Gateway Leisure

Gateway Leisure, Belmullet: Address, Phone Number, Gateway Leisure Reviews: 4.5/5

Gateway Leisure
4.5
Bowling Alleys • Game & Entertainment Centres
About
Gateway Leisure represents family entertainment, delicious food and fun for all. We cater for everyone with our Parklanes Bar and Restaurant, Kid Island Play Frame, Competition-level Ten Pin Bowling Alley, Mini Golf, Pool, Snooker, Arcade Games. During the Summer, we offer a full A la Carte menu every day from 12.00, with daily specials to tempt you. Our friendly staff will look after you and make sure you enjoy a great day out. We cater for parties for any occasion and have a function room available for hire with a spectacular view from the terraces.
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

4.5
70 reviews
Excellent
45
Very good
16
Average
7
Poor
1
Terrible
1

Siobhan B
3 contributions
Best dining experience I’ve had in a very long time!
Aug 2021 • Family
This is my first time eating here. My mother, husband and 4 year old son had a reservation for dinner for 6pm. The staff were friendly and efficient. Tables were well spaced and we were assured that the restaurant has an air filtration system as well.
The service was quick, the food was fabulous and the portions were extremely generous.
The manager was really friendly and when I asked if he had a booster seat for my four year old he went out to his own car and loaned us one of his children’s seat. They really went above and beyond. You should eat here if you’re ever in Belmullet!
Written 12 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Stephanie M
1 contribution
Tastey and fresh
Aug 2021 • Family
Fabulous food, large portions, fresh and very tastey
Great for family's and groups visiting the area.
Very reasonable priced.
All staff very attentive and friendly. Great hospitality 10/10
Written 8 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

donal_buistear
Youghal, Ireland145 contributions
Small, not much to do...
Aug 2019 • Family
Went to the complex with my youngest daughter, now she loved the inside monkey maze which is great but all the other stuff inside Gateway Leisure is rather limited and not much to do for older kids... A bit disappointed to be honest...
Written 29 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Donal thanks for your review. We are as advertised something for everyone. We offer ten pin bowling, arcade, pool, snooker and mini golf. Apart from Kid Island which is height and age restricted, other activities are suitable for people of all ages. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in your visit.
Written 30 August 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

paulsmith37
Durham, UK4 contributions
Excellent
Apr 2019 • Business
Can’t rate this place highly enough.
Used it for a 2 day training session and was looked after extremely well.
Special thanks and mention to Emily T who went above and beyond with a huge lovely smile on her face.

Written 24 April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks to Paulsmith37 for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your time here at Gateway Leisure.
Written 25 April 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

silverfox711
Stillorgan, Ireland390 contributions
Perfect stop
Dec 2018 • Couples
We arrived on Saturday evening without a booking but we were immediately shown to a table. Our waitress, Emily was cheerful, pleasant & helpful in assisting us with our menu choices. The menu is extensive but there were also three chef specials which were clearly outlined to us by Emily. We were served our drinks without delay & our food arrived shortly afterwards. The quality & presentation of the food was excellent & we were well attended to throughout our meal. We left with a very good feeling about the place & we will go back there next time we are visiting BELMULLET.
Written 4 December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Colum S
Sligo, Ireland439 contributions
Very tasty
Sep 2018 • Couples
Very polite staff. It was very busy and we still didn’t have to wait too long. Very reasonably priced too. Food was very tasty and portions are quite big. Excellent experience all round. Would definitely recommend.
Written 15 September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mark
Sligo, Ireland162 contributions
Sunday Lunch on the Wild Atlantic Way
Aug 2018 • Family
Stopped for lunch while travelling the wild atlantic way, so you have to run the gauntlet of noisy game machines to get into the restaurant, but after that its fine, service was quick and efficient, probably the quickest ive experienced all summer. Food was good, good location for children with the games and if you are staying in the area its definitely a good facility to have, there is a bowling alley too.
Written 15 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Mark, many thanks for your comments. So glad you enjoyed your visit to Gateway Leisure.
Written 16 August 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Priors10
Hertfordshire, UK216 contributions
Soft play and pizza
Aug 2018 • Family
We'll start with the soft play. Brilliant area for the kids, all three of my children loved it. The biggest thing for me was how CLEAN it was. Soft plays are generally something to be avoided at all costs for me because they're normally germ factories but this was not the case here. All of the facilities (From what I saw) were very clean (especially the toilets!). I was very impressed that they offered drinks of water and squash to the kids for free. This is unheard of in any of the soft plays I have taken my children to in the UK. Tap water you'll get free, squash no. Staff were all friendly and helpful.

There are two reasons why I have taken the stars down to three. First, I got overcharged on the way in. Part of this admittedly was my fault as I didn't read the prices correctly. On the sign above the counter on the way in it just said 6 euro per child. I said three children please (pointing out all three of them) paid the 18 euro and went in. By an absolute fluke I happened to look at a full price list at the bowling and saw that under 2s are free. My youngest child is under 2. Now as I said I perhaps should have said her age but I would have thought if the girl behind the counter could see she was a toddler she should have perhaps asked her age to double check? Anyway, I went back to point out the mistake which she insisted she hadn't done until I produced my card receipt showing what I had paid. (Thank goodness I paid by card) Refund was done and apologies given.

My other gripe (and a proper one compared to my first one) was the food. We decided that we would order something while we were in there as we were starving and the food we'd seen other people having in there looked good. We ordered a pepperoni 12" pizza, a portion of chips and the baby bowl of pasta with tomato sauce. The pizza was rank. It was a frozen pizza (not even goodfellas quality) that I think they'd added a pile of cheese on. It was awful and we didn't finish it - between five of us and we were hungry. The bowl of chips was very small. Chips were really nice but seriously not enough of them especially for 3.20. I would have gotten two bowls had I know how few there would be. The best bit of the entire meal was the baby bowl of pasta and sauce. Really big bowl of pasta with the sauce in a jug sitting on the side. This was great and my two older girls even managed to have some (which made up for the lack of chips.) The other 'proper' meals that I could see other people having looked appetising so don't know if it's just what we had. Service however was excellent.

All in all we had a good visit. If you're in the area and the weather isn't cooperating (ahem) then I would definitely recommend a visit to this place. Bowling, soft play, arcades, bar and restaurant - something for everyone!
Written 11 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Lisa thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Gateway Leisure. We are sorry that we let you down on some elements of the visit. We have spoken to our staff to remind them to check the ages of children coming in to Kid Island and we have spoken to the Kitchen regarding your comments on the food. Be rest assured this is not our normal service and if you had raised the issue at the time we would have made every effort to correct any mistake. Thank you for your comments as these help to ensure that we work harder in getting things right in the future.
Written 16 August 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

GortnamBo
Ballina, Ireland1 contribution
Gort na mBo Children's Annual Day Out
Jul 2018 • Friends
"Excellent" - our group of 42 children aged from 9 to 17 years had a brilliant evening in the Gateway. Darragh, JJ & the rest of the staff were so helpful & obliging. Our chaperones were well looked after too. The group bowled, dined & finished off the evening with a traditional music session. The complimentary ice-cream cones were a lovely gesture. I recommend the Gateway for a fun day for all the family & groups. The food is superb. We'll definitely be back.
Written 27 July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Gort na mBo Children's Annual Day Out. Thank you for your comments and we are glad to hear that you all had an enjoyable time at Gateway Leisure. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Written 16 August 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

nickicg
Dublin, Ireland3 contributions
Down Syndrome Mayo Group
Jun 2018 • Family
We were here as a group of 90 people with kids from 0 to 16. From the time we walked in we were treated like royalty. Super staff super food super amenities that cater for everyone. Highly recommend and will definitely be back.
Written 16 June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Down Syndrome Mayo Group, thank you so much for your kind review. We were delighted to look after you all and so glad that you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you back at Gateway Leisure in the near future.
Written 18 June 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 70
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing