Meštiansky Dom 5 (Trojdom)

Meštiansky Dom 5 (Trojdom), Zilina: Address, Meštiansky Dom 5 (Trojdom) Reviews: 4.5/5

Meštiansky Dom 5 (Trojdom)

Meštiansky Dom 5 (Trojdom)
4.5
Points of Interest & Landmarks • Architectural Buildings
About
Suggested duration
< 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
The area

4.5
3 reviews
Excellent
2
Very good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

AndRej2258
Zilina, Slovakia18 contributions
Nicest house on this square
Nov 2021
Originally consisting of houses numbers 5, 6, and 7, this terrace no longer exists. The terrace was given descriptive number 5. In the past, these were dwellings built in Renaissance style, and their owners changed frequently. The first known owner of number 5 was the Tomčáni family. The last owner was the Hrabovský family, who sold the house to the Považie Agrarian and Industrial Bank in 1929.

The adjoining building (previously no. 6) belonged to the Kubica family in the 18th century and later on to the Folkman family. The house was bought in 1800 by Peter Gerommetta, the grandfather of famous Slovak nationalists. One of whom, Eugen Gerommetta, was the very first person to write a small historical treatise on the origins and history of Žilina, for which he went down in posterity. He was, however, a priest and so spent most of his life away from home. The father of Alexander Lombardini, the first to propagate the history of Žilina, also lived briefly in this house with his wife Františka Geromettova. The last owner was Robert Poradovský, who sold the house in 1929 together with his sisters.
The last of the three houses, which no longer exists either – house number 7 – was owned by the Košela family in the 18th century. Later on, the building was acquired by the Ďuriš family. The last owners were Anna Hrabovcová and Eduard Žabkay and they were the first to sell up to the Považie Agrarian and Industrial Bank in Žilina in 1928.

Following the bank’s purchase of the first house in 1928, architectural plans were drawn up for a new administrative bank building. Rather oddly, the plans depended on the demolition of two other buildings, which they did not own. These were bought a year later. In 1929, the bank demolished the three original houses. However, once the bank had built the new building it was not awarded a building licence, because a debate had already been unleashed as to whether such a modern building belonged on the historic square at all. The bank therefore appealed to the district court, which issued a building licence for a three-storey building. Other licences were issued later, which changed the original project. The bank’s new administrative building, a detached building referred to as number 5, was designed by architects F Weinwurm and I Vécsei. The town’s inhabitants were divided over the new building from the outset. It clearly didn’t match the original architecture of the square. It had significantly altered the appearance of the square. The original Gothic pathway, known as Burianova medzierka, was twice the size it had been following construction of the building. In 1937, the building became the property of the Prague Bank of Czechoslovak Legions and later the Bratislava Union Bank. At the end of Socialism, the City National Committee was based there. The building started to deteriorate in 1988 and in 1995 to 1996 it was demolished. A multi-purpose building appeared on the site of the original number 5 building in 2001, the facade is an unhappy imitation of the three original buildings that stood there before 1929. A shop called Diela was established on on the left-hand side of the ground floor in the 1980s.
Written 17 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Meštiansky Dom 5 (Trojdom)