Falcarragh Visitor Centre
10:00 - 17:00
Monday
10:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 17:00
Thursday
10:00 - 17:00
Friday
10:00 - 17:00
Saturday
11:00 - 17:00
Write a review
About
At the Falcarragh Visitor Centre, you can immerse yourself in the lives of our rural ancestors from Falcarragh and its surrounding region. The Centre, which contains a Coffee Shop, Craft Shop and Tourist Information Desk, is housed in an ex-R.I.C. barracks. Permanent exhibits of the history and culture of the barracks are on display. The Centre is open all year round.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
11 reviews
Excellent
6
Very good
3
Average
0
Poor
2
Terrible
0

CMurphy_Oz
Maitland, Australia92 contributions
May 2019
Great coffee and homecooked treats as well as a range of gifts. The books about the local area were particularly good. We were lucky enough to be there when there was an exhibition of the most exquisite quilt work in May 2019. Very friendly and helpful staff
Written 5 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Green Acres Quilts
Falcarragh, Ireland4 contributions
Jun 2019 • Family
Wealth of information about the area with maps , books and interactive apps for your phone. Lovely cafe & chocolate brownie s.
Written 5 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

GlasgowBig-G
Glasgow20 contributions
May 2016 • Friends
What a fantastic place. See a bit of the history of the uprising then a lovely lunch. The soup is great and our waitress Sadie could not have been better she was very efficient and friendly she spent time talking interacting with the kids. Well worth a visit for a light lunch
Written 28 May 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

hotels145
Falcarragh, Ireland10 contributions
Nov 2015 • Friends
it is a good pleace to go for coffee or for lunch and the staff are very friendly their and you get a good feed
Written 14 January 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

2020vision
Dundonald, Belfast.3,894 contributions
Sep 2015 • Couples
We called in to make a few enquiries about beaches in the locality. The man on the information desk was very helpful and had lots of local knowledge about other places which we wanted to visit in the area. He gave us a map with directions to all the places of interest nearby.
Written 9 October 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Frandoodle
Dublin, Ireland36 contributions
Sep 2014 • Friends
The manager Maire is just lovely and can't do enough for you. The food is lovely, large portions and great value for money.
Have eaten here a few times and can honestly say I have never been disappointed. The two Linda's work hard and have great customer service skills.
I took my young nephew for a birthday treat one day and the lady (didn't get her name) came out with stencils for him to play with while my food was being prepared.
Will be back. The craft shop connected to the café is lovely too.
Written 8 September 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

nicelady17
Letterkenny, Ireland44 contributions
Feb 2013 • Family
I find the food here very good, although they lack in choices for vegetarians. Reasonably priced and very relaxed atmosphere. Topping up the coffee/tea free of charge is certainly a nice touch.
Written 8 March 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Meabhamarie
London, UK37 contributions
Dec 2012 • Friends
I often stop by this little gem of a cafe! I think the visitor (Cruachlainn) below visited on a of day because whenever I visit I've always been greeted by staff speaking to me in Gaeilge. It's a very homely cafe and the staff there are very pleasant! Also the Irish language is not in decline in Falcarragh! Thanks :-)
Written 11 February 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

cruachlainn
newry3 contributions
Jun 2012 • Couples
I was attracted to the "Sean-bheaeric" visitor centre because of its clean attractive appearance and the extensive Irish Language signage. Irish culture is a strong selling point for visitors to the Donegal Gaeltacht,though the language is clearly in decline in Falcarragh. (I am an Irish language enthusiast) As my wife was not feeling well we called in for a cup of tea, and deliberately chose the centre because of its apparently strong Irish language promotion . As a notice in Irish on the wall invited visitors to use the language, I spoke to the very pleasant young girl who served me "as Gaeilge"( in Irish.) She was clearly embarrassed and explained to me that she did not have much of the language, however she struggled to use the few words she had, for which I would commend her. The tea and scones we ordered arrived commendably quickly, they were quite tasty and reasonable value.

However what happened when I went to pay was unpardonable. I spoke to the middle-aged lady at the till in Irish which she clearly understood. However she seemed to regard use of the language as at best an embarrassment if not a downright nuisance. She answered me at all times in English. As she turned her back on me I called her back and suggested she take down the notice inviting customers to use Irish as it clearly was not welcome.

I have no doubt that funds from Irish Language Organisations were used to fund the restoration of this building and a cavalier,even hostile attitude to Irish speakers is a poor return on their investment . If the centre is interested in using the language as a selling point it would surely not be difficult to train all staff to use the Irish language terms printed in the menu and on a few basic phrases involved. Above all a sea change in attitude to the language from certain of the staff would be welcome. .After my experience in the cafe I did not use the combined Tourist Information and souvenir shop so I cannot comment on it . I guess I deserved what I got for accessing a building which is essentially a shrine to a repressive force who evicted starving peasants and their families and flung them and their belongings on the roadside.
Written 17 June 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Spurano
Bangor, UK14 contributions
May 2012 • Family
We got a great lunch here at a good price - but the exhibition was just a series of information boards in one room. You would spend maybe 20 mins reading them, but that's about it I'm afraid.

So call in if you need to stop somewhere for a bite to eat, but don't pencil in three hours for the exhibition!!
Written 21 May 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We regret to hear that you were disappointed with the visual exhibition. Unfortunately it would appear that you were not informed of the audio-visual demonstrations and we apologize for this oversight. The centre has produced two videos which tell the history of the area and the history of policing in the area. These videos, which last approximately one hour apiece, are actively promoted during the summer months but are available all year round. A staff member is usually at hand to advise of this and ensure you get the most from the experience. There are also temporary exhibitions throughout the year in addition to the permanent exhibition. We are sorry to hear that your experience was disappointing and hope that you return to have a more enjoyable one. We will take your feedback on board to ensure that all visitors get the most from the exhibitions and the resources available. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch and if you return please allow us to share the fuller experience of the exhibition with you.
Written 14 June 2012
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 11
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Falcarragh Visitor Centre | | UPDATED November 2022 Top Tips Before You Go (with Photos) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Falcarragh Visitor Centre

Falcarragh Visitor Centre is open:
  • Mon - Fri 10:00 - 17:00
  • Sat - Sat 11:00 - 17:00