We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About Doolin2Aran Ferries
Come explore the Aran Islands and cruise below the iconic Cliffs of Moher with Doolin2Aran Ferries. This company is owned by the Garrihy family, who have been fishing and sailing in Doolin since 1968. The original Cliffs Of Moher cruise company, we are also the largest ferry company operating between Doolin and the Aran Islands. Our new flagship, the Star of Doolin, launched in June 2018, is the fastest ship on the Wild Atlantic Way. Sailings operate from March to November. We look forward to welcoming you on board!
Read more
Opens in 17 min
Hours Today: 08:00 - 21:00
See all hours
Travellers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Doolin2Aran Ferries
Overview
A boat tour along the famous Cliffs of Moher allows visitors cliffside views that are much more dramatic than from the land. Set sail along the Atlantic coast from Doolin, keeping an eye out for the resident puffins and snapping epic photo ops of the cliffs, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Book your cruise ahead of time to avoid disappointment over sold-out sailings.
1979Reviews19Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 1,260
  • 360
  • 157
  • 87
  • 115
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kate H wrote a review 24 May
Cambridge, New Zealand126 contributions18 helpful votes
Visiting the Cliffs of Moher, but not impressed by the charge to park at the cliffs themselves. We drove on to Doolin and jumped on board the Spirit of Doolin on a whim. Plenty of space even though it was late May. So glad we did - the ride through the rolling surf was worth the money alone, and the views of the many different seabirds and the cliffs was icing on the cake. I don't think Tony was on our cruise, but it didn't matter - this is definitely the best way to see the grandeur of the cliffs without having to walk for miles. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of experience: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Eileen F wrote a review 12 May
13 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We had a beautiful, clear, calm day for our journey out to Inis Oirr last week. We opted for the cliffs tour to enjoy the view from the water and it is an absolute MUST! While we were not expecting any official guided tour, a kind and knowledgeable crew member named Tony shared information on the history, geology, and tides around the cliffs as well as identified birds and surfers we saw for anyone who wanted to listen. The cruise was the perfect ending to a fabulous day on Inis Oirr!
Read more
Date of experience: May 2022
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Doolin2AranFerries, General Manager at Doolin2Aran Ferries
Responded 1 week ago
Sounds like you had a perfect day on the sea, thank you for taking the time to post!
Read more
UkHolidaygirl2009 wrote a review 4 May
UK44 contributions32 helpful votes
A few people had recommended to us that Inis Oirr would be the smallest but best of the islands to visit. It's like stepping back in time, and you can even get a tour of the island by pony and trap, or there are bicycles for hire. It was worth choosing the later return boat at 4.30pm so that we could spend all day on the island, and we had lunch at the hotel's pub. If you see ice cream for sale on the island, buy it in the morning while it's still available, as the little shops only seemed to be open for a few hours, because things got quieter after the first boat left at 1.45pm. The cliffs tour was very scenic. I'm not a fan of boats in general, but it was a calm day and the boat is very stable. I would advise dressing in layers, because even if the weather is warm, you'll still feel the wind while on the boat.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2022
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Doolin2AranFerries, General Manager at Doolin2Aran Ferries
Responded 1 week ago
Sound advice regarding layers - you can never be sure what way the wind will blow - or not blow, as the case may be ;) Inis Oirr is a little paradise indeed, never fails to disappoint!
Read more
Kevin G Osterley wrote a review 4 May
London, United Kingdom198 contributions80 helpful votes
Expensive 25 Euros each for a 1 hour trip on a boat with absolutely no commentary and 15 mins just floating off the cliffs before turning back.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from Doolin2AranFerries, General Manager at Doolin2Aran Ferries
Responded 1 week ago
Hi there, Im sorry that you didnt enjoy your experience with us. We do offer commentary with our crew on board, and the sailing normally takes between 40 and 45 minutes, certainly not 15 minutes.
Read more
JohnANDLee W wrote a review 4 May
Durham27 contributions30 helpful votes
We had a fabulous day on Inis Oirr and views of the cliffs from the water. Online booking was simple. Parking is easy and plentiful. We were greeted at the Doolin2Aran Ferries office, given a map of the island, and directed to the ferry. Onboard, there is open-air seating on top and lots more below. We opted for the top (If that's your choice, be sure you arrive by the 9:30 boarding.) and had an easy ride to the island. After a few hours of exploring, we returned to the ferry pier to return to Doolin. Now - this is important - If you are continuing to the cliffs for viewing, be SURE to get a seat on top. The left side as you board (right facing the front of the boat) is best for viewing. The boat stops at the Doolin Pier to drop some passengers and pick up others who have only booked the cliff trip. Most of those people had to go below. Of course, when the views of the cliffs were best, many came up top to get pictures, but they could see from below. My suggestion for people who are only doing the cliff tour is to take the 3pm ferry. There were just a handful of people waiting as we returned and they had the ferry to themselves for cliff viewing. Check with the office to see which ferries are going to the cliffs without people returning from the islands. We were given lots of great information about the cliffs and the area. Due to wind and motor noise, it was difficult to hear everything that was said, but there's not an easy fix for that. Maybe a megaphone. Our guy did the best he could to get as much info to as many people as possible, and he was willing to answer any questions. We spent a full hour viewing the cliffs and then returned to the pier in Doolin. Be sure to have a hat or sunscreen on sunny days. The cool air can fool you into thinking you are safe from the sun. And layers. It was chilly going out and warm returning. We had a great time and would definitely recommend the small island tour with the cliff tour on return.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2022
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Doolin2AranFerries, General Manager at Doolin2Aran Ferries
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for such a detailed review :) There are times when the cliffs tour is busier than others, but with regards to which side of the ship you sit, it really doesn't matter because the boat will turn and go back to Doolin, so you will either have the best view on the way down or on the way back :) The crew do their best to be heard, but outdoors on the ship, competing with wind and engines can be a challenge sometimes and if the guide is in the wheelhouse with the microphone, passengers cant see him... We are always looking for the better solutions though, so we will find a way!
Read more
Previous
123456