Devonshire Spa

Devonshire Spa, Buxton: Hours, Address, Devonshire Spa Reviews: 4/5

Devonshire Spa
4
10:00 - 18:00
Monday
10:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 18:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 18:00
Thursday
09:00 - 19:00
Friday
09:00 - 19:00
Saturday
09:00 - 19:00
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
About
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
The area
Address
Best nearby
We rank these restaurants and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location.
Restaurants
89 within 5 kms
Attractions
23 within 5 kms
Popular mentions

4.0
47 reviews
Excellent
26
Very good
7
Average
8
Poor
3
Terrible
3

Owen J
Oxford, UK28 contributions
Great Experience
Apr 2021 • Couples
We opted for the Afternoon Tea package and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It was excellent value for money and despite what some previous reviewers have said we thought the afternoon tea was very good quality. Additionally, the spa and massage were both lovely. I’d like to make a special mention of Hannah who was a delight and couldn’t do enough to ensure we had a good experience.
Written 30 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear 931owenj, Thank you for leaving a 5 star review on the Devonshire Spa TripAdvisor profile. I'm really pleased to see that you enjoyed your treatments and your afternoon tea. It's fantastic to read such positive comments regarding Hannah's service on the day of your visit. I will pass your comments on to her, she is a key member of the team and will really value your feedback. We hope to see you at the spa again soon. Kind Regards Jonathan Smith General Manager DevonshireSpa@derby.ac.uk
Written 7 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jeffrey
2 contributions
All good avoid afternoon tea
May 2021
Spa and treatment were excellent but the afternoon tea was real disappointment. Rather insipid by any standard and not simply in comparison to top hotels in London.
Written 29 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Camdenperson, Thank you for leaving a 4 star review on the Devonshire Spa TripAdvisor profile. I'm really pleased to see that you enjoyed the spa and your treatments. Thankyou for your feedback on the afternoon tea, I'm sorry that you found it disappointing, we are currently changing our catering provider and you feedback is valuable. We hope to see you at the spa again soon. Kind Regards Jonathan Smith General Manager DevonshireSpa@derby.ac.uk
Written 7 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sie2428
Great Ayton, UK6 contributions
Afternoon tea package
Apr 2021 • Couples
Summary:
Treatment (massage) was good.
Spa facilities were good.
Afternoon tea was very bad.

We booked the afternoon tea package as it seemed like the best value for money. We weren’t told what time the treatment and food were booked for until we arrived. First we went into the spa, which has a couple of steam rooms, a sauna, a foot massage sink, and a pool with a bubble area, which was overall relatively pleasant. After a while we were called through for our treatments in separate rooms, and given the option of a facial or back massage with varying levels of firmness. We both went for back massages and they were actually very good.

After that, we were taken to the table for afternoon tea, which turned out to be very disappointing. The tables were plastic, and we were sat in a corridor next to a lift. The sandwiches were cheap and not freshly made, the scoones were solid and the cakes were dry. So my advice, don’t bother with afternoon tea.
Written 27 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Sie2428, Thank you for leaving a review on the Devonshire Spa TripAdvisor profile. I'm really pleased to see that you enjoyed your treatments and facilities. Thankyou for your feedback on the afternoon tea, I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your afternoon tea, we are currently changing our catering provider and you feedback is valuable. Again, I do apologise that you didn't enjoy your afternoon tea and do hope that you will visit us again in the future. Kind Regards Jonathan Smith General Manager DevonshireSpa@derby.ac.uk
Written 7 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

NichRan76
5 contributions
Thorough & attentive treatments!
Oct 2020 • Couples
My husband & I visited the spa yesterday. After researching & contacting lots of local spas at the last minute. Natasha at Devonshire was prompt, professional & the most helpful. The staff on the day were really obliging & helpful too. Some elements weren’t available due to government guidelines, but the pool was lovely & I actually fell asleep on one of the beds afterwards. My husband then went for a massage which was tailored to his requirements, and he came away saying it was the best massage he’s had. The therapist found knots in his back and was really thorough. I had a salt & oil scrub which was only supposed to be 30mins, but I was definitely in for longer than that. It was more relaxing than I was expecting & again, really thorough! I can’t recommend the treatments enough & would definitely visit here again! It was such a lovely way to finish off our weekend away without the children.
Written 19 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear nichran76, Thank you for leaving a 5 star review on the Devonshire Spa TripAdvisor profile. Apologies for the delay in my response I have just claimed ownership of the profile. I'm really pleased to read such positive comments on your booking experience and that you and your husband really enjoyed your treatments. I have passed on your comments to the team who will really value your feedback. We hope to see you at the spa again soon. Kind Regards Jonathan Smith General Manager DevonshireSpa@derby.ac.uk
Written 7 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

HeartQissa
Ipswich, UK172 contributions
Best recovery treatment ever had
Jul 2020
You start off with a 1 hour swimming / jacuzzi session (included with your massage treatment). After this you are collected and asked to change and proceed to one of the massage rooms where one of the lovely expert ladies will guide you on your journey to relaxing bliss. After your treatment you will be led into a waiting room and offered a tea.

We were a group of 3 nurses and all of us felt so much better after this treatment, even if it was just a 30 minute massage.
I have now booked 2 days with a 1 hour and a 1 hour and a half session to enjoy this place even more.
Written 14 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear heartqissa, Thank you for leaving a 5 star review on the Devonshire Spa TripAdvisor profile. Apologies for the delay in my response I have just claimed ownership of the profile. It's really positive to read such positive comments on your experience and your treatments during your visit to the spa. I'm please to see that you and your nursing colleagues felt better and more relaxed / restored after your visit at what must be an unbelievably busy time with the pandemic. We look forwards to welcoming you at the spa again soon. Please speak to a member of the team about the NHS discounts that why have in place. Kind Regards Jonathan Smith General Manager DevonshireSpa@derby.ac.uk
Written 7 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LCT1975
Buxton, UK18 contributions
Slightly disappointing
Aug 2019 • Friends
Living locally I have visit the spa on many occasions and have always had a great experience, well loonies after good choice of treatments all carried out professionally. On this last occasion I chose to have a facial which was ‘very nice’ have had better I have to say! Every facial I have ever had either at this spa, other spas and beauty saloons it has always involved some sort of massage either head and shoulders or hand and arm, usually carried out whilst the face mask was working its magic. Unfortunately on this occasion the therapist did not include this in the treatment so it seemed a little strange to have someone sat there at the side of you doing nothing whilst the mask was on, not that I look forward to the massage being part of the experience. My friend who o visited with also had a facial and was offered a choice of massage while the mask was on!!!
Maybe I just got unlucky on the day!

Whilst still in the treatment room going through aftercareI was offered some of the products available and used during treatment, great, except I would have preferred a more gentle approach as in, ‘here is a list of the products I have used if you wish to purchase any of them we stock them in reception’ not a sales pitch in the treatment room straight after.

Couldn’t be helped I suppose but the hydrotherapy pool was out of order in the spa area, nothing as an alternative nor a discount was offered!

None of the above would stop me from using the facilities again however, I think I may be more selective of the type of treatment I have, perhaps having my facial at a beauty salon instead.
Written 12 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jessicamcc89
Darwen, UK108 contributions
Lovely experience!
Jul 2019
We hired the spa for exclusivity. Before arrival we were told the spa pool was closed for maintenance. We were offered afternoon tea beforehand and a discount to make up for this. The spread was super and well presented, as was the room we were allocated for our large group for the afternoon tea. The spa was very clean and all in the party enjoyed the experience and the treatments. Thank you!
Written 22 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

andi b
buxworth6 contributions
Sooooo Good!
Jun 2019 • Friends
Myself and a friend had a fab relaxing time yesterday.
Everything was just perfect from start to finish.
All the treatments, polite, professional well informed staff., and to complete our treat, an excellent Afternoon Tea. [all of which was very good - but they were possibly the best brownies ever]!
We are now letting relatives know, that if they are ever stuck for gift ideas for us - we would love vouchers for the spa!!
Written 17 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Adam T
York, UK641 contributions
Great relaxing morning
Mar 2019 • Family
We booked in for a group of 7 of us first thing on a Sunday morning and had the place to ourselves for nearly all of the time, which made it very relaxing and special for us. It was exceptionally hot in the main room even without going in the pools/steam room etc, but the space was big enough for us to cycle round the aromatherapy room, pool, steam room, loungers and foot baths though no single one was big enough for everyone at once. After we had finished, we all had a cup of tea in one the relaxing waiting areas, that again felt quite private for our group. Would recommend with a larger group, though it’s so small it may feel like you’re intruding if you were a couple amongst another group of people.
Written 29 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sue P
Corozal13 contributions
Great spa treatment
May 2019 • Friends
I had the Hammam treatment which left my skin silky smooth. The staff were terrific and the who place is very relaxing .
Written 28 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 46
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing