Monastery of St. Mary of Justice

Monastery of St. Mary of Justice, Taranto: Address, Monastery of St. Mary of Justice Reviews: 4.5/5

Monastery of St. Mary of Justice

Monastery of St. Mary of Justice
4.5
About
The site is located where the monastery of St. Mary of Justice near the sea and the river Tara is the same one that hosted the hospitium Peregrinantium of St. Mary of the Sea, built in 1119 by the will of Constance of Hauteville and his son Bohemond as a shelter of the crusaders and pilgrims to the Holy Land. The establishment of the Congregation Olivetana (a subsidiary of the Benedictine Order) in the Ionian city dates back to the early fourteenth century. It was in 1482 that Archbishop John of Aragon identified for Olivetani the seat of St. Mary of Justice, close to the River Tara, once inhabited by Greek monks. The main activities of the community were Oliveto agriculture and livestock, but the monks were able to exploit the resources of the sea. The gardens and watering of the monastery and the nearby river, however, represented a strong attraction to the incursions of the Turks: one of the earliest and most violent attacks suffered by the monastic community was that in 1520, during which it was stolen from the rich treasure. Defenseless, the abbey continued to be the target of pirate attacks; particularly serious was that of 1594, during which the complex was partially burned. In the seventeenth century, due to the poor conditions of the Abbey, the Archbishop Star awarded to Olivetani to move to the city, in the Hospice of St. Frances of Rome, where they were transferred to the canvas and the bell of the old site. Further processing in the farm, the various rooms of the abbey suffered splits and restructuring in order to adapt them to shelter livestock, storage of tools and products. Even the name changed to Colonial Justice. Starting in 1960, the complex was incorporated in the industrial area of Taranto, eventually suffocated by tanks of the refinery and finally losing the original relationship with not only the environment, but even with the historical memory and collective citizenship. Around 1970 it was included among the assets of the State Property and assigned to the Department for Environmental, Architectural Art and History of Puglia. Since 1980, the Ministry of Heritage and Culture has launched a systematic restoration of the monument, now nearing completion, which allowed the total recovery. The installation of the abbey is built around two broad areas quadrangular. From the first, smaller, leads to the Angevin church, which has a facade decorated with rosettes and single-spired with a diamond tip, the monastery and local service at one level. The church has a single nave, is divided into two bays covered with cross vaults set to groups of columns; from the presbytery, also with a cross vault, leads to the sacristy which preserves the original terracotta floors yellow. On the right wall of the first bay, two fluted columns set on high pedestals and Regents a entablature mark the entrance to the beautiful sixteenth-century chapel, covered by an umbrella vault and decorated with carved frames for eggs. On the back wall is the altar stone carved and painted, surmounted by a mural. Through a narrow passageway under the stairs leading to the upper floor of the convent, is accessed internally all'androne barrel vault. The latter, arranged along the axis of the original core intended to hospice, consists of a large rectangular room, with the barrel vault scanned by two parallel series of transverse ribs, resting on corbels stone. On the wall bordering the entrance hall, the renovation has allowed the recovery of a fresco depicting the Crucifixion, with Our Lady of Sorrows and St. John and St. Benedict.The second area, more extensive, was to receive a cloister or a porch where you can read the traces of taxes cruises, closed on side from the west part of the building corresponding to the original hospice for pilgrims Norman. A final part of the building is open to the countryside, perhaps intended to place the initial reception, it features a large portal style Durazzo, with arch inscribed in a rectangle bordered by a toric frame, surmounted by the symbol of the Order Olivetano. Upstairs Abbey is accessed via a staircase carparo that flows into a large rectangular room that serves as a corridor for other small rooms, perhaps the cells, while a larger room is superimposed on the chancel of the church. Through a door carved with motifs of roses and the Arms Olivetano, leads to a steep staircase leading to the roofs of the church and the remains of the tower. The whole complex is protected by a wall that marks the boundary within which are articulated construction. The main entrance is set in the eastern wall. The restoration project, now nearing completion, currently involves the extension of the north wing, first nucleus of Norman. The monument still remains waiting for a use.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
The area
Address
Best nearby
We rank these restaurants and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location.
Restaurants
305 within 5 kms
Attractions
99 within 5 kms

4.5
8 reviews
Excellent
3
Very good
5
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

domi751
Matera, Italy2,481 contributions
monastero
Jul 2016
Il Monastero di Santa Maria della Giustizia e' un bel complesso monastico della citta' di Taranto. da vedere
Written 20 June 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Gianni_d754
Province of Taranto, Italy573 contributions
Una "grande bellezza" soffocata dai mostri della raffineria Eni
Nov 2015 • Couples
Inglobato nell'area industriale di Taranto lungo la litoranea jonica 106, il complesso si estende sul sito concesso da Costanza d'Altavilla nel 1119 per realizzare un ospizio per pellegrini e crociati feriti in Terra Santa.
Inizialmente dedicato a Santa Maria del Mare, il monastero fu affidato ai monaci basiliani; nel XIV secolo venne ampliato con la costruzione della chiesa in stile angioino.
Intitolato quindi a Santa Maria della Giustizia, nel 1482 divenne sede dei monaci della Congregazione di Monte Oliveto.
Nel 1725, per le condizioni di degrado dell'Abbazia, gli Olivetani furono trasferiti: la chiesa fu sconsacrata e l'intera struttura trasformata in masseria.
Dal 1970 è affidata alla Soprintendenza per i beni storici e artistici della Puglia che ne ha curato il recupero.
La chiesa, a navata unica, è divisa in due campate con volte a crociera. A destra, dopo l'ingresso, si apre una splendida cappella cinquecentesca affrescata. La seconda campata, in cui è collocato l'altare in pietra, accoglie la scala di accesso al piano superiore e l'ingresso ad una grande sala rettangolare con volta a botte (ex refettorio), sulla cui parete è dipinto un affresco raffigurante il Crocifisso tra l'Addolorata e i Santi Giovanni e Benedetto.
Il complesso, purtroppo, è visitabile solo in giorni fissati ( giornate del FAI ed Archeoclub Taranto ).
Written 31 October 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rita28FG
Foggia, Italy638 contributions
Peccato per tutto ciò che lo circonda
Dec 2015 • Friends
E' davvero un gioiellino della città, bellissimo da visitare, un complesso mantenuto benissimo sebbene tutt'intonro siano sorte poi le fabbriche...ma se vi trovate nei dintorni merita una visista, accertandosi prima che sia aperto!
Written 6 February 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Giandiego M
9 contributions
gioiello in mezzo alle fabbriche di morte
Mar 2015 • Couples
Un complesso monastico sorprendente. La chiesa é ricca di affreschi ed é molto interessante come possa essersi conservato in mezzo alla raffineria.
Written 29 January 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Marcello A
Taranto, Italy200 contributions
Interessante sito storico e architettonico
Jun 2015 • Friends
Il complesso medievale di Santa Maria della Giustizia è sito sulla SS.106, sulla destra, poco prima di arrivare a Taranto, sul lato opposto all'ingresso della raffineria AGIP. Elementi negativi sono la mancanza di segnaletica, la mancanza di mezzi pubblici di trasporto, la difficoltà di parcheggio (c'è un minuscolo spazio al lato della statale) e il cattivo odore proveniente dagli impianti industriali; ma, non appena entrati nella chiesa, in stile gotico, si entra in un'altra dimensione; il complesso monumentale risulta composto dalla chiesa dell'inizio del XIV secolo, in stile gotico, e dal convento. Il complesso è spoglio, del tutto privo di arredi, ma conserva un certo fascino anche per la storia che ci racconta. Da segnalare i due eleganti portali di accesso alla chiesa (uno sulla facciata e l'altro sul fianco sinistro), la cappella cinquecentesca con volta a ombrello, il "Cristo con le bretelle", affresco di autore ignoto nel refettorio del monastero. Le visite, guidate, sono curate dall'Archeoclub di Taranto (vedi pagina Facebook). Il sito, poco conosciuto, è da considerarsi tra i più importanti di Taranto e quindi suggerisco di visitarlo.
Written 1 August 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Xtian73
Taranto, Italy448 contributions
LE ORIGINI DEL NOME
Dec 2014 • Couples
Secondo la leggenda fu nel 1194 che, a seguito di una vicenda tragica, il santuario di Santa Maria del Mare cambiò nome in quello attuale. Al tempo era principe di Tarante il normanno Guglielmo, grande amante dell'arte venatoria. Si narra che il principe un giorno, durante una battuta di caccia, spintosi fin nelle boscaglie del fiume Tara, visitò il santuario e ne conobbe il custode, l'eremita Cataldo Ferlizio. Da quel dì il principe Guglielmo si preoccupò di mandare viveri all'eremita per mezzo di Samuele, uno schiavo musulmano. L'eremita, allora, tentò invano più volte dì convertire lo schiavo alla religione cristiana, ma un sabato pomeriggio del mese di marzo Samuele, stanco dei continui tentativi di conversione messi in atto da Ferlizio, ebbe una reazione violenta e lo uccise senza pietà. Lo schiavo, pentitosi subito dopo del crimine commesso, rimase per tre notti e tre giorni accanto alla sua vittima. Il principe Guglielmo, non vedendo ritornare il saraceno, andò a rendersi conto di persona di cosa fosse accaduto e, entrato nella chiesa, lo trovò inginocchiato accanto al cadavere dell'eremita. Lo schiavo implorò il perdono del principe e, dichiarando di essersi convertito al Cristianesimo, chiese di essere battezzato. Ciò però non bastò a salvargli la vita, perché il principe lo giustiziò e da allora la chiesa fu chiamata dal popolo S. Maria della Giustizia.
Written 10 June 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

RinoBIROTAteam
Taranto, Italia1,436 contributions
Gioiello isolato
Jan 2015 • Solo
Sulla SS 106, proprio di fronte alla raffineria (unico vero limite, a volte la puzza è insopportabile) sorge questo antico Santuario, dalla storia molto tormentata. Varie le vicissitudini, che ho avuto il piacere di leggere nella recensione precedente, e che mi hanno invogliato alla visita. Decisione saggia, il posto, al prezzo dello sfondo rappresentato dagli enormi serbatoi di carburante, valle davvero la visita
Written 8 January 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Xtian73
Taranto, Italy448 contributions
Tesoretto nascosto
Nov 2014 • Friends
Correva l’anno 1119 quando Costanza D’Altavilla, regina ed imperatrice di Sicilia nonché madre di Federico II di Svevia, ordinò la costruzione del monastero di Santa Maria della Giustizia come ospizio per i pellegrini ed i Crociati. Costruito dai monaci calogeri di San Pietro, nel 1482 fu affidato agli olivetani e fu saccheggiato e dato alle fiamme dai saraceni varie volte nel corso del medioevo.
A difesa del monastero furono applicate delle caditoie visibili sui lati dei muri esterni mentre nella chiesa, in stile romanico e a navata unica con le volte a crociera, si possono ancora osservare una cappella cinquecentesca con un parziale affresco ed il pavimento in opus spicatum, mentre nel retro, nel vero e proprio ospizio con ambiente rettangolare a botte, hanno recuperato un magnifico affresco del Crocifisso in mezzo ai Santi Giovanni e Benedetto e l’Addolorata di artista sconosciuto.
La particolarità di questo affresco è che Gesù viene mostrato con un perizoma ricamato anteriormente e con delle bretelle, cosa molto rara risalente alla cultura post-bizantina o inizio romanica.
Nel 1725 fu abbandonato dai frati che si trasferirono in città e divenne una masseria che fu inglobata negli anni 60 nell’area industriale della raffineria, fortunatamente negli anni 80 il monastero fu poi affidato alla Soprintendenza Archeologica ed oggi, la sua cura e la sua fruizione , è affidata al gruppo Archeoclub di Taranto al quale bisogna rivolgersi per poter effettuare le visite, il numero telefonico è 346/2431732 mentre la mail è archeoclubtaranto@libero.it , sono anche presenti su Facebook, le loro guide sono volontarie, molto motivate, cortesi e preparate, il contributo è assolutamente volontario e alle volte è possibile trovare anche un gruppo volontario di astrofili che, attraverso un apposito telescopio, vi mostreranno e spiegheranno le meraviglie del sole.
Il monastero si trova sulla s.s. 106 per Reggio Calabria, proprio di fronte alla raffineria tenetelo presente perché l’odore potrebbe essere davvero nauseabondo.
Assolutamente da non perdere per trascorrere una domenica differente.
Written 9 December 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Monastery of St. Mary of Justice