We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
More Info
US$208.50*
and up
Private South Iceland Day Trip from Reykjavik
More Info
US$294.69*
and up
Quad Bike Tour from Vik
More Info
US$224.47*
and up
Private Glacier Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Peninsula of volcanic origin.
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good23%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“light house” (35 reviews)
“the cliff” (81 reviews)
LOCATION
Vik, Iceland
CONTACT
Website
+354 487 1480
Write a ReviewReviews (1,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"light house"
in 35 reviews
"the cliff"
in 81 reviews
"black sand beaches"
in 79 reviews
"amazing views"
in 44 reviews
"sea arches"
in 12 reviews
"dirt road"
in 17 reviews
"rental car"
in 11 reviews
"parking lot"
in 34 reviews
"vik area"
in 12 reviews
"parking area"
in 18 reviews
"the main road"
in 20 reviews
"waves crashing"
in 17 reviews
"quick stop"
in 10 reviews
"short drive"
in 11 reviews
"south coast"
in 19 reviews
"be careful"
in 22 reviews
"reynisfjara beach"
in 10 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 946 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

The view from Dyrholaey is just magical. The upper platform and lower platform are just amazing and give you the best view over the black sand beaches. For the upper platform I would recommend a sturdy car as the road is quite steep. Alternatively, you...More

1  Thank Norman v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

It starts at Vik - go up and see the church (outside only - locked if not in use) and see the black sand beach. Then drive on towards Reykjavik and take the turn on the left to Dyrholaey, an access road which extends for...More

Thank lawdylawdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great place to stop for photos as you're driving on Rt.1 through Vik. There is a parking area with a rest stop off of 218, which is a short walk from the peninsula. We were able to take some great pictures of...More

Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The drive up to the top of the formation is a little steep but totally worth it for the amazing views. We managed to make it up with a Ford Fiesta (does not have 4 wheel drive) but it was a little spooky! Be sure...More

Thank Mat_Cope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We drove up to this place at sundown. The sea was rough, with enormous waves hitting the cliff walls. The view was spectacular, and the rock formations amazing. This is a very special place, with a very unique aura. This is a must-see.

Thank Ugo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we almost missed this due to time constraints and I am glad we didn't. Very beautiful views from here. Highly recommend the trek up.

Thank tar419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to head up the path in our car, finding out later you can park off further up and hike up to the lighthouse ( which I would have preferred- the twisty road up is not for the faint of heart!) The view from...More

Thank Marla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great rock formations and beautiful views along the dramatic coastline. It’s easy to take hundreds of beautiful photos here. Make sure you continue on to Reynisfjara beach too.

Thank Aphoto18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was a beautiful landscape to see. Easy walk up to viewpoints. It was gloomy for us so we couldn’t see the arch very well.

Thank wongchizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Located a few minutes west of Vik this is a cliff based vista point with nice trails. There is a parking lot and WC on site. Sea stacks and large black sand beach to east and lighthouse and more cliffs with a cave to the...More

1  Thank dsj5777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
166 reviews
4.77 km away
Hotel Dyrholaey
322 reviews
5.40 km away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
985 reviews
5.40 km away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
544 reviews
5.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Black Beach Restaurant
303 reviews
2.96 km away
The Soup Company
86 reviews
4.74 km away
Sudur Vik
1,128 reviews
5.19 km away
Berg
205 reviews
5.39 km away
Nearby Attractions
Reynisfjara Beach
1,089 reviews
4.08 km away
Black Sand Beach
3,044 reviews
5.01 km away
Reynisdrangar
107 reviews
3.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
GoodOldSpades
28 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Sunny E | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I also wouldn't advise climbing up there. I've seen plenty of people climbing behind the barriers in various places (including some rocks right over Gulfoss waterfall which was actually almost too scary to watch... More
2
Votes
Google Translation
bettedavis85
7 July 2017|
Answer
Response from bettedavis85 |
I am answering my own question.....Was able to use Google translate to find out that the nature reserve at Dyrholaey will be open 24 hours a day starting on 25 June 2017 at 0900.
2
Votes
c0nd0girl
13 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Sarah T | Reviewed this property |
Hmm, I wish I could answer this but we never actually made it up to the top due to our rental car's inability to deal with the rugged terrain/steep incline. I didn't realize there were puffins at this location! 🐧 I hope... More
0
Votes