We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Swan

74 Main Street, Brandesburton, Driffield YO25 8RG, England
+44 1964 542376
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
evening Meal

Very enjoyable meal, steak cooked beautifuuly and Cajun chicken flatbread very tasty.. Staff very... read more

Reviewed yesterday
851linda
,
Beverley, United Kingdom
First visit

My wife & I have passed the Black Swan often on our way to The Dacre so decided to give it a try... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
PeterMaw1
,
Leeds, United Kingdom
Read all 86 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
We have 2 Camping pods in our South facing garden available for hire - each camping pod has 2 single beds / heater / lamp and electric sockets each camping pod sleeps 2 adults.Our camping guests have use of pub loos washing facilietes 24hrs and use of shower
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good29%
  • Average4%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“the pub” (10 reviews)
“friendly staff” (12 reviews)
“beef” (5 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 11:00 - 23:00
LOCATION
74 Main Street, Brandesburton, Driffield YO25 8RG, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1964 542376
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the pub"
in 10 reviews
"friendly staff"
in 12 reviews
"beef"
in 5 reviews
"sunday lunch"
in 9 reviews
"beer garden"
in 4 reviews
"cooked to perfection"
in 3 reviews
"feel welcome"
in 3 reviews
"curry"
in 3 reviews
"pastry"
in 3 reviews
"pie"
in 3 reviews
"good size"
in 2 reviews
"piping hot"
in 2 reviews
"excellent food"
in 2 reviews
"bread"
in 2 reviews
"lovely place"
in 2 reviews
"black swan"
in 3 reviews
"positive reviews"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 86 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Very enjoyable meal, steak cooked beautifuuly and Cajun chicken flatbread very tasty.. Staff very friendly, will definitely return

Thank 851linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago

My wife & I have passed the Black Swan often on our way to The Dacre so decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. Lovely food - steak & lamb cutlets cooked to perfection - friendly atmosphere and excellent service. We will...More

Thank PeterMaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thankyou for "trying" us We look forward to seeing you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to The Black Swan this week for tea while we were on holiday in the area. The food was lovely and the staff without exception wete

Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

THANKYOU ...... Hope you come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Five of us visited the pub while staying at a nearby B&B on the recommendations in the visitors book. Very glad we did so. Good selection of vegetarian meals were on offer. The steaks were good and the steak and ale pie very fine. It...More

Thank jackharrybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for posting a review ....we are happy to see you enjoyed our "proper" pies !!! If ever you visit Brandesburton again -you know where we are!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We regularly go in to this pub to eat, take part in the activities offered or just meet friends, we love it there. Everyone is always friendly and makes an effort to talk to you and the food is delicious and very generous portions. Lots...More

1  Thank katiealder26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

What a lovely review - obviously one of our locals / regular customer - now just got to try an find out who you are ! (To thank you in person)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Stopped here for our tea on the way home. Family of 4. My boy had a baby burger which he enjoyed although he didn’t like the bread which did taste a bit weird. My daughter had sausage and chips which was 2 Richmond skinless sausages...More

Thank DrUdloko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Our appologies for the chips not being very nice ?..... Not sure what's happened there Did you mention this to the staff ? If you would like to contact me by phone or message through facebook? Norma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Good food. Very friendly and helpful staff. The kebabs were tender and spicy. The lady who took the order couldn’t have been more helpful offering alternatives if needed. The beef madras was very good indeed and the chips were tasty.

Thank Scrooge58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thankyou for posting a review of The Black Swan - we are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your visit Hope to se you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

A really friendly pub, excellent food and a wide range of ales and spirits. Comfortable surroundings. Staff are friendly and helpful You will not be disappointed top class

1  Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thankyou for your review of the Black Swan We hope to host another meet for you very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

We have never been out for Christmas Day dinner before and what a wonderful experience it was. The pub was trimmed up for Christmas, the tables looked fantastic. The warm and welcoming greetings when we arrived, the amazing staff who worked so hard that day,...More

Thank 566debbiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

THANKYOU for posting such a lovely review So pleased you had a lovely time We look forwar to sing you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Having spent a lot of money in this local pub I can only say what a shocking pair of owners . Nice one Christmas eve then rude on Boxing day . After that was charged £ 5 for a plain ham roll then told well...More

2  Thank Williamm1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Sorry you were unhappy with your ham sandwich - yes we do charge £5 for all sandwiches ...have done for years and sell plenty - I did ask children to sit with parents as I had to tidy tables up and Set up ready for...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Brandesburton Hotels
Burton Lodge Guest House
112 reviews
1.16 km away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
370 reviews
7.07 km away
Skipsea Grange Hotel - "The Grainary"
1 review
8.31 km away
Merlstead Hotel
2 reviews
8.89 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bert's Pizzeria & Cafe
716 reviews
.65 km away
Harpers Fish & Chips Brandesburton
196 reviews
.04 km away
China Palace
97 reviews
.19 km away
The Black Swan
114 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Travellers Rest
8 reviews
5.32 km away
Wassand Hall
47 reviews
5.51 km away
Billabong Watersports & Caravan Park
18 reviews
2.46 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Gill C
21 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MumMcFly | Property representative |
Hi Gill - sunday food served 12 noon to 6pm
0
Votes
Paola B
21 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MumMcFly | Property representative |
Hello Paola - we do welcome dogs into the taproom/bar and we have many customers who come along with their dogs and enjoy a meal too - we look forward to seeing you and your little (big) pooch. We reccommend to book if party... More
0
Votes
;