We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Territory Wildlife Park

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Cox Peninsula Road, Berry Springs, Northern Territory 0831, Australia
Phone Number:
+61 8 8988 7200
Website
Description:

At the Territory Wildlife Park you can see the Top End of Northern...

At the Territory Wildlife Park you can see the Top End of Northern Australia in 4 hours rather than 4 days! The Park is a 45 minute drive south of Darwin city. It occupies 625 hectares of native bush adjacent to the Berry Springs Nature Park.

The Wildlife Park showcases animals and plants of the Top End in both natural settings and exhibits for ease of viewing, as well as the diversity of natural habitats of the Top End.

The Park is spread out around a 4km loop road with free shuttle trains and natural walking paths linking the attractions. The Main Station Cafe, Nocturnal House and Aquarium are airconditioned.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 285 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 183
    Excellent
  • 70
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
A "must see" place.

We arrived quite late in the day and were warned that we might not have time to see everything-which I thought was excellent customer service. In fact we had a fabulous time... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 days ago
ruthjanet2016
,
Northampton, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 275: English reviews
Darwin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Paid $64 entry into what was just a HUGE jungle park with very little to see or do. The aquarium was nice. The nocturnal enclosure was nice. We saw some dingoes in an enclosure ... and we saw bush and swampland ... LOTS of it and that was it. If you want to see native bushland, a walk through any... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoseDivolo
SOF1984, Public Relations Manager at Territory Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi JoseDivolo, thanks for taking the time to tell others about your visit to the Territory Wildlife Park. While I respect that you feel $64 entry (either two adult tickets or an adult and two kids) to be poor value for money I can assure you that most of our visitors feel the opposite. Most visitors spend at least 4... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We arrived quite late in the day and were warned that we might not have time to see everything-which I thought was excellent customer service. In fact we had a fabulous time. The park is not just about animals, it is about experiencing the different habitats that exist in the Top End of Australia. It is large, but there is... More 

Helpful?
Thank ruthjanet2016
SOF1984, Public Relations Manager at Territory Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi ruthjanet2016, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and tell other travelers about your visit to the Territory Wildlife Park! From everyone at the Park, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. The Wet is certainly a beautiful time to visit the Top End and we appreciate you letting others know about... More 

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I took my little 23 month old baby girl here last Saturday (March 2017), in the hope that there would be lots of animals for her to see and maybe interact with. The staff were friendly and helpful and the main station where you pay and can eat was clean and tidy with good enough food and drinks. However the... More 

Helpful?
Thank CandC123
SOF1984, Public Relations Manager at Territory Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi there CandC123, I'm sorry that your experience was not aligned with your expectation. Unfortunately the day that you visited was a particularly hot and humid day and this does impact on the wildlife that calls the Territory Wildlife Park home. This is why we have created specific exhibits that allow visitors to see the animals in all conditions. Sounds... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This park is indeed large but there are two choices to get around - walking or taking the free "train" which you can hop-on hop-off at each of the themed areas. We chose to walk and it was a hot, humid day and we took about four hours to get round stopping for photography (we welcomed shelter and the air... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian C
SOF1984, Public Relations Manager at Territory Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi Ian C, thank you so much for providing this detailed feedback. The staff and keepers put a lot of work into the exhibits and we get a very warm feeling inside when we hear such incredible personal connections with our work. We are all so pleased that you had a great day. Thank you for providing the photos with... More 

Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited here March 9, 2017. Not a lot of visitors, however, this is a LARGE park. Often times, I found myself the only person on a trail. I especially enjoyed the Nocturnal House. Staff has been able to "switch" day & night for these animals so they were active when we were here. It is dark to simulate night and... More 

Helpful?
Thank C W B
SOF1984, Public Relations Manager at Territory Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi C W B, thank for taking the time to write this review and to tell other travelers about your experience. We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit. The Park is very large, as you say, however it is well connected with walking tracks and there is our courtesy train to assist you moving between the exhibits (the... More 

Lihue, Hawaii
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Happened to arrive during "monsoon." Staff went out of their way to compensate for bad weather. Got soaked, but enjoyed seeing animals anyway. Would be fabulous on a sunny day.

Helpful?
Thank Mattia I
SOF1984, Public Relations Manager at Territory Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi Mattia I, thanks for your review and providing this good feedback. We are pleased you were not turned off by the monsoon and instead chose to tackle the adventure. The wet season is a beautiful time to visit. We are glad you enjoyed the animals and the displays and we hope to see you again on a sunny day... More 

Philadelphia, New York
Level Contributor
1,144 reviews
599 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were disappointed in how few animals we actually saw at the park. We saw two dingoes and three or four wallabies. The staff told us that Darwin is too hot for roos and koalas and that the animals that were there were hiding in search of a cool spot. The staff was wonderful and very knowledgeable. The best part... More 

Helpful?
Thank annarc6
SOF1984, Public Relations Manager at Territory Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi annarc6, thanks for taking the time to write this review and provide this feedback. That's a shame that you were not able to see as much wildlife as you were expecting. Often that's the trouble with Australian Wildlife is that they are fairly cryptic and difficult to spot during the day. It is for this reason that we have... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This park is great , you can catch the driven train or walk around, There is some great easy walking trails and the staff have a good knowledge of the park.Some nice surprises along the way. The bird show was great .

Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
SOF1984, Public Relations Manager at Territory Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi Joanne B, thanks for this great review and for taking the time to tell other travelers about your visit. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit as much as we do. I'll pass your positive feedback onto the staff. Hope to see you again soon, thanks Simon More 

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a good day out at the Territory Wildlife Park. The people mover does a circuit of the park every 30 minutes and there is an interesting commentary. I really enjoyed the billabong with all the birds. It is a beautiful setting and it is easy to walk along the boardwalk and see everything. The aviaries with the birds... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn R
SOF1984, Public Relations Manager at Territory Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi Marilyn R, thank you so much for providing this positive feedback! We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Territory Wildlife Park and took the time to tell others about your experience. Thanks and hope to see you again soon, Simon. More 

Loxton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2017

Unfortunate the weather wasn't good. No one can help that. People visiting the park were quite rude and pushed in to get on the train. At the areas where there were animal displays and interactive opportunities, there were way too many people. This meant no photo opportunities due to someone always being in the way. If you asked someone to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank debbiemsg
SOF1984, Public Relations Manager at Territory Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Hi debbiemsg, thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback. We do try to ensure that every visitor has the best experience possible, we will use your information to try to improve the visitor experience. During the Darwin wet season, weather conditions can be fairly uncomfortable, however as you said this is beyond anyone's control. We hope to see... More 

Travellers who viewed Territory Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to Territory Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Territory Wildlife Park and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Territory Wildlife Park staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?