We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Plaza Pio Baroja, 48001, Spain
Phone Number: +34 946 42 41 57
Website
Today
09:00 - 19:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 16:00
Sat - Sun 09:00 - 19:00

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 68 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
A very relaxing hour

We found this by chance when walking past the Guggenheim. The boat was just returning from the previous cruise. There wasn't much signage or instruction, so We waited until all... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 September 2016
Daniel G
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Basque Country

Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 30: English reviews
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

we wanted to do the hour long boat cruise but when we got to the jetty the boat was already going around the first river bend & there was still half hour until listed departure time. watched this happen again on the next departure time. no notice on the board or website that departure times were changed. waste of time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Monica B
roberto g, Gerente at Bilboats, responded to this review

Dear Monica b: As it puts on our website and on the poster, in November there are only trips on weekends. On day 7, Monday, the trips we were making were charter trips for the organizers of the badminton world championship. Sorry for the inconvenience but in November we do not work weekdays Regards. More 

Sowerby Bridge
Level Contributor
280 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

After visiting the funicular, we crossed back over the river and had a river cruise. It was a little chilly but we are tough Yorkshire folk so we sat in splendid isolation on the top deck. You get a wonderful view of the Guggenheim as you pass by and it was interesting to see some of the old docks area... More 

Helpful?
Thank holidayaddict51
roberto g, Gerente at Bilboats, responded to this review

Dear Holidayad ... We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our city on our boats. We hope to see you soon in Bilbao. Thank you very much. A greeting. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We found this by chance when walking past the Guggenheim. The boat was just returning from the previous cruise. There wasn't much signage or instruction, so We waited until all of the passengers disembarked and walked down to the boat. The crew at the back of the boat then pointed (didn't say anything) back up the ramp, which I thought... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
roberto g, Gerente at Bilboats, responded to this review

Dear Daniel G: We take note of your suggestions. Your opinion makes us better. Thank you for enjoying Bilbao on our boats. A greeting. More 

Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We took the 2-hour morning trip to the breakwater and got to see both the major site of Bilboa and the more industrial sites out of town that gave a much richer perspective on the region and the importance of the recent revitalization of the area. Don't miss the chain manufacturing facility. Well worth the time and money!

Helpful?
Thank Dan F
roberto g, Gerente at Bilboats, responded to this review

Dear Dan F: We are happy that your experience in Bilboats has been to his liking. As you say, Bilbao is more than the new part and you must know its past and its history to understand the present and future. Thank you, nice to have customers like you. A greeting More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

I've been to Bilbao many times and am always adding things to my bucketlist and the Bilboats was one of them. I definitely recommend buying and printing your tickets ahead of time as I was able to cut the line and get my first choice of seats. It was nice to enjoy the scenery from a different perspective and to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey F
roberto g, Gerente at Bilboats, responded to this review

Dear Lindsey F. I see that you are a lover of Bilbao. We are pleased that, this time, we have contributed to that love is stronger for our city. Thank you for sailing with us. We hope to see you again soon in Bilbao. More 

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2016

I have been on many river cruises all over the world and this one is probably the weakest. I did the 1 hour tour. More than half of it is spent around a dereliqued industrial area of Bilbao with no interest what-so-ever (unless you are interested in industrial archeology). For 12 euros, you don't even get an audio explanation! Really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex_Lemos
roberto g, Gerente at Bilboats, responded to this review

Dear Alex-Lemos: It is always a sad new that one of our customers has not fulfilled expectations. Our tour of Bilbao extends about the meaning of Bilbao. The newest area (the part most beautiful), and the oldest area (the part less beautiful) but full of history. The boat also has audio guides in 6 languages to help understand the full... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Lovely way to see the city. including the bits that are a bit off the beaten track. boat takes you up the river for 30 minutes then back (another 30) where you can see Zaha Hadid's latest project. Also great on a hot day to feel the breeze!

Helpful?
Thank michsally
roberto g, Gerente at Bilboats, responded to this review

Dear Michsally. Thank you for your opinion. We are pleased that our customers have a good experience on our ships. We hope to see you soon again. Thank you. More 

county durham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2016

A great trip down the river, to the Estuary mouth. Gave a good perspective on the City. Which is fantastic. As well as alternative views of the architecture. It showed how the people there are handling the economic changes that have hit their city. Really enjoyed it, but wear a hat! That sun seemed hotter in the middle of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank govancroft
roberto g, Gerente at Bilboats, responded to this review

Dear govan croft. We are pleased that the trip has been to his liking, waiting for you in your next visit to Bilbao. Thank you very much. More 

Shipham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2016

You travel down the river while you are given lots of information - current and historical. You hire an audio guide and this is available in a number of languages. You see a different side of he city from the waterfront. Crew were friendly and helpful. Gets pretty booked up so as well to book in advance.

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
roberto g, Gerente at Bilboats, responded to this review

Dear Richard M: We are very grateful for your positive comments. We are pleased that your trip has fulfilled your expectations. Thank you very much, hope to see you soon again in Bilbao. More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2016

Firstly its a great way to see/view Bilbao and I would recommend it, we took a 1 hour cruise at a cost of 12 Euros each with only handful of people onboard. There was several times to choose from 13:00, 16:00, 17:30 and 19:00 seven days a week, also at 10:30 on Sat/Sun (this one lasts for 2 hours) Having... More 

Helpful?
Thank bigscouse
roberto g, Gerente at Bilboats, responded to this review

Dear Bigscouse. We are very grateful that the trip made was satisfactory. We understand your disappointment at not seeing the Bizkaia bridge, but the journey that leads to the bridge performs only on Saturdays and Sunday in April and May at 10:30 am. Thanks, once again, his view of Bilbao in Bilboats. More 

Travellers who viewed Bilboats also viewed

Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 

Been to Bilboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bilboats and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bilboats staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?