We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Donnington Valley Spa

Old Oxford Road, Newbury, England
+44 1635 551199
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Ladies relaxation day!

I had the pleasure of experiencing a wonderful spa day treat with my friend on Saturday. Its not... read more

Reviewed 10 July 2017
Tracy F
,
Oxford, United Kingdom
lovely room and accessto the garden from thee patio doors

loved the room great size and access to the garden for the dog was great. We arrived to find a dog... read more

Reviewed 4 June 2017
Teresa V
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Read all 311 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Surrounded by glorious hills and stunning parkland, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is a natural blend of charm and elegance with uncompromising quality and countryside views. Home to 111 bedrooms, Donnington Valley is a privately owned 4-star country hotel in the heart of Berkshire with a state of the art spa and 18 hole golf course.
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good33%
  • Average17%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“stayed here” (31 reviews)
“aroma room” (14 reviews)
LOCATION
Old Oxford Road, Newbury, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1635 551199
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017

I had the pleasure of experiencing a wonderful spa day treat with my friend on Saturday. Its not often we get the chance to actually do nothing for a whole day! and what a fabulous day it was. We were greeted by very warm and...More

Thank Tracy F
Reviewed 4 June 2017

loved the room great size and access to the garden for the dog was great. We arrived to find a dog bed and towel in our room as well as bowls which was unexpected and really a nice gesture. Our companions on this weekend had...More

Thank Teresa V
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

An average experience. Staff were pleasant but service was slow and a lot our time was taken up waiting for staff. Unfortunately this was the noisiest, crowded spa experience. What used to be an exclusive day now provides families access the facilities and the busyness...More

Thank Amanda B
Reviewed 29 May 2017

I had asked my Granddaughter 28 to join me for a special tea. On booking I got the impression we had the last table available. Great! I was looking forward to a buzz. When we arrived we were told to go to the Restaurant. This...More

1  Thank Patricia H
Reviewed 23 May 2017

I don't like to write negative reviews but I feel this had to be pointed out to improve for future guests........... We arrived early for the check in and were dealt with very efficiently and promptly, we then went straight to the spa to make...More

1  Thank Kaz818
Reviewed 17 May 2017

This appears a modern hotel as you roll up in the car park, with a spar facility attached. Check-in was stilted and welcoming. My room was clean and tidy, the outside Ivy invading the window when i tried to open it. The evening meal was...More

Thank machinmad
Reviewed 15 May 2017

So exceeded expectations. Beautiful public rooms and well appointed bedrooms. Lovely pool and spa facilities. Enjoyed our massage in the most relaxing atmosphere. Everyone very welcoming. Fine dining and scrumptous food and excellent breakfast. Beautifully landscaped grounds and golf course. Our only dissapointment was that...More

Thank compassreaders
Reviewed 29 April 2017

stayed Saturday night for a birthday party.Check in was ok but room keycard didn't work so had to change it no problem with reception staff.Room was a good size with very large bed but the room was looking a bit tired and ready for redecoration...More

Thank carol k
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel. Good rooms. Great spa. Great restaurant. Front desk complete disaster. Slow checkout and completely useless to order a taxi. We waited 40 minutes and discovered that front desk clerk did not order taxi-no apologies just a smirk.

Thank Csaba73
Reviewed 6 March 2017

The restaurant is appalling - poor service, over priced and rude staff. Do not book or spend any money here. I went for a Spa Day with dinner afterwards in the restaurant and the whole day seemed to just be difficult from start to finish,...More

1  Thank annabelboreham
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Annabelboreham, Many thanks for your recent review and I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I have looked into all the elements that you raised and we will be working on areas that we can improve on. Kind...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fox and Hounds Donnington
278 reviews
1.07 km away
Harvester Moto
29 reviews
.96 km away
WinePress at the Donnington Valley Hotel
84 reviews
.08 km away
Coffee#1 Newbury
36 reviews
.84 km away
Nearby Attractions
Donnington Castle
257 reviews
.77 km away
Snelsmore Common Country Park
69 reviews
.22 km away
Shaw House
81 reviews
1.47 km away
West Berkshire Museum
55 reviews
2.48 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
PearTree73
26 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Tracy C | Reviewed this property |
We had a set time to go and we did not have dinner as we all live locally
0
Votes
Travellertod
23 May 2015|
Answer
Response from DVH-HM | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry, all of our dinner inclusive packages include a three course meal from our market menu. This is a weekly changing menu with a choice of starters, mains and desserts. The A La Carte menu runs... More
0
Votes