We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour

Features Animals
The Reef Fleet Terminal 1 Spence St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4051 0444
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.47*
and up
Green Island Day Trip from Cairns
More Info
US$75.47*
and up
Green Island Half Day Trip from Cairns
More Info
US$215.99*
and up
Green Island Day Trip from Cairns Including Seawalker Helmet Dive
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Green Island is a tropical island paradise on Australia’s Great Barrier Reef. Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises offers full and half day reef cruises departing daily from Cairns at 9am, 11am & 1pm. Activities that are offered include snorkelling, diving, glass bottom boat and semi-submarine coral viewing tours, relaxing on the beach and exploring Green Island National Park. Transfers are by modern air-conditioned catamaran.
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good33%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“semi sub” (87 reviews)
“green island” (360 reviews)
“buffet lunch” (60 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 06:30 - 21:00
LOCATION
The Reef Fleet Terminal 1 Spence St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 7 4051 0444
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Booked half a day tour to Green Island inclusive of a lunch at Dundees! The rides to and fro Trinity Inlet was smooth and well organised! We didnt do any snorkeling activities but took the glass bottom boat ride instead. Enjoyed the rich marines life...More

Thank Tan B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Firstly, I was really disappointed when the advertised quick 45 minute trip turned into 1 hour 15 mins plus boarding time. This might not be a lot of time for some but when your prone to sea sickness, it's not good. The boat was full...More

1  Thank 75Tulips
BigCat73, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi 75Tulips, Thank you for your feedback and review. Would you mind forwarding your booking details to chris@greenisland.com.au so I can investigate this further for you. We do operate 2 x vessel's to Green Island, Reef Rocket which takes 45 mins and Big Cat 1hr...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great day snorkelling at Green Island and the buffet lunch was good. No complaints there. However, I'm no racist but it's seriously like we were in China. The boat was full of Chinese people yelling, being rude and each cabin stank of their food. The...More

Thank Cain D
BigCat73, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Cain, Thanks for your review and feedback, it's great to read you had a great time snorkelling at Green Island and that you recommend the lunch. We also appreciate everyone is entitled to their own opinion with regards to International tourists and their culture,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I don't go snorkelling so was worried about things to do on this tour, hence selecting the half day only. We had about 40min free time on the Island - which was a stretch if you aren't going to sit down an eat as there...More

1  Thank The_Logocracy
BigCat73, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Logocracy, Thanks for your review and feedback, great to hear you enjoyed the semi sub and this was one of the highlights, I'm only sorry there wasn't a more diverse range of marinelife for you that day, however I'm sure you can appreciate we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really enjoyed the submarine experience and getting to see parts of the reef in which It is harder to snorkel. Great fish sightings under and near the pier area whilst snorkelling. Could have stayed a lot longer. The on board meal was fine, nothing special....More

Thank Vicki N
BigCat73, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for kind review Vicki, Regards, Chris Koscielny Sales Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great trip would recommend it. The staff were excellent. My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon.

Thank Kerry C
BigCat73, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much Kerry, We really appreciate your feedback and especially the 5 star rating. Thanks and regards, Chris Koscielny Sales Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There is no snorkeling because the Water is less than a foot deep. Not much else to do but spend more money on a submarine trip. They discouraged snorkeling and recommended a glass bottom boat ride. I would not have paid for this trip had...More

Thank Wrldtrvlr16
BigCat73, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Wrldtrvlr, Thanks for your feedback, although I must admit I'm also disappointed at some of your comments. I can confirm that the only time we would ever discourage snorkelling is on an extreme low tide morning or afternoon, this is also why there would...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our tour went over to the GBR on the smaller Reef Rocket and came back on the Big Cat, taking 1hr on the smaller one and 1 hr 20 on the Big Cat. It was a very windy day and quite scary at times, very...More

Thank Linda S
BigCat73, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Linda, It's great to receive 5 stars especially when travelling on a very windy day. Thanks for your kind comments. Regards, Chris Koscielny Sales Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the experience. The sea was so blue and the seats were fairly comfortable. On board they sell snacks and drinks. There was a good explanation of where we were heading and the the crew were helpful and friendly. Had a choice of glass bottom...More

Thank 54clare
BigCat73, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Clare, It's great to hear you had such a fantastic day with us despite your husbands sea sickness. Thanks for the recomendation Regards, Chris Koscielny Sales Manager

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Thoroughly recommend this fantastic day tour. Have visited the Great Barrier Reef on many occasions and it never fails to impress. The tour company was excellent, efficient and very friendly. We booked the all inclusive deal which covered snorkel hire, semi sub ride and the...More

Thank Anne S
BigCat73, Manager at Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thanks Anne, We very much appreciate your in depth kind review. Thank you for taking the time out to write in and of course the 5 stars ! Regards, Chris Koscielny Sales Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Prawn Star
411 reviews
.30 km away
Tha Fish
1,034 reviews
.24 km away
Waterbar & Grill Steakhouse
1,273 reviews
.19 km away
Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront
1,979 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ocean Free and Ocean Freedom
1,584 reviews
.20 km away
Passions of Paradise Reef Tour
1,183 reviews
.11 km away
Falla Reef Trips
380 reviews
.20 km away
Silverswift Dive & Snorkel
913 reviews
.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
geetu
2 April 2016|
Answer
Response from BigCat73 | Property representative |
Hi Geetu, Thanks for contacting us. Yes, we have no age restrictions with regards to travelling with us. The weather will play a major part in deciding how comfortable it will be on certain days and this is something we... More
0
Votes
Cookie1978
14 March 2016|
Answer
Response from BigCat73 | Property representative |
Hi Cookie, No problem at all. Infants travel free of charge and the stroller is not an issue. there is a boardwalk on the island also which makes things easier for the stroller. Please let me know if you have any further... More
1
Vote
Reviewer2699
3 October 2015|
Answer
Response from BigCat73 | Property representative |
Hi Filipa, Looking at the tides at the start of November I can't see it affecting you too much. If looking at the first few days of November I would probably suggest the afternoon rather than the morning due to a higher... More
0
Votes