We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gray Line New Zealand

#30 of 156 Tours in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number: +64 800 698 687
Website
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

Luxury one day coach tours to the highlights of beautiful New Zealand,...

Luxury one day coach tours to the highlights of beautiful New Zealand, including Auckland city sights, the Bay of Islands, Waitomo and Hobbiton, Rotorua, Christchurch, Mt Cook, Queenstown and Milford Sound.

Come with us and experience some of the world renowned destinations and amazing attractions around New Zealand in the comfort of our premium touring coaches!

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$98.48*
and up
Auckland City Highlights Tour with Harbour Cruise and Sky Tower Admission
More Info
US$244.38*
and up
Full-Day Waitomo and Rotorua Tour from Auckland
More Info
US$255.33*
and up
Hobbiton and Ruakuri Caves Tour from Auckland

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 100 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 70
    Excellent
  • 17
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Glow worms,gondola,hot spring

The glow worms was well worth it and pictures and words cannot begin to describe how mesmerizing seeing the glow worms in person, in the complete darkness, and silence of the... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 days ago
Jenna M
,
Markham, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 98: English reviews
Pinkpower
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Positives first (for the 2 stars): - wonderful guides at Waitomo Caves, Agrodome, Te Puia and Hobbiton Movie Set ( they are not from Grayline though but from the indiviudal attractions) - smooth and quick entry into all attractions ( they seem to have a sort of fast pass arrangement) Negatives: - pick up from Auckland was late - on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pinkpower
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The glow worms was well worth it and pictures and words cannot begin to describe how mesmerizing seeing the glow worms in person, in the complete darkness, and silence of the cave. It was magical and makes you think you are staring up at a clear night sky. The staff are friendly and accommodating and very informative. The traditional Maori... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenna M
GrayLineNZteam, Marketing manager at Gray Line New Zealand, responded to this review

Kia ora Jenna, Thank you for sharing your impressions of your Waitomo Caves and Rotorua day tour. I'm glad you enjoyed your day! All the best for your future travels, Amy and the team at Gray Line More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this tour for Monday, the 14th for two. At just past midnight that night, there was a massive earthquake in the South Island with over 15 after shocks throughout the night. I called the Gray line customer service number early the next morning regarding the safety associated with this tour in light of the earthquake and aftershocks. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abe B
GrayLineNZteam, Marketing team at Gray Line New Zealand, responded to this review

Kia ora Abe, Your Waitomo and Rotorua day tour (in the North Island of New Zealand) was not affected by earthquakes in the South Island and ran as scheduled. I do apologise that you had trouble getting through when you called our team on Monday morning, but as you can imagine they were receiving an extremely high volume of calls.... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beware everyone! I booked a one day tour with Grayline from Auckland whilst visiting NZ for the weekend. I received my confirmation email 3 weeks earlier, advising of the pick up point (just across from my hotel). On the day I arrived early, all ready for my tour but unfortunately Grayline didnt arrive at the designated time. After waiting approx... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allison S
GrayLineNZteam, Marketing team at Gray Line New Zealand, responded to this review

Kia ora Allison, I'm very sorry about the miscommunication with your pickup point which led to you missing your tour, and about the following delay in sorting out your refund. Our accounts team is investigating what has caused the discrepancy in your refund and will be in touch as soon as possible. Best regards, Amy and the team at Gray... More 

East Sussex, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

We travelled by Grayline coaches with driver Racheal on 18 October who gave a superb commentary all the way to the Bay of Islands. Russell mini tour was excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank nannycook
GrayLineNZteam, Marketing team at Gray Line New Zealand, responded to this review

Kia ora nannycook, It's great to hear you enjoyed your Bay of Islands day tour and your driver guide's expert commentary! All the best for your future travels, Amy and the team at Gray Line More 

Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

The tour was excellent! Drivers were knowledgeable about the important information we need to know while we are on the road! They were also fun! Company made arrangements for pick up from our hotel! Would recommend this to my friends!

Helpful?
Thank kafegal_38
GrayLineNZteam, Marketing team at Gray Line New Zealand, responded to this review

Kia ora kafegal, Thank you for sharing your feedback - I'm glad you enjoyed discovering New Zealand with Gray Line! All the best for your future travels, Amy and the team at Gray Line More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We had been looking forward to this tour all week and it did not disappoint! We were picked up right near our hotel in the morning and dropped off afterward. Our driver Murray was simply amazing. Not only did he share valuable New Zealand history with us as we passed certain regions, but he shared interesting facts and trivia. So... More 

Helpful?
Thank tjmiley
Gray Line N, Marketing team at Gray Line New Zealand, responded to this review

Kia ora tjmiley, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your Hobbiton and Waitomo day tour! I'm glad you enjoyed the day and your driver guide's interesting commentary. All the best for your future travels, Amy and the team at Gray Line More 

Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

I travelled with a perfect weather with Gray Line Tour to Hobbiton. Ruakuri and Kiwi House.. The Hobbiton was really nice, while travelling down the driver was so friendly and explain some brief history. I prefer Gray Line tour its convenient and great deals. Keep it up!

Helpful?
Thank TonDop
Seattle
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016

It is difficult to give a review of the Gray Line tour, as they cancelled my confirmed reservation. I made a reservation for the Waitomo/Rotorua tour for the next day about 0800. I received a confirmation and confirmation number by email. After that, we went out for the day. When I returned to the hotel, I found an email sent... More 

Helpful?
Thank TeresaSeattle
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We did this tour from Auckland on our 2nd day there. I highly recommend it. A long day but well worth it. Our driver Ben was fantastic. Very informative. The tour included a guided tour of the historic Waitangi treaty house, Maori meeting house and war canoe . We then did a cruise to Cape Brett Hole in the rock,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terry C

Travellers who viewed Gray Line New Zealand also viewed

Auckland Region, North Island
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Gray Line New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gray Line New Zealand staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?