We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ADMISSION TICKETS (1)
Skip the Line: Normandy Mont-Saint-Michel Abbey
From US$11.52*
ADMISSION TICKETS (1)
Skip the Line: Normandy Mont-Saint-Michel Abbey
From US$11.52*
BOOK A TOUR
14,019
All photos (14,019)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good21%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“car park”(304 reviews)
“the bus”(286 reviews)
“audio guide”(189 reviews)
About
The Benedictine Abbey of Mont-Saint-Michel is one of the most remarkable examples of mediaeval religious and military architecture and was one of Christianity's most important pilgrimage sites from the 8th to the 18th century.The Abbey comprises a...more
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Bp 22 | Au sommet du village, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Website
+33 2 33 89 80 00
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Abbaye du Mont-Saint-Michel
from US$11.50
More Info
from US$132.40
More Info
from US$80.60
More Info
from US$132.40
More Info
Reviews (12,247)
Filter reviews
3,772 results
Traveller rating
2,689
743
207
70
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
2,689
743
207
70
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park the bus audio guide day trip parking lot bucket list shops and restaurants amazing place free shuttle parking area off season narrow streets tourist trap worth the trip take your time early in the morning worth the climb
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,772 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

We walked out the island which is short and lovely. Exploring the various rooms and streets was nice. The history is fascinating as well. A bit crowded but still a good experience.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank HeatherCrowley
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

...if you were to dream up a mediaeval castle, and if you had a superb imagination, you’d probably dream of this place...except it’s not a castle but an abbey fortress (to keep the unbelievers out? Or the other way ‘round?). There’s a ton of material...More

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank fearanti
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Loved visiting it. Although it was cold December when we visited but the entire town was empty so it was easy to stroll around and take pictures without other people photo bombing it. There are 900 steps to reach at the top of abbey but...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank SamreenAhsanCanada
Reviewed 3 days ago

This site is just amazing, but it is definitely not for those with limited mobility. Getting to the chapel is hard work, but you will have your breath taken away....not by the climb but by the stunning view. If you have the time head there...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank CZLai
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

What a totally amazing place, I can highly recommend catching a train which then matches up with a bus for the final stretch out to the site, it’s very simple to navigate the train system. This place is a must do, amazing views, amazing experience!More

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank BenGenn
Sightseer62846778383, Chargé de communication at Abbaye du Mont-Saint-Michel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good afternoon and thank you for your compliments on Mont-Saint-Michel. A long trip from Australia to visit us in Normandy! We hope that you have benefited from the 20 rooms offered by the Abbey at the top of the village. Perhaps you followed the English...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Standing as an island in the sea this spectacular architecture is proud, picturesque and idyllic. Almost out of a fairy tale. With ever changing scenes as the tide ebbs and flows. An interesting and relaxing place to visit. Parking can be far from where the...More

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Gillybeans17
Sightseer62846778383, Chargé de communication at Abbaye du Mont-Saint-Michel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you very much for these wonderful compliments. If you visited the abbey, at the top of the village, we hope you enjoyed the view as well as the many rooms. See you soon maybe!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Simply gorgeous. The landscape is lovely as was the drive to the island...don't miss the goose/froi gras farm along the way. Obviously you need to avoid Mont Saint Michel in the high season when you can barely walk due to the crowds. The church itself...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Johanna R
Sightseer62846778383, Chargé de communication at Abbaye du Mont-Saint-Michel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Good afternoon and thank you for your compliments. For a future visit of the abbey of Mont-Saint-Michel, at the top of the village and for less tired, do not hesitate to enter through the porch to the left of the main porch because the slope...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The streets were empty (not even other tourists), the weather was terrible, and the parking is a monstrosity. It may be fun to visit in Summer, but our visit in November was a terrible experience. We parked our car at the car park and took...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Mark H
Sightseer62846778383, Chargé de communication at Abbaye du Mont-Saint-Michel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello, we are sorry that you did not appreciate this rediscovery of Mont-Saint-Michel. It is true that this month of November 2018 was special because there was work in the village and because of this many shops were closed. We hope, however, that you have...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An amazing abbey and medieval village on an island accessible by a causeway. If you stay on the island for a night you can park in the lot closest to the shuttle. If you don't, be prepared to walk quite a way. Or stay at...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Gail A
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From a distance, it looks surreal, but let me tell you it is more than real. It has far surpassed my most awesome experience. You must stay the night and walk around. Every step. Every turn. Every waking moment is the most amazing that you...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank azSpitfire1219
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 nearby hotels
Hotel Rose
213 reviews
.12 km away
Ermitage Mont Saint Michel
43 reviews
.17 km away
Hotel Le Beauvoir
139 reviews
.21 km away
Ferme Saint Joseph
226 reviews
1.67 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 30 nearby restaurants
La Bisqu'in
216 reviews
.09 km away
La Fermette
593 reviews
.19 km away
Hotel Restaurant Le Beauvoir
211 reviews
.21 km away
Le Restaurant de la Galette
302 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 37 nearby attractions
Alligator Bay
668 reviews
.50 km away
Le Moulin de Moidrey
217 reviews
1.23 km away
Altitude ULM
89 reviews
3.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
worldtraveller99
13 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Q3931ZDmartinh | Reviewed this property |
Not sure although you might get more French day trippers on the Saturday. Suggest you look at the tides more than the day of the week and try to go when there is a high tide.
1
Vote
Leanne M
19 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from EllenT116 | Reviewed this property |
The tides vary and every hotel has a calendar. You do not need to be super fit but the abbey is not really handicapped accessible. If you need to go slowly, the crowd will just walk around you. It is steep but there are not... More
2
Votes
Kayleen2012
5 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Explorer-DC | Reviewed this property |
I’m not sure. The website is not user friendly to non-French speaking people.
0
Votes