Principato di Lucedio

Principato di Lucedio, Trino: Address, Phone Number, Principato di Lucedio Reviews: 4.5/5

Principato di Lucedio
4.5

4.5
98 reviews
Excellent
46
Very good
36
Average
14
Poor
1
Terrible
2

Dawn D
Brighton, UK28 contributions
Beautiful wedding location
Aug 2017 • Family
We recently had a family wedding at this beautiful location. Amazing vaulted ceilings and well maintained courtyard were they had a musician playing, it was perfect for the acoustics.
Written 17 September 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

George E
Switzerland38 contributions
Nice but incomplete
Aug 2014 • Friends
A very good tour for 5euros regarding the history and operations of the principality. We went to the top of the tower and took pics. The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Unfortunately, we didn't go in the main church since it was under renovation.
Written 4 August 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Porcinazzo
Teignmouth, UK14 contributions
Lucedio, continuing past traditions into the present, beautifully
May 2011 • Friends
The principality of Lucedio is privately owned and visits are usually only on Sundays. The first time I visited there was a wonderful Open Day and Medieval Fair. On a subsequent trip we had a guided tour (in Italian only) around the former Cistercian abbey and monastery. In the 13th Century the Marquis of Monferrato granted the monks the land to cultivate. In the 14th Century they began clearing and draining the surrounding woods and swamps and rice cultivation was begun in the area. In the province of Vercelli rice is the main crop and its cultivation continues successfully today. The buildings (mostly brick) have been carefully restored and anybody interested in architecture will be rewarded. The octagonal tower of the main church originates from the Middle Ages, and is still being restored. The brick Barock church just inside the main entrance is still in a state of disrepair, as is the other 17th C church, reputedly scene of hauntings, visible across the paddy fields on a rise amongst
the woods.
The dark legends about Lucedio led to its deconsecration by Pope Pius VI and it passed into the hands of Victor Emanuel Duke of Savoy in 1784 and continued to be passed on until 1861 when Marquis Raffaele de Ferrari Duke of Galliera acquired it , and because of his services to the Italian State (this was the time of the Risorgimento and the Unification of Italy) it became his Prinicipality. At his death the estate went to his nephew Andrea Carega Bertolini and then in 1937 was bought by Count Paolo Cavalli d'Oliva, father of the present owner, Countess Rosetta Clara Cavalli d'Oliva Salvadori di Wiesenhoff.
Written 31 March 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Principato di Lucedio


Restaurants near Principato di Lucedio: View all restaurants near Principato di Lucedio on Tripadvisor