to go on a walking tour of Fez and valuable fine weather time was lost in checking out and moving. The result that we only had one hour of fine weather (and the replacement Riad was disappointing after the standard of Riad el Amine). DM were able to push back accommodation in the Merzouga Sahara desert camp and the night at Dades Valley but they were unable to move the 3 nights in Marrakech and again we were presented with a lower level than agreed. What a pity and terrible mistake - the itinerary was achieved but accommodation downgraded. It was the most amazing tour and we really went off the beaten track - with Rachid equal to any task . This experience should have been 5 stars but the downgraded accommodation and frustration caused were upsetting and disappointing and we have downgraded our rating to 3 stars
Read more
Date of experience: April 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Azdean E, Owner at Destination Morocco
Responded 6 Sep 2019
Hello, We have looked through our records and data and found no information or reservation about this booking, i wish we had the opportunity to serve you, however, i believe this is a name mix up, if you can look through our records you will find that it's an other company that provided you with the tour not us, thank you very much. Kind Regards; Azdean Elmoustaquim Destination Morocco
Read more
IngridVitK wrote a review Aug 2018
30 contributions4 helpful votes
All I can say about our experience with Destination Morocco was that it was Exceptional. It was AMAZING going with a private tour guide and not having to worry about finding transportation, hotels, or group tours. My husband and I went on the 10 Days Morocco Cultural Tour. Upon landing in Marrakech, our driver immediately found us and whisked us to our hotel. On our first full day we went to the Saadian Tombs. The tilework in the mausoleums were breathtakingly intricate and unlike anything I’ve ever seen. In the afternoon we went through the Marrakech Souk. The woven reeds overhanging the stalls were like something you see out of an adventure movie. This market had EVERYTHING! Stalls selling lamps, leather shoes, dentures, snake charmers, and SO many colourful spices. It’s chaotic like a rabbit warren, but there was so much vibrancy and interesting things to see that you don’t feel claustrophobic. My husband ended up buying a gorgeous ceramic plate and we snacked on pastries called “gazelle horns”. I’m not sure what was in them, but they were delicious! Our last day in Marrakech was spent in some charming gardens and was much more relaxed. The second part of our trip was in Essaouria. I think this was my favourite place. It’s similar to Mykonos, but the blue-and-white buildings are much more vibrant than anything I saw when I travelled to Greece. It was very tranquil. The fish market is authentic-right next to it we saw boats being repaired. Expect stalls to have upturned boxes with sardines being soaked in salt, and seeing squid, red snapper, prawns, crazy-looking eels being grilled. On Day 8 we went to the High Atlas Mountains where Ali, our guide, took us to a Berber village. We went to a lunch hosted by a Berber family. I thought this was a gimmick, but it was REAL. We ate outside at a small round table and met three generations of the family. Our gracious host first gave us some bread. After that we had slow-cooked Moroccan tajine. You don’t eat with cutlery but instead use the bread like a spoon. It was so delicious and a very intimate moment that I’m glad we got to share with the family we met. We also went to a foundation that helps educate children and teaches skills to women, which I appreciated. Ali also suggested some hiking trails we could take that were the right level of challenge for us. We did so much more on this tour, like visiting the El Badi Palace and the Amal Association in Gueliz, but I wanted to share our highlights. Everything was above and beyond our expectations. The absolute best part of this trip was that we felt completely at ease due to our fantastic tour guide, Ali. We were afraid that we wouldn’t be able to get the most out of our trip without speaking Arabic, but Ali was so knowledgeable, patient, and kind. Šukran! We hope to be back soon!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Azdean E, Owner at Destination Morocco
Responded 3 Sep 2018
Thank you very much Ingrid, we're very grateful for the opportunity and your trust. We work really hard to provide a unique experience for all our guests, we look forwards to serving you and all your referrals in the near future.
Read more
Write a review
What was your experience like?
Write a review
Share your best travel photo
Let the world see your experience through your eyes.
Post a photo
Get quick answers
Ask fellow travellers and attraction managers your top questions.
Ask a question