Ziryab Hookah Shisha Lounge

Ziryab Hookah Shisha Lounge

Ziryab Hookah Shisha Lounge
5
00:00 - 02:00, 16:00 - 00:00
Monday
00:00 - 02:00
16:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
00:00 - 02:00
16:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
00:00 - 02:00
16:00 - 00:00
Thursday
00:00 - 02:00
16:00 - 00:00
Friday
00:00 - 02:00
16:00 - 00:00
Saturday
00:00 - 02:00
16:00 - 00:00
Sunday
00:00 - 02:00
16:00 - 00:00
About
Great shishas and cocktails, great vibe! All the team are Deaf, so their language is sign language. You can use your body language and your hands, facial expression or simply write things down! There are 3 different brands of tobacco (al-Fakher, Starbuzz & Fumari), 100% natural coconut coal (free refills). Cute spot with a mixed local and international crowd, in the heart of Barcelona's old city, a true gem of a hookah lounge!
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Neighbourhood: El Born / La Ribera
The labyrinth that is El Born becomes most apparent the moment you turn down one of its side streets. But this is one of the few labyrinths you might actually enjoy losing your way in. After all, there are few places that live and breathe such exciting energy regardless of the time of day. This neighbourhood seamlessly transcends the old and new parts of the city, reflected in its vast array of restaurants ranging from fancy Michelin-star establishments to trendy fusion restaurants. Here you'll find historical and cultural attractions such as the popular Picasso Museum and the Gothic cathedral La Santa Maria del Mar, where you just might be able to catch a traditional Catalan wedding.
How to get there
  • Jaume I • 2 min walk
  • Barceloneta • 6 min walk
Reach out directly

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles352 reviews
Excellent
293
Very good
40
Average
13
Poor
2
Terrible
4

Maheen Najeeb
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 • Friends
This is by far the best shisha lounge in Barcelona. Whenever I am in Barcelona, I visit it every single day. The service is beyond anything you can find anywhere. The people who work here are the nicest you can find. They are super friendly. A must visit. Even if you don’t smoke shisha, come for the atmosphere. They serve food, too.
Written 13 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Q1989
Port d'Alcudia, Spain51 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Solo
I came to this place at least 20 times.
It's a Shisha place different than many others. First of all the decor is nice. Not all dark like many shisha places

Second the service is extraordinary.

Try it!
Written 7 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

AhmedAllaf
Dendermonde, Belgium4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022 • Couples
Hidden gem in Barcelona close to La Rambla. Super kind and professional servers and the hookahs are amazing. There are also a lot of games on hand, so if you want to humiliate your partner with a game of Uno and possibly ruin the relationship, that’s the place to be.
Written 9 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Raakel K
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2015 • Friends
Me and my friends had been staying in Barcelona for a week and had visited this place multiple times during our stay. We had great evenings here and really enjoyed our time spent at Ziryab and this is why it really saddens me to tell this story to you.

On our last evening on the trip me and my friend decided to stop by here one last time, whilst the rest of our group head back to the hotel.
We stayed there for a while and enjoyed some drinks and smoked some shisha.

When we were about to leave the bar the bartender asked us where's the rest of our group. We did not think anything of it so we told him that they already went to sleep.
He then offered us two shots on the house. We took them out of courtesy and drank them.

All I remember after the shot was how terrible it tasted. Like some chemical liquid. After that everything is completely dark for both of us.

We both got robbed. Phones, wallets etc.

Somehow we found ourselves back to the hotel, but at different times. I have one flashback lying on the ground somewhere. I dont know how we got so lucky that we found our ways back to the hotel especially as we got seperated at some point during the night.

I started to get my memory back at the hotel where me and my friend threw up several times and couldn't stop shaking.
Our friends told us we looked absolutely terrible and our eyes were rolled backwards.

So as a warning to all, do not trust anyone there. Not even the nice bartender that has been taken care of you and been nothing but nice the whole week.

Not the best possible end to our lovely week in barcelona.
Written 8 December 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Raakel K, We were really sad to read what happened to your group the night after you came to Ziryab. These incidents are perhaps the worst thing about this otherwise extremely beautiful city, and it is something we are strongly against. However, we are extremely saddened by your unfounded allegations, which have shocked us and would shock anyone who knows us. We are a small, honest, family-run business with a philosophy of being kind to others and mutual respect, as our customers can tell you (and as you yourself must have felt, as you came several times to enjoy Ziryab during your stay). Emlyn, the deaf barman who is also an owner and who served you the night you came, has actually run out of the bar in the past when he has seen pickpockets running with a stolen bag - he retrieved it and, calling the police, we managed to get it back to its owner. His sister Kate, who co-runs the business, has worked for 10 years in the field of human rights, fighting to achieve better lives for people around the world. This is why your comments are quite absurd to us. Both of us were present the night you came, and we remember your visit. We were so happy to see you again, as you had come a couple of times that week. We only give out free shots to friends, regular customers or people who have birthdays or are celebrating something else. And we only serve quality drinks from known brands, such as Jaegermeister, Amaretto, or Arak Touma which is an anise, an expensive item on our menu and imported from the Middle East. We never give shots or serve drinks to people we feel have drunk too much. In your case you seemed to be fine, otherwise we would not have offered to drink a shot with you. We cannot be liable for every thing that happens to our customers after they leave the bar. At the end of the day our job is to serve alcohol and other beverages to people who want them. We can refuse to serve someone if it is an extreme case, but otherwise you are an adult and must assume responsibility for your actions both inside the bar (i.e. responsibly refusing a free shot if you feel you are already quite drunk) and outside the bar when you go around the city (i.e. taking care of your belongings). Accusing us of something we did not do that happened to you later in your evening and outside of our premises is far-fetched and out of order in our view, and I am quite surprised that Trip Advisor would allow such a comment to be left on their site, especially when there is no available evidence to support the allegation. We wish all our customers and future potential customers a wonderful New Year and we hope you come and try us out… we are just normal people and actually pretty nice :) Ziryab is a beautiful space to spend time in: it is relaxing and a haven of peace and tranquility. We just remind all customers to please drink responsibly and know your limits. Kate, Emlyn and the Ziryab team
Written 3 January 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Thomas K
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2017 • Friends
The place was crowded when we arrived. So we made a reservation for two hours later that night. When we came back the lady told us, she does not know anything about a reservation and went straight back to work. We asked for the guy that offered us the reservation. When he saw us he ran away to the back of the place. Nobody cared about us or the people waiting in front of the place. Very poor service for my opinion. We spent our money in a different place ...
Written 14 January 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there Thomas, Thanks for taking the time to review us! I’m sorry you didn’t have a good experience. Keep in mind though that all our staff are deaf, so communication is key. I guess you misunderstood them and they misunderstood you. We don’t take reservations at all for the Shisha Lounge, as is clearly stated on our website, so i guess you thought you had reserved and they thought you just said you would come back later. I’m sorry again you are upset but also you need to be kinder to those that have challenges - like not being able to hear - and be patient. Like all of us, they make mistakes too sometimes, but the important thing is that they are out there and working normal jobs, and doing it fantastically, and that brings us a lot of satisfaction! Hope you found somewhere else nice :) Ziryab
Written 17 February 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LzHamid
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2019 • Family
Absolutely loved this Shisha lounge. The staff were excellent and coming from London - I can easily say the shisha flavours were on point! Highly recommend this spot if you’re visiting Barcelona & if you enjoy smoking Shisha. :)
Written 12 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

007vishalb
United Kingdom40 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited this place after seeing the sign and candles light up the side street. Great shisha and mint tea. Being from London and trying out various shisha places, this was small and cosy with great service. I am glad my wife and I stopped here for an hour or so, to relax. The grape flavoured shisha was perfect. Thank you guys.
Written 24 May 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

teinc2017
Austin, TX20 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2019 • Couples
Expect some wait time... it’s small and quite busy
The whole establishment is run by deaf and mute people. They are super friendly. I learned some sign languages before going in and they got a kick out of it
But you can always just type on the phone for them to read what you need
The set up is really chill, and I love how quiet it was. And people tend to keep it down also. A real nice relaxing spot after a day of running around town. When you go you really feel like you had found a hidden gem
The snack is quite nice as well
The tea was really good and it was a good combo with the hookah. They have cocktail as well, and they give you pretty strong drinks
Written 4 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ana C
Sydney, Australia57 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2019 • Couples
A great spot to end or start your night. The sisha was good and fairly prices. Large cocktail menu and the Sangria was one of the best! Service was excellent. The two staff members are deaf and the crowd were all multicultural. The atmosphere was a fun community feel where language didn't seem to matter. My favourite part was having different games to play e.g. jenga, connect 4, chess, guess who.
Written 1 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Mohammed Raju M
London, UK9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2018 • Couples
hookah was great, staff was great, couldnt ask for better service and nice hookah i went twice, will go again, nice chill out after a long day exploring
Written 5 October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 178
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

ZIRYAB HOOKAH SHISHA LOUNGE: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

All Barcelona HotelsBarcelona Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Barcelona
All things to do in Barcelona
Day Trips in Barcelona
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire