We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Website
Book In Advance
More Info
US$96.64*
and up
Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour
More Info
US$466.76*
and up
Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island
More Info
US$102.25*
and up
Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 39 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 16
    Excellent
  • 8
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Volcano National Park Tour - An interesting day out

We had a great day learning about the Hilo side of Hawaii and Volcanoes National Park. Our driver/guide knew everything that there possibly was to know and shared it constantly... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 May 2016
SkybedStyle
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Pack for a big day is our advice. Pick up at 5am and back at 10pm. We had a great tour guide Captain Bob,he was hands down the most informative guide we have ever come across made the trip 100xx better. Biggest tip is don't pick the lunch from the order at the start of the morning choose from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank JD d
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

This was a very long day starting with a 5 am hotel pickup and return at 10 pm return. I was so excited about the chance to see an active caldera. Unfortunately we were always at quite a great distance. Only the afternoon was at the national park, starting with an overly expensive lunch. We were shown a menu in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louisa H
KainaluK, General Manager at Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours, responded to this review

Aloha Louisa, We'd like to thank you for posting a review of your tour experience. Our goal is to provide each guest with a great experience and we regret that your expectations were not met. If you return to the islands, we hope to have the chance to welcome you back! More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 attraction reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016

I will admit to being disappointed because I asked for a tour to the volcano and the lava flow and I was booked on the grand circle tour instead. I also did not like at 6am pickup from the hotel. Tour set off around 8 from Kona, and the first stop was a coffee museum which is also an active... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becca N
KainaluK, General Manager at Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours, responded to this review

Aloha Becca, Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed recount of your tour. We appreciate the feedback you provided and are glad that you enjoyed some of the stops. The viewing of lava is unpredictable, but we agree that walking through the ancient Thurston lava tubes is truly impressive. Thank you for recommending this tour for those... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

We had a great day learning about the Hilo side of Hawaii and Volcanoes National Park. Our driver/guide knew everything that there possibly was to know and shared it constantly. At no time did she stop talking (we found this was a good and bad thing). The tour started with a slow tour through the Main Street of Hilo and... More 

Helpful?
Thank SkybedStyle
KainaluK, General Manager at Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours, responded to this review

Aloha SkybedStyle, Mahalo for the wonderfully detailed review of your Big Island Volcano Adventure experience! We are certain that guests will benefit from the stop by stop recap of the tour. Thank you for your compliments of your knowledgeable Driver Guide. It’s great to hear that you felt that the entire tour experience went by quickly. On a return trip... More 

Sugar Land
Level Contributor
298 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

We took this tour thinking we would have access to lava fields we wouldn't be able to get to on our own. We were so wrong. We knew we were in trouble when the first stop was 20 minutes at a convenience store so that we could pick up snacks and refreshments for the day. Another 25 minutes stop at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greg W
KainaluK, General Manager at Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours, responded to this review

Aloha Greg, We are sorry to hear that your expectations of the Volcano Adventure Tour were not met. Our knowledgeable drivers provide live narration throughout the tour, while guests sit back, relax and enjoy. The stops do include Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Factory and Akatsuka Orchid Gardens where over 1,000 exotic orchids and tropical plants are on display which are... More 

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2016

I booked this tour through Hawaiidiscount.com and got a great deal for the Volcano tour (80 bucks compared to the 92 dollars that Polynesian Adventure tours normally charges for adults). Even if I had to pay more I still would have taken this tour because it was well worth it. Our tour guide, Jon Kala, was one of the best... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eduardo P
KainaluK, General Manager at Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours, responded to this review

Aloha Eduardo, Thank you for your very comprehensive review – it was a pleasure reading it! We appreciate all of your compliments of your experience on the Big Island Volcano Adventure Tour. Especially great was your praise for your Driver Guide. It’s so great that he was not only knowledgeable and entertaining, but you noted that he was the best... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

A long and tiring day but can understand that to see everything in one day that this must be. The tour once on Big Island did not start well, told that we must get of the bus at a back street coffee shop and we were left for over 30 minutes in miserable weather ☹ my American travellers voiced their... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
KainaluK, General Manager at Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours, responded to this review

Aloha Lynne, It’s great that you enjoyed the sites on your Volcano tour. Thank you for providing feedback which has been shared with the management team for appropriate follow-up. A stop is made at Keaukaha General Store where guests have the option of purchasing refreshments. If guests choose not to get off at the store, the Driver Guide does invite... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

We had a great day learning about the Hilo side of Hawaii and Volcanoes National Park. Our driver/guide knew everything that there possibly was to know and shared it constantly. At no time did she stop talking (we found this was a good and bad thing). The tour started with a slow tour through the Main Street of Hilo and... More 

Helpful?
Thank SkybedStyle
GrayLineHIManager, Manager at Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours, responded to this review

Aloha SkybedStyle, Thank you for posting such a complete and insightful review of the Big Island Volcano Adventure tour – we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. You provide such a great overview of all of the stops on the tour with excellent details that will surely be of interest to future guests. We agree that... More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2015

We had a great day touring the Big Island. We went to the Royal Kona Coffee Mill and Museum, Punaluu Black Sand , The Volcanoes National Park including lunch at the Volcano House (great food), Jagged Museum, and the Thurston Lava Tube (Can you say AMAZING?), Big Island Candy Company (Yum!), Rainbow Falls (Beautiful!), the Hamakua coastline, and finally Hamakua... More 

Helpful?
Thank IrishLadyfromOR
GrayLineHI, Manager at Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours, responded to this review

It’s such a wonderful feeling to know that our guests are enjoying themselves and experiencing all that Hawaii has to offer. Thank you so much for taking the time to express your lovely sentiments. Much appreciated! When you return to the islands, please remember to visit with us again! More 

Sublimity, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2015 via mobile

Our tour consisted of the Circle Island & Volcanoes National Park sightseeing on a motor coach. The tour started at 0630 when we were picked up from the Hilton Waikoloa. The shuttle driver was prompt and friendly and as we drove into Kona gave us a quick history lesson of the lava beds we were seeing and of the town... More 

Helpful?
Thank owenscj_2
GrayLineHI, Manager at Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours, responded to this review

Mahalo for that great review Owen! Your comments about the Big Island of Hawaii Grand Circle and Volcano Tour was much appreciated. Hope you’ll return to Hawaii and visit us again soon. More 

Travellers who viewed Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours also viewed

 

Been to Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gray Line - Polynesian Adventure Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?