We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Upton Castle Gardens

Cosheston | SA72 4SE, Tenby SA72 4SE, Wales
+44 1646 689996
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely tranquil gardens

Lots of picnic tables and grass for kids to run Challenging at times for our (not off road... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
F R
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Splendid afternoon..!!!

Thoroughly enjoyed a tranquil few hours exploring woodland, appreciating the walled rose garden... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Wanderwander78
via mobile
Read all 54 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Upton Castle is picturesque and charming Norman Castle which remains a private family home. The garden consists of 35 acres of listed historic gardens, surrounded by ancient woodland. There are spectacular herbaceous borders, a delightful formal rose garden and a fascinating, traditional 19th century walled garden. Rare trees and shrubs abound throughout the gardens and include a stunning collection of rhododendrons, tree Magnolias and Camellias. The medieval chapel contains ornately carved stone tombs of crusader knights. Enjoy woodland walks bursting with wild flowers leading to the shores of Upton Creek, part of the tidal Cleddau estuary. There are plenty of places along the paths to sit and soak up the tranquillity of the unique surroundings and enjoy a picnic. If you are lucky, you may even see an otter!
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good29%
  • Average3%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“rose garden” (14 reviews)
“mud flats” (2 reviews)
LOCATION
Cosheston | SA72 4SE, Tenby SA72 4SE, Wales
CONTACT
Website
+44 1646 689996
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rose garden"
in 14 reviews
"formal gardens"
in 5 reviews
"mud flats"
in 2 reviews
"great walk"
in 2 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 4 reviews
"few hours"
in 2 reviews
"estuary"
in 7 reviews
"honesty"
in 5 reviews
"bloom"
in 4 reviews
"driftwood"
in 4 reviews
"trees"
in 7 reviews
"sculptures"
in 4 reviews
"woods"
in 9 reviews
"milton"
in 3 reviews
"paths"
in 6 reviews
"cleddau"
in 2 reviews
"effigies"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Lots of picnic tables and grass for kids to run Challenging at times for our (not off road) pushchair but great trip

Thank F R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed a tranquil few hours exploring woodland, appreciating the walled rose garden, Interesting art and beautiful chapel. Toilet facilities available but no cafe as of yet. Although plenty of picnic spots, or visit a pub or tearooms in the next village of Carew. Card...More

Thank Wanderwander78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

A most enjoyable day. We are a family group including one member in a wheelchair. On arrival we were very warmly welcomed and given information on how best to access the gardens with a wheelchair. We enjoyed the woodland walks...picnic tables available near the car...More

Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2017

This place definitely needs a huge injection of enthusiasm. The gardens are ok but not exceptional, the tour of the castle was to say the least rushed and was conducted by a woman who gave the impression that she had done it so many times...More

3  Thank Biggoo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UptonCastle, Manager at Upton Castle Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

This review has probably been left in error and is possibly about another Castle in Pembrokeshire. We do not have a cafe at present or do tours of the house and we do not have an owl experience but we do have 35 acres of...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We phoned first to request a motorised chair and we were met at the entrance with a welcome along with the chair. Most paths were accessible to the disabled and we received good instructions on how to manage to get to see most attractions like...More

Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UptonCastle, Owner at Upton Castle Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Gardens we are delighted that you were able to enjoy the Gardens and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

There was no one to meet us just an honesty box, if we had known what awaited us we definitely wouldn't have paid £10. The map and signage didn't make it easy to find your way around,the only well looked after area was the vegetable...More

Thank Yvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UptonCastle, Owner at Upton Castle Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

The hybrid tea roses are deadheaded every day. The old fashioned roses are left because they only flower once and then form colourful hips which can be enjoyed for the rest of the season. This is also the case at Mottisfont in Hampshire where the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

We visited the gardens in June. It was quiet, with few people about. We were able to take a leisurely walk through the woods and around the gardens. The roses at this time were beautiful. We found some very interesting plants in the arboretum area....More

Thank Canadian_National
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

We received a very warm reception on our arrival here. We could have spent a whole day exploring the beautiful gardens and woodland, unfortunately we only had half a day. The gardens were a great delight and beautifully maintained. We explored one of the woodland...More

Thank Treviers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

The new Owl sanctuary is fantastic. 25 owls from around the world to see and watch in flight at various times during the day. The gardens are nice to walk around too with the flowers in bloom.A great value for money day.

Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

£5 each entrance to walk round a woodland managed to make it last an hour by walking very slowly. There are so many nice wooded areas in Pembrokeshire that you can walk round for free, save your money and give this a miss. The fact...More

Thank johnboy102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UptonCastle, Manager at Upton Castle Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Upton Castle Gardens is not just a woodland walk. In fact it is the only listed historic garden open to the public in Pembrokeshire. Perhaps you missed the Formal Rose Garden the beautiful blooming flower borders the 2 acre victorian walled garden still in cultivation...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 23 hotels in Tenby
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
992 reviews
3.30 km away
Beggars Reach Hotel
311 reviews
3.37 km away
Lamphey Hall Hotel
290 reviews
3.91 km away
Coach House Hotel
200 reviews
4.35 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Brewery Inn Cosheston
449 reviews
1.51 km away
Quayside Lawrenny Tearoom
420 reviews
2.02 km away
The Plough Inn Sageston
69 reviews
3.72 km away
Lamphey Hall Hotel Restaurant
233 reviews
3.91 km away
Nearby Attractions
Carew Castle & Tidal Mill
763 reviews
2.62 km away
Carew Cheriton Control Tower
32 reviews
3.60 km away
The Cresselly Arms
84 reviews
3.79 km away
Lamphey Bishop's Palace
125 reviews
3.86 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Wanderwander78
15 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from UptonCastle | Property representative |
Hi, There isn't a cafe at the moment the website is correct. The review you mention has got the wrong Castle! Hope this helps to clarify.
1
Vote
Biggoo2014
17 June 2015|
Answer
Response from johnboy102 |
£5. Go to little Milford woods near Freystrop free and a lot better. No waste your money here.
-1
Votes
;