We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Burghley House

Burghley House Burghley Park, Stamford PE9 3JY, England
+44 1780 752451
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
40th birthday afternoon tea celebrations

Booked the table and menu choices ahead of time for a party of 8 ladies. Overall a lovely... read more

Reviewed today
LDScottraveller
via mobile
First Visit

Having visited Burghley I am really impressed. Im a little puzzled by the negative posts. It is a... read more

Reviewed yesterday
popupboilie
,
east yorkshire
Read all 1,316 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
This historic Elizabethan house (circa 1587) features a serpentine park that was designed by Lancelot Brown and a gothic greenhouse and stables.
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good25%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 11:00 - 17:00
LOCATION
Burghley House Burghley Park, Stamford PE9 3JY, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1780 752451
Write a ReviewReviews (1,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sculpture garden"
in 148 reviews
"orangery restaurant"
in 115 reviews
"water features"
in 82 reviews
"stately home"
in 78 reviews
"amazing house"
in 24 reviews
"water garden"
in 43 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 81 reviews
"the kitchen"
in 54 reviews
"audio guide"
in 60 reviews
"horse trials"
in 27 reviews
"open to the public"
in 28 reviews
"heaven and hell"
in 16 reviews
"room guides"
in 22 reviews
"heaven room"
in 25 reviews
"state rooms"
in 17 reviews
"grounds are lovely"
in 16 reviews
"scones"
in 29 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

Booked the table and menu choices ahead of time for a party of 8 ladies. Overall a lovely experience despite a couple of unexpected hitches. Best bits Table was ready for us when we arrived. Atmosphere and surroundings were light, airy and pleasant. Food was...More

Thank LDScottraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday

Having visited Burghley I am really impressed. Im a little puzzled by the negative posts. It is a fabulous stately home with a lot to offer. The day we visited was a free tour so you had ample time to browse. We entered on our...More

Thank popupboilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

A lot of money can be spent here very quickly with tour of house and lunch. Value for money? Probably not

Thank MLF2252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

Visited with friend to enjoy the lovely gardens and have lunch in the restaurant, after obtaining entrance tickets and heading for a coffee in the cafe we discovered there was no food being served either in cafe or restaurant. Very annoyed and starving hungry by...More

1  Thank Angela077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurghleyHouse, Manager at Burghley House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

I am sorry that the closure of the Orangery yesterday impacted on your visit to Burghley House. It was unfortunate that we had to close the Orangery at short notice for unforeseen circumstances. We did try to inform all members of the public prior to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

Today my wife and I carried out an impromptu disability audit and we couldn't believe what we encountered at Burghley House. Chronologically : Charged £19.00 each for admission to 'House & Gardens' (no concessions for the disabled or their carers). Assured - verbally - that...More

Thank david_douglas500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurghleyHouse, Manager at Burghley House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your comments, and I sorry that you had a disappointing experience at Burghley. We do our utmost to welcome all visitors to Burghley regardless of their physical needs, although we are challenged by being an Elizabethan building with all our State Rooms...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

The house and gardens were very good we had a conducted tour and I have to say the lady who took us around was excellent very knowledgable. We did have one very unfortunate blip the Orangery restaraunt was closed we did not find this out...More

Thank mbunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurghleyHouse, Manager at Burghley House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

I am sorry that the closure of the Orangery yesterday impacted on your visit to Burghley House. It was unfortunate that we had to close the Orangery at short notice for unforeseen circumstances. The groups that visited us yesterday were informed as soon as we...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

Fifty six of us visited by coach and 56 of us came home hungry as despite being told there was both a restaurant and a cafe the only "food" available was crisps, nuts and ice cream. I believe these all carry VAT so are not...More

2  Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurghleyHouse, Manager at Burghley House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

I am sorry that the closure of the Orangery yesterday impacted on your visit to Burghley House. It was unfortunate that we had to close the Orangery at short notice for unforeseen circumstances. The groups that visited us yesterday were informed as soon as we...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Thought we will come here on route to our holiday rental, had been looking forward to it, Found out house is closed on Fridays, so not happy, we then paid an extortionate £13 to get splashed with water bitten by mozzies and listen to other...More

2  Thank 2outandabout2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurghleyHouse, Manager at Burghley House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

I am sorry that you were unaware that the House is always closed on Fridays, we do include this in all our information, and that you didn't enjoy your experience of the Garden of Surprises or Sculpture Garden. The £19 ticket includes the House and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an impressive location though fewer rooms than one might expect seemed to be open. Entry is expensive (though you can return within a year if you get the ticket endorsed at no extra cost) but, and an important but, it also gives you...More

Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurghleyHouse, Manager at Burghley House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Burghley. The House is not as large as it seems, as there is a courtyard in the middle, and the grand state rooms are double height all along the south side, so...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I had wanted to pay a visit to Burghley House for many years. My wife and I booked our tickets online in advance and reduced the cost from £38 (for both of us) to £33. Obviously this is a hefty admission price,...More

Thank Raikeswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Stamford
The William Cecil at Stamford
804 reviews
1.05 km away
The Bull & Swan
373 reviews
1.22 km away
Candlesticks
130 reviews
1.26 km away
The George Of Stamford
1,405 reviews
1.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Zada Restaurant
534 reviews
1.58 km away
The George Hotel Restaurant
885 reviews
1.42 km away
The Garden Room at the George Hotel
115 reviews
1.42 km away
Pizza Express
283 reviews
1.47 km away
Nearby Attractions
Burghley Park
338 reviews
.96 km away
Stamford Arts Centre
107 reviews
1.60 km away
Burghley Horse Trials
25 reviews
1.35 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
david_douglas500
12 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from david_douglas500 | Reviewed this property |
Wouldn't it be helpful to receive an answer from Burghley House management. So far, the issue has been fudged. If the main attractions - The Tower of London, Kensington Palace, Chatsworth, Blenheim and others can make full... More
0
Votes
Mrs pauline L
22 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from BurghleyHouse | Property representative |
Thank you for query. We are owned by an independent charity, not the National Trust and so we do not accept National Trust membership for admission.
1
Vote
janetrhanson
8 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Rex B | Reviewed this property |
Sorry. remember seeing them but no idea of name
-1
Votes
;