We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bluebridge Cook Strait Ferry

50 Waterloo Quay | Wellington Terminal, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-471 6188
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A smooth ride

This ferry is not as comfortable as the other inter-islander ferry (it doesn't have as many lounge... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
KiwiinOz2014
,
Tamworth, Australia
Book the competition if you are renting a car

The ferry itself is fine! We loved the views on a sunny and brisk October evening. I wish we had... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Lyric M
,
North Carolina
via mobile
Read all 447 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Bluebridge Cook Strait Ferry sails several times a day between New Zealand’s North and South Islands. The Bluebridge experience offers warm, friendly ‘Kiwi’ hospitality amidst stunning New Zealand scenery.
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good44%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“blue bridge” (17 reviews)
“wake up call” (9 reviews)
“south island” (35 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
50 Waterloo Quay | Wellington Terminal, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 4-471 6188
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

This ferry is not as comfortable as the other inter-islander ferry (it doesn't have as many lounge chairs and the range of food available is smaller but it is really smooth...great for those that get sea sick (me) and the staff are very friendly.

Thank KiwiinOz2014
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

The ferry itself is fine! We loved the views on a sunny and brisk October evening. I wish we had booked the interislander. You have to turn in your rental at the Interislander dock and pick up a new car at the arrival port. The...More

Thank Lyric M
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

As a regular customer it would be great to leave on time for once - there always seems to be a 30+ minute delay?? We booked a cabin on our most recent trip with the plan of a decent sleep after driving down from Auckland...More

Thank Bill T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booking process online was easy.Had to change crossing times at the last minute.No problems with that and no extra charges. Amazing experience from driving on and off both ends Picton and Wellington.Staff were very obliging and welcoming.Got a cabin last minute once on the ferry.Staff...More

Thank Karen M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Traveled Wellington to Picton early September on 2.30AM service. Staff at check-in counter blunt, rude, no concept of customer service. Once on board the Staff/Crew seemed quite grumpy; perhaps the early morning start may have been the issue. Several days later I traveled Picton to...More

1  Thank Christopher172
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I travelled on the Bluebridge ferry from Picton to Wellington and had a nice experience. As some of my relations were there we were in a large group and they kindly upgraded us into two cabins for free. Out on the deck,...More

Thank Sarah_Star19
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I sailed Bluebridge from Wellington to Picton at 8am last Saturday morning. I thought I would buy myself a chicken panini for breakfast. As I was eating it I bit into a number of chicken bones, hurting my teeth. As a lady working on the...More

Thank lilyroelofs
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Blue bridge offer a much more refined ferry experience. Unlike Interislander which follows a old railways" could not give a toss attitude" , staff are kinder, cleaner and so much more caring. Food options are healthy and entertainment free. Boarding and waiting times are reasonable....More

1  Thank cash642014
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was helping my parents move down south and we had a kerfuffle with the other ferry company who wouldn't accept a rental Toyota Dyna truck onboard without ferry lashing points. We rushed down to Bluebridge to see what they could do. The team at...More

Thank lcmortensen
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had great experience on bluebridge so far, but also sometimes quite disappointing...mainly good ones Though (great movies and good working stations). Service is mostly very slow, but you have a minimum of 3,5 hours to get your order anyway - so not bad if...More

Thank Isabell8785
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Thistle Inn
485 reviews
.31 km away
Portlander Bar & Grill
514 reviews
.29 km away
Wagamama Wellington
450 reviews
.38 km away
The Backbencher Bar and Cafe
216 reviews
.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
Old St Paul's
942 reviews
.43 km away
Parliament Buildings
1,388 reviews
.44 km away
Northern Explorer Train
379 reviews
.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Vienna S
7 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Julie M | Reviewed this property |
It is advisable to check the company website as prices vary according to the season, holiday time and special offers. We prefer this option for crossing Cook Strait. Happy travelling!
0
Votes
Manjula T
26 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BluebridgeNZ | Property representative |
Hi Manjula, thank you for your message. Unfortunatly we are not able to hold onto luggage overnight, however there is a backpackers directly across the road from the terminal called Waterloo Hotel and Backpackers which does... More
0
Votes
patricious
10 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BluebridgeNZ | Property representative |
Our bus will pick you up from the ship when it arrives and then take you back to the passenger terminal to collect your luggage, from there you hop back on our bus and this will take you to the I-site where the Intercity bus... More
1
Vote