We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Balena

Via Gustavo Modena snc, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
+39 0584 44045
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Stopped in twice one sushi, one apperitivo

Nice ocean view, free entry for buying drinks poolside, and free appetizers with drinks at the... read more

Reviewed 27 October 2016
BellaTavares
,
Tavares
B2K Balena 2000 / Viareggio

Nice restaurant with excellent seafood on the beach, where all is to rent separately if you want... read more

Reviewed 28 June 2016
Manuela L
,
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Read all 206 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Bath house with five pools, beauty SPA
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good21%
  • Average19%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible29%
27 Oct 2016
“Stopped in twice one sushi, one apperitivo”
28 Jun 2016
“B2K Balena 2000 / Viareggio”
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 20:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Via Gustavo Modena snc, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
CONTACT
Website
+39 0584 44045
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2016

Nice ocean view, free entry for buying drinks poolside, and free appetizers with drinks at the sushi bar.

Thank BellaTavares
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Nice restaurant with excellent seafood on the beach, where all is to rent separately if you want, but you have the choice, there are so much beaches; excellent wine and cold beer on the terrace.

Thank Manuela L
Balena V, Responsabile reception at Balena, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Thanks for the positive feedback. We are happy that you had good time .

Reviewed 26 June 2016

Whilst staying at a hotel in Viareggio, one of the receptionists recommended this beach to us, as it was nearly opposite the hotel. We were charged 25 Euros for 2 deckchairs (not even sun beds) and a parasol. We were told that we could use...More

Thank Rita P
Balena V, Responsabile reception at Balena, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Thanks for your feedback. The new management is working to achieve high quality. Your suggestions are important for us. The price for an umbrella and two deck is 25,00 € in low season. A surcharge may apply for replacement of sunbeds. For the same price...More

Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

This is an establishment where it's worthwhile to try to strike up a rapport with the staff. It's very local - a beautiful place, but don't expect the staff to treat you like royalty unless you treat them well. The fish is very good and...More

Thank Chrissie R
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This place is overpriced... and then they have a daily rate of 15 E and a weekly rate of 110E. Ask why and they just say take your pick. Would not go here!!

1  Thank Siino
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hi All, I had conducted a lot of research whilst my holiday in Tuscany. we were staying in Lucca and had read alot of reviews on Balena. after visiting Viareggio and going specifically to Balena I would not recommend it. the prices are very expensive...More

Thank Dave017
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Why would one want to visit a place where staff is rude and unattentive, there is plenty of other places to choose from.

1  Thank malte
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The pools were lovely but this is a sports club so there were a lot of 'serious swimmers' there and wearing a swimming cap was compulsory. The water was freezing! The toilets were horrible! We enjoyed using the sun loungers here and the beach area...More

1  Thank Smalls1983
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We visited Balena mainly for the fitness center, which was well equipped in comparison to most other establishments in the area. If you are looking for anything " upscale" or spa- like, this is not the place. There was a decent amount of cardio equipment,...More

2  Thank Frances W
Reviewed 29 July 2013

During our two week stay we visited here once. Although our hotel gave a pass for this beach club we did not return. The food was not very good and when we were going on the beach they did not bother to point out where...More

1  Thank Gloria S
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sa Playa
1,484 reviews
.24 km away
Lunasia
84 reviews
.13 km away
Taverna l'Assassino
429 reviews
.23 km away
Tomi Sushi
425 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
La Passeggiata
1,079 reviews
.10 km away
Carnival of Viareggio
102 reviews
.53 km away
L'attesa
113 reviews
.45 km away
Centro MATTEUCCI
57 reviews
.59 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Balena staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit