We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Roma Street Railway Station | Roma Street, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Phone Number: +61 1800 872 467
Website
Description:

The Tilt Train not only transports you through some of the most beautiful...

The Tilt Train not only transports you through some of the most beautiful scenery, it also extends the gift of more time to explore it. The Tilt Train between Brisbane and Rockhampton operates almost daily in each direction.

Escape the everyday with an experience onboard the new generation of train travel, the Spirit

of Queensland, travelling the Queensland coast between Brisbane and Cairns. Designed for

relaxation, the Spirit of Queensland combines modern seating and entertainment options with

the romance of long distance rail travel.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 156 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 41
    Excellent
  • 55
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 20
    Poor
  • 17
    Terrible
VERY LONG TRIP

IT IS A SHAME , that it takes so long to go to BRISBANE, but it is however nice to just look at the little city\s on the way back , it was the replacement train, who took... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
happyBundaberg
,
Bundaberg, Australia

Similar Things to Do in Brisbane

Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 155: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Accidentally clicked on the wrong train time booking online. They demanded $15 EXTRA to change a $30 booking That's a 50% markup because I accidentally clicked 1 button

Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service - Travel at Tilt Train, responded to this review

Hi Ryan C, We do apologise for this circumstance. Our consultant was simply following our standard amendment fee policy. We understand that you have been in touch with our Customer Feedback Team since this incident and this has been rectified and a refund of the amendment fee has been processed for you. We do hope that this small oversight does... More 

Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

IT IS A SHAME , that it takes so long to go to BRISBANE, but it is however nice to just look at the little city\s on the way back , it was the replacement train, who took longer, there where no intertainment , nor radio!!

Helpful?
Thank happyBundaberg
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service - Travel at Tilt Train, responded to this review

Hi happyBundaberg, Thank you for your review. We understand that the trip south to Brisbane is a long one when travelling on our Traditional Diesel Replacement trains. We are currently in the middle of giving our second Electric Tilt Train a mid-life overhaul both mechanically and cosmetically (the first of our Electric Tilt Trains was completed earlier this year). While... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A wonderful experience on the train. Food was good quality and quantity. Rail beds are comfortable and you do get some sleep, but remember you are on a moving train. Steven and staff are friendly and helpful. Plenty of room in the shower.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service - Travel at Tilt Train, responded to this review

Hi Carol C, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience onboard the Spirit of Queensland! We are happy to hear you had a pleasant trip, we hope to see you again sometime in the near future. Kind Regards, Customer Service - Travel Queensland Rail Travel More 

Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

We were first time users of the Tilt train and it was a good experience for our return trip from Bundaberg. The staff are so pleasant and very helpful. The seats in economy are very squashed and uncomfortable but our return trip in business class was much better. The dinner was excellent and the value good. Lovely way to relax... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MissMokha
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service - Travel at Tilt Train, responded to this review

Hi MissMokha, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tilt Train. We are glad you enjoyed your Business Class journey from Bundaberg. Your comments are appreciated and will be considered in our forward planning processes for future improvements. Kindest Regards, Customer Service - Travel Queensland Rail Travel More 

Wales
Level Contributor
183 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

We recently took the Spirit of Queensland from Brisbane to Cairns, choosing the expensive Railbed option. The train left on time and was only 15 minutes late into Cairns. We found the seats comfortable and the beds even more so. My wife slept quite well but I managed almost no sleep, being aware of engine noise and the train lurching... More 

Helpful?
Thank Whistleman2
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service - Travel at Tilt Train, responded to this review

Hi Whistleman2, Thank you for your review of our Spirit of Queensland train. We hope that you enjoyed your experience enough to consider travelling with us again sometime. If you would like to experience a more traditional train ride including sleeper cabins and shared tables in a dining car, then you may want to consider our Brisbane to Longreach service... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016

I have enjoyed many train travel experiences, but the "rail/beds" on this train are terrible. I had a better night sleep on the standard sitter on the Longreach to Brisbane trip, than on this trip Brisbane to Cairns on the "rail/bed", at far less cost. Uncomfortable as a seat, even worse as a bed. The trip was marred from the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Harry P
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service - Travel at Tilt Train, responded to this review

Hi Harry P, We are sorry to hear that your experience in our First Class Railbeds did not meet your expectations. Our Railbeds are an Australian-first and are designed for a smooth and relaxing ride. We do our best to ensure an uninterupted trip however on the rare occasion due to circumstances beyond our control we are required to provide... More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Recently caught the diesel replacement from Brisbane to Bundaberg and then the tilt train back. The diesel maintains a consistent paces vs the stop / start fast acceleration of the tilt. The diesel carriages were rather dated but it included a dining cart which was very beneficial to get up and go for a walk to break up the long... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 374lachlanw
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service - Travel at Tilt Train, responded to this review

Hi 374lachlanw, Thank you for your review of Tilt Train. Your feedback has been passed on to our Customer Feedback Team for consideration in any future planning for this service. Kind Regards, Customer Service - Travel Queensland Rail Travel More 

Blackheath, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Go for the middle of the carriage. Bed was very comfortable. But the actual seats looked far more comfortable than they were. Kind of business class seats but not comfortable. Staff were impeccable in their service. Especially Crystal. She is the Queensland s best advertisement. Food was OK. Take a jacket.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bamph
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service - Travel at Tilt Train, responded to this review

Hi Bamph, Thanks for your review of Spirit of Queensland. We appreciate your feedback regarding seat comfort, this will be passed on through our feedback channels for future planning consideration. We are very happy to hear our staff especially Crystal provided you with excellent customer service. We hope to see you onboard again soon. Kind Regards, Customer Service - Travel... More 

MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016

We decided not to fly to Rockhampton to see countryside, very good move, at no stage was this boring, we went business class, very comfortable seats, trolley service for lunch and afternoon tea, prices reasonable and food tasty. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank pogglesgrandma
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service - Travel at Tilt Train, responded to this review

Hi pogglesgrandma, Glad to hear you enjoyed your journey to Rockhampton abourd Tilt Train. Thank you for your review and we hope to see again soon. Kind Regards, Customer Service - Travel Queensland Rail Travel More 

Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2016

Travelling on the Spirit of Queensland from Cooroy to Cairns on the 25th of July and returning on the 5th August we booked a Rail bed and all meals and we hoped for an experience equivalent to Business Class on a plane as advertised by Queensland Rail unfortunately it did not live up to this standard. The seats were comfortable... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cilla169
QueenslandRailTravel, Customer Service - Travel at Tilt Train, responded to this review

Hi cilla169, We are sorry to hear that your experience on Spirit of Queensland did not live up to expectations. Generally due to the unique working conditions that our baggage handlers work in (moving baggage inside a moving train without the use of conveyor belts etc like airline baggage staff use), the decision was made by Queensland Rail to limit... More 

Travellers who viewed Tilt Train also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Tilt Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Tilt Train and other visitors
13 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Tilt Train staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?