We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo

Features Animals
Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
+44 1600 890360
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic for all

We visited here first thing in the morning and we started off being the only ones in here which was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Rhiannon C
,
Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
via mobile
Great place

Easy to get to, the butterfly zoo was smaller than expected but was very interesting. A couple of... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Ann U
,
Kington, United Kingdom
Read all 399 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo provides an ideal space to experience beautiful, free-flying, tropical butterflies!Use our identification sheets to find out about our butterflies & hunt for caterpillars and chrysalis along the way!We are ideally set in the Wye Valley, next to The aMazing Hedge Puzzle, Wye Valley Miniature Golf & Wye Valley Warfare Laser Ops! Check our website for online offers!
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good35%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1600 890360
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited here first thing in the morning and we started off being the only ones in here which was fantastic and my children got to have a good look at the butterflies and I got some photos before anyone came in. We had a...More

Thank Rhiannon C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Easy to get to, the butterfly zoo was smaller than expected but was very interesting. A couple of problems as I was in a wheelchair the flooring is not all the same in there there are slabs and gravel and my chair was much harder...More

Thank Ann U
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Smaller than expected, but inexpensive to get in. The staff were very friendly and informative. Great to walk through the butterflies and see them in flight.

Thank Tracy C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I received a parking fine for dropping children off at a laser quest party. Didn't see the deliberately small signs. Have tried to correspond with owners but they did not want to engage with me and hide being the 3rd party parking company saying they...More

1  Thank BAJRR
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I paid the entrance fee, I bought some trinkets in the shop and today discover I am being fined £100 for parking. There are no clear signs, this is a scam and the owners of this place should be ashamed of themselves for fleecing their...More

Thank GBlayney
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

lovely place to vist loads different butterflys children will love it will keep them happy like we grownups to takes go round about 30to 40 mins they got small shop has well cafe

Thank Heather B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've visited here a number of times but my most recent was with my brother and my nephew and it's still as beautiful as always. Parking charges are in place but are very reasonable as you get a part refund when entering the attraction. Entrance...More

1  Thank hellohayley123
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

parking fines with no visible signage. not worth a £100 fine. id be ashamed to work at such a scam. There are plenty of other things to do in the forest of dean than to visit such a shambles of a place.

1  Thank Riley T
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A perfect way to spend a few hours, with or without children. Magnifying glasses and cards to identify species are supplied. The green house is hot but you can leave and return. Located next to the crazy golf and maze you could easily spend a...More

Thank swanseafamily_11
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Great place especially in the summer loads of butterflies 🦋 flying around and landing on you to the amusement of the children, there is always someone there to ask questions and they supply nets to put over your head if you are worried about the...More

Thank Jeni M
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Potting Shed
73 reviews
.57 km away
Jo's Diner
26 reviews
.43 km away
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
305 reviews
1.09 km away
The Crown Whitchurch
6 reviews
.36 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wye Valley Cruises
13 reviews
.74 km away
Canoe the Wye
399 reviews
.76 km away
Ross on Wye Canoe Hire - Day Trips
226 reviews
.81 km away
Wye Canoes Ltd
111 reviews
.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
heartbev
25 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from wiilhunting | Reviewed this property |
DecisionSuccessful Assessor NameSophie Taylor Assessor summary of operator case The operator has issued the Parking Charge Notice (PCN) as the appellant has failed to purchase sufficient parking time to cover the period of... More
3
Votes
kazzybRedditch
16 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from HeyesBros | Property representative |
Dogs are unfortunately not allowed in any of the enclosures, the butterfly zoo included due to the zoo licensing laws, which apply to our zoo. Dogs, however, are welcome on the grounds and there is a nice riverside walk to... More
0
Votes
Sue C
25 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from cherhowells | Reviewed this property |
yes there are toilets and a cafe , also two pubs that serve teas ,coffees and meals with gardens within walking distance
0
Votes