Falcarragh Visitor Centre

Falcarragh Visitor Centre: Hours, Address, Falcarragh Visitor Centre Reviews: 4/5

Falcarragh Visitor Centre
4
10:00 - 17:00
Monday
10:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 17:00
Thursday
10:00 - 17:00
Friday
10:00 - 17:00
Saturday
11:00 - 17:00
About
At the Falcarragh Visitor Centre, you can immerse yourself in the lives of our rural ancestors from Falcarragh and its surrounding region. The Centre, which contains a Coffee Shop, Craft Shop and Tourist Information Desk, is housed in an ex-R.I.C. barracks. Permanent exhibits of the history and culture of the barracks are on display. The Centre is open all year round.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

4.0
11 reviews
Excellent
6
Very good
3
Average
0
Poor
2
Terrible
0

CMurphy_Oz
Maitland, Australia92 contributions
Coffee postcards and gifts
May 2019
Great coffee and homecooked treats as well as a range of gifts. The books about the local area were particularly good. We were lucky enough to be there when there was an exhibition of the most exquisite quilt work in May 2019. Very friendly and helpful staff
Written 5 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Green Acres Quilts
Falcarragh, Ireland4 contributions
All the info in one place!
Jun 2019 • Family
Wealth of information about the area with maps , books and interactive apps for your phone. Lovely cafe & chocolate brownie s.
Written 5 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

GlasgowBig-G
Glasgow20 contributions
Lunch
May 2016 • Friends
What a fantastic place. See a bit of the history of the uprising then a lovely lunch. The soup is great and our waitress Sadie could not have been better she was very efficient and friendly she spent time talking interacting with the kids. Well worth a visit for a light lunch
Written 28 May 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

hotels145
Falcarragh, Ireland10 contributions
Falcarragh Visitor Centre
Nov 2015 • Friends
it is a good pleace to go for coffee or for lunch and the staff are very friendly their and you get a good feed
Written 14 January 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

2020vision
Dundonald, Belfast.3,828 contributions
very informative
Sep 2015 • Couples
We called in to make a few enquiries about beaches in the locality. The man on the information desk was very helpful and had lots of local knowledge about other places which we wanted to visit in the area. He gave us a map with directions to all the places of interest nearby.
Written 9 October 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Frandoodle
Dublin, Ireland36 contributions
great food and friendly manager!
Sep 2014 • Friends
The manager Maire is just lovely and can't do enough for you. The food is lovely, large portions and great value for money.
Have eaten here a few times and can honestly say I have never been disappointed. The two Linda's work hard and have great customer service skills.
I took my young nephew for a birthday treat one day and the lady (didn't get her name) came out with stencils for him to play with while my food was being prepared.
Will be back. The craft shop connected to the café is lovely too.
Written 8 September 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

nicelady17
Letterkenny, Ireland44 contributions
Very friendly staff and food very good
Feb 2013 • Family
I find the food here very good, although they lack in choices for vegetarians. Reasonably priced and very relaxed atmosphere. Topping up the coffee/tea free of charge is certainly a nice touch.
Written 8 March 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Meabhamarie
London, UK37 contributions
Its definitely worth a visit
Dec 2012 • Friends
I often stop by this little gem of a cafe! I think the visitor (Cruachlainn) below visited on a of day because whenever I visit I've always been greeted by staff speaking to me in Gaeilge. It's a very homely cafe and the staff there are very pleasant! Also the Irish language is not in decline in Falcarragh! Thanks :-)
Written 11 February 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

cruachlainn
newry3 contributions
Bearla agus Failte (Irish language speakers unwelcome)
Jun 2012 • Couples
I was attracted to the "Sean-bheaeric" visitor centre because of its clean attractive appearance and the extensive Irish Language signage. Irish culture is a strong selling point for visitors to the Donegal Gaeltacht,though the language is clearly in decline in Falcarragh. (I am an Irish language enthusiast) As my wife was not feeling well we called in for a cup of tea, and deliberately chose the centre because of its apparently strong Irish language promotion . As a notice in Irish on the wall invited visitors to use the language, I spoke to the very pleasant young girl who served me "as Gaeilge"( in Irish.) She was clearly embarrassed and explained to me that she did not have much of the language, however she struggled to use the few words she had, for which I would commend her. The tea and scones we ordered arrived commendably quickly, they were quite tasty and reasonable value.

However what happened when I went to pay was unpardonable. I spoke to the middle-aged lady at the till in Irish which she clearly understood. However she seemed to regard use of the language as at best an embarrassment if not a downright nuisance. She answered me at all times in English. As she turned her back on me I called her back and suggested she take down the notice inviting customers to use Irish as it clearly was not welcome.

I have no doubt that funds from Irish Language Organisations were used to fund the restoration of this building and a cavalier,even hostile attitude to Irish speakers is a poor return on their investment . If the centre is interested in using the language as a selling point it would surely not be difficult to train all staff to use the Irish language terms printed in the menu and on a few basic phrases involved. Above all a sea change in attitude to the language from certain of the staff would be welcome. .After my experience in the cafe I did not use the combined Tourist Information and souvenir shop so I cannot comment on it . I guess I deserved what I got for accessing a building which is essentially a shrine to a repressive force who evicted starving peasants and their families and flung them and their belongings on the roadside.
Written 17 June 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Spurano
Bangor, UK14 contributions
Good food, uninspiring exhibition
May 2012 • Family
We got a great lunch here at a good price - but the exhibition was just a series of information boards in one room. You would spend maybe 20 mins reading them, but that's about it I'm afraid.

So call in if you need to stop somewhere for a bite to eat, but don't pencil in three hours for the exhibition!!
Written 21 May 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We regret to hear that you were disappointed with the visual exhibition. Unfortunately it would appear that you were not informed of the audio-visual demonstrations and we apologize for this oversight. The centre has produced two videos which tell the history of the area and the history of policing in the area. These videos, which last approximately one hour apiece, are actively promoted during the summer months but are available all year round. A staff member is usually at hand to advise of this and ensure you get the most from the experience. There are also temporary exhibitions throughout the year in addition to the permanent exhibition. We are sorry to hear that your experience was disappointing and hope that you return to have a more enjoyable one. We will take your feedback on board to ensure that all visitors get the most from the exhibitions and the resources available. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch and if you return please allow us to share the fuller experience of the exhibition with you.
Written 14 June 2012
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 11
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing