We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wayoutback Australian Safaris

Features Animals
Alice Springs, Australia
More
About Wayoutback Australian Safaris
Wayoutback Australian Safaris began in 1999 from humble beginnings - from a love of the Australian Outback and its people, combined with a dream to provide unique, small group tours to the highlights of the Northern Territory. From Uluru, the red heart of Australia, to the Tropical waterfalls and wetlands of Kakadu National Park, we deliver quality experiences throughout the NT.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 08:30 - 18:00
See all hours
Travellers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Wayoutback Australian Safaris

Overnight Uluru (Ayers Rock) Small-Group Camping Tour

Discover the beauty of Australia's Red Centre on a 2-day camping tour of World Heritage-listed Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park. Start from Alice Springs or Ayers Rock, then travel with your guide to Uluru and Kata Tjuta where you take walks, hear stories of Aboriginal culture, and watch the sunrise and sunset over Uluru. Camp overnight in the national park, sleeping under the stars. An ideal tour if you have limited time, this small-group tour offers an intimate experience at one of Australia's most iconic sites.
Read more
2 days
from US$355.51

5 Day 4WD Jabiru Dreaming Top End Safari

The natural wonders of Australia’s Top End lie south of Darwin, but exploring them independently requires a self-drive 4WD and serious planning. Bypass the hassle on a 5-day tour that covers Kakadu, Nitmiluk, and Litchfield National Parks; and packs each day with adventure and sights. Take a crocodile-spotting cruise, kayak, swim in waterfalls, see rock art, and overnight at private campsites. Guiding, 4WD transport, and meals make your experience complete.
Read more
5 days
from US$1,381.73

3 Day 4WD Dragonfly Dreaming Top End Safari

Litchfield and Kakadu are two of the most visited national parks in the Northern Territory, and make popular day trip destinations from Darwin. On this multi-day adventure, explore more of the parks than is possible on a day tour, and spend two nights camping out in a swag beneath the stars. Highlights include the gigantic termite mounds at Litchfield, the indigenous rock art at Ubirr, a Kakadu wildlife-watching cruise, and chance to swim at Jim Jim Falls.
Read more
3 days
from US$888.76

1 Day 4WD Gecko Dreaming Twin and Jim Jim Falls Safari

Trek to the sparkling cascades of Kakadu National Park on this active, full-day tour of Twin and Jim Jim Falls. Travel by land and by water, riding over rocky tracks in a 4WD vehicle and through Twin Falls Gorge on a boat cruise and floating boardwalk. Scramble over boulders and bushwalk through a monsoon forest to reach the base of the falls, surrounded by spectacular cliffs. Round-trip transport from Jabiru and a picnic lunch are included.
Read more
11 hours
from US$188.81

4 Day 4WD Arnhem Land Dreaming Top End Safari

Discover the ancient legends and awe-inspiring landscapes of the Top End with this 4-day wilderness adventure from Darwin. Journey deep into Kakadu and Litchfield National Parks, where you'll spot crocs on a river cruise, interpret Aboriginal art at Ubirr with an indigenous guide, and rumble along 4WD tracks to spectacular Twin and Jim Jim Falls. Get even closer to nature by sleeping under the southern stars and cooking over a fire at permanent campsites inside the parks.
Read more
4 days
from US$1,184.23
1,224Reviews15Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 840
  • 188
  • 58
  • 64
  • 74
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
vanessa m wrote a review 11 Apr
1 contribution
Tour guides Phil, Robert and Cheryl provided the most amazing touring experience of the Red Centre. The guides provided expert knowledge of the flora, fauna and indigenous history of each site visited. King's Canyon was a highlight! As a solo traveller, the guides provided any assistance required when setting up camp and on long hikes. Consequently, my dream holiday exceeded all expectations. A sincere thank you to the Wayoutback team.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
EdiBa683 wrote a review Nov 2020
Switzerland1,227 contributions528 helpful votes
+1
This 4 day Outback tour was a dream indeed. It is the perfect tour for anyone who likes to travel in the Red Centre with a group and a professional guide in an uncomplicated way. It was a great pleasure to be part of this amazing trip through the beautiful remote landscape of the Red Centre. Our guide/driver Leigh was excellent and very organized. The healthy varied and delicious meals were fantastic and we also got fruits after the hikes. There was one highlight after the other: Uluru with the changing colours at sunset and sunrise was stunning, the interesting cultural experience with an Aboriginal guide, the opportunity to visit the impressive Field of Light, the wonderful hike through the "Valley of the Winds" of Kata Tjuta and the fantastic "Rim Walk" of Kings Canyon. We also had the chance to swim in natural pools, and more…. I appreciated the patiently safety instructions regarding hiking and sun protection which Leigh gave us. His explanations with enthusiasm about the region, plants, animals, the history and all the interesting stories about the Aboriginal culture were very informative. The whole tour was special and an adventure. This kind of participation tour gave me the feeling to be at home like in a family. We had a great group and lot of fun. The permanents Safari tents at the campsite were comfortable. The more brave travelers had also the chance to sleep under the stars in a traditional swag. It was again wonderful experience to join a camping tour in the Outback, to sleep under the starry sky and listen to the sounds of the wilderness. I am glad that I booked this English guided camping tour which makes it more interesting. Thanks Leigh the trip was awesome and unforgettable. He was always in a good mood and the good morning song "follow the sun" was great. The fascination for the Outback is even higher after the trip than before. It is the perfect trip for guys who love the nature.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Pawel Gluza wrote a review Nov 2020
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution
STAY AWAY! tl;dr They took my money, cancelled the trip and stopped answering. I (and MANY others, as you can see by the reviews on google) had an extremely unpleasant experience with WAS. Back in Jan 2020 I booked the trip and paid the full amount right away instead of the 25% deposit they wanted. Because back then I trusted people. Well, three months later when the borders closed and I lost my source of income I wrote 4 emails to cancel my trip - 3 were ignored, in the 4th one they said that they won't process the refund (which was guaranteed by their terms & conditions), AND MY TRIP WOULD BE CANCELLED ANYWAY. It took me 3 months and contacting 1) my bank 2) a lawyer 3) customer service 4) ATAP before I got my money back. Right after nab graciously sent me back my money (100%), they processed a refund for 75% and asked nab to reverse the chargeback, as I "originally asked for a 75% refund to which they agreed (sic!)". Plus they censor the reviews on their website so only 5-star ones and a handful of 4s show up. This is false advertising. This is no way to treat customers. This is not how honest people behave.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from StaceyH_Feedback, Owner at Wayoutback Australian Safaris
Responded 25 Feb 2021
Hi Pawe, My name is Don Wait and I am the founder and Managing Director of Wayoutback Australian Safaris. I am writing to respond to comments received through social media regarding customer credits for tours suspended due to COVID-19. It goes without saying that since COVID-19 settled into our lives, it's been an uncertain and, at times, frightening situation for us all. For me personally, I have spent the best part of 2020 and now 2021 attempting to keep Wayoutback and its many staff in a job in the industry we all love so much. When COVID-19 struck, we were looking forward to 2020 being our most successful season to date and in preparation we invested in vehicles, equipment, infrastructure and staff recruitment and training. We were overhauling various company procedures in an attempt to streamline our operations with our ultimate goal being the delivery of the best tours we’ve ever had. COVID-19 not only obliterated our hopes for the year ahead but the company was brought to a standstill with no sign as to when we would be able to run tours again. We had to let our employees go (many of whom were internationals who were not eligible for government job support schemes) and simply put, we went into a spiral of damage control. We attempted to restart operations when Australian domestic border restrictions looked to be easing, only to have yet another window of opportunity close as the state borders did the same, leading us further into an already volatile financial position. Wayoutback itself was owed a lot of money for tours completed and ‘till this very day remains unpaid by a number of our debtors. Many of our customers generously agreed to maintaining their travel credits, for which we are truly grateful, however when some started to request refunds, we simply did not have the cashflow to accommodate this. In an attempt to resolve this situation we started to sell vehicles, campsites and equipment. This too has not been an easy task as like us, many other transport operators around Australia have been doing the same, creating a “buyers’ market” significantly reducing the demand therefore the value of our equipment. In the last few months of 2020, we started to receive bookings for one of our sister companies that specialises in walking treks along the Larapinta Trail. These customers are 90% Australian and not our usual international market which represented 87% of all our business. With a new focus on this domestic product for Wayoutback too, we are once again hopeful of operating this year in a reduced capacity, state border restrictions allowing. Our goal is to surive COVID-19 and from the ashes of 2020 rise and reinvent ourselves to once again satisfy many thousands of customers, like those who have enjoyed our tours in the past. We are not giving up. My goal is to honour all the credits and repay the trust those generous passengers and suppliers who have placed faith in me to do so. The feedback on many of the social media pages is damning of Wayoutback and our handling of this situation. I understand this sentiment is brought on by the stress and frustration that 2020 (and 2021) was/is. I would like to reassure you that with the exception of 2020 and the beginning of this year the rest of our time in business (22 years this year) we have enjoyed thousands of fantastic feedback posts and won many social media and tourism awards. The handling of COVID-19 for a business impacted as greatly as we have been does not define nor represent us in a ‘normal’ world. Some of the greatest world powers have stumbled in their attempts to handle such a crisis. We at Wayoutback are doing the best we can, as we can. I am deeply sorry for all the angst and frustration Wayoutback's situation has caused you, after all we all have our families and various personal and financial situations that COVID-19 has brought us. We are however attempting everything possible in our endeavour to correct this situation, make good our debts, and remain in the tourism business which has brought so much joy to so many and employed amazing staff including those who have stood by me through the most difficult and uncertain period of my life. Your continued patience and understanding is greatly appreciated.
Read more
Peach60 wrote a review Oct 2020
Charlotte, NC35 contributions17 helpful votes
This was a wonderful tour with a knowledgeable and entertaining tour director. Although my friend and I were initially put on the wrong bus (the budget bus), it was correctly that evening, and from then on, everything went smoothly. The sites were superb, the hiking fun, the food quite good, the accommodations basic and just what I wanted. I highly recommend this tour and this top-notch company. I actually went in Sept. 2019, but the drop down box doesn't go that far back, so I clicked on Nov. 2019 instead. September is the perfect time to go.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
John_ZA1 wrote a review Oct 2020
Frenchs Forest, Australia16 contributions1 helpful vote
The tour visited all the major sites in Litchfield and Kakadu with the 4WD vehicle being ok. Our tour guide Josh was excellent, he was very knowledgeable about the national parks and also the local culture. The accommodation in the lodges was adequate overall with Cooinda Lodge being good and Kakadu lodge being just adequate. The days were early starts in order to get through the itinerary and a fair amount of driving between stops. The sights in the park were fantastic, though I wouldn't recommend the walk into Jim Jim Falls unless you are very fit.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous